We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be very good but there's something wrong here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend to your Saves list
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3105 NE O.B. Riley Road, Bend, OR 97701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Now!
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Bend
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Could be very good but there's something wrong here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were booked in here by our agent as part of a month long tour of the States. The site is attractive to look at and the gardener keeps the grounds neat and so we went to reception to check in. This area could do with the windows cleaned and being made more welcoming but our receptionist was friendly so we got our key. We had a pre-paid voucher for a standard room for 4 nights so were expecting the usual motel room.

This complex has the stairways on the outside and we are always given a ground floor, noisy room under the stairs so no change there! However, the room was dingy with chipped furniture, old-fashioned large tv and the dirtiest, stained carpet I've ever seen in a hotel room! As we were there for a while, we went back to reception and told them we wanted another room as the carpet was disgusting! After being made fun of by another receptionist at our use of the word 'disgusting' we were told the hotel was full but they had one room we could have. We asked to pay for an upgrade and the receptionist said she had none available and didn't know how much it would be when she had and if she quoted a figure she might get into trouble if it was wrong!

This room had been re-furbished, had a kitchen unit, was spacious and very nice. I cleaned the window inside as we didn't want to look at finger and nose prints on the glass and gave the coat hangers a dust then we settled in. Some of the rooms are by the river and this one had a lovely view with a patio. However, only cold water in the shower, only a hand-held shower out of the Ark which moved around when you tried to shower and no cold water from the washbasin for teeth cleaning. We tried again in the morning and discovered the shower fitting was on the wrong way so if you turn the water to cold you get hot! We cleaned teeth in the kitchen sink and put up with the archaic shower head - it was all too much hassle.

The restaurant is as uninviting as reception - the whole place needs a thorough clean, certainly the windows - but has a nice view of the garden and water feature. It was full at breakfast our first morning but tables were being cleared and food replaced. The next morning was very different - one man working, no clear tables, no bowls, no knives and forks, only grubby plates left, just a few dry slices of bread, little fruit salad and the floor around it was very sticky. It all looked like a plague of locusts had gone through. We bought our own breakfast and never went back.

I would have given this place only two stars but it has a lot going for it. It's over the road from shops and good restaurants and could be a winner with further investment and more staff. We will be suggesting to our agent that nobody is booked in here until the place has been sorted out.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a re-furbished room on the top floor and with a river view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    159
    93
    52
    34
See reviews for
130
176
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I saw this regional chain while driving and decided to try it out. The cost was reasonable and it was easy to check in.

I was disappointed with the shower and construction. The shower was an inexpensive water saver shower which seemed strange in a place that waters their grass and scrubs. The hotel is made of wood including the floors so I heard the upstairs guest walking around all evening.

I would not stay in this specific location again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Grabill,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that the shower head was not to your liking. I am happy that you found our price reasonable and the check in easy.

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our room was huge, and included a small kitchenette and fireplace. It was definitely clean and recently renovated. The hotel itself, is a bit dated. Breakfast was adequate, and 2 staff members serving were very nice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear suebinor,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is great that you found the 2 staff members very nice. We hope that you would come and stay with us again if you come back to Bend.

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked into the Shilo beacause it looked cleaned and updated. That is not the case. We had a room that had last been updated in 1988. The chairs and windows were also filthy. I would run not walk away from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Brenda O,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do have a mix of updated and older rooms on property, but the furniture is maintained and cleaned regularly.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were so pleased with this hotel. We had a king size room overlooking the river. The room was extremely clean and so large with a full size kitchen. The breakfast buffet had many items to chose from and was very tasty. The price was reasonable and staff friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dcupp,

It is great to hear that you were pleased with your stay. We have a large variety of rooms on the property and many overlook the Deschutes River. This is a great time of year for wildlife along the river. I will pass your nice comment along to the staff.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I spent three days at this inn and wasn't really a place to spend a lot it time in. The room was dark, even with the lights on but fairly clean. Access from the parking lot to the room wasn't easy. The housekeeping service was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
MaBriz,

Thank you for commenting on your stay. We are working on getting some updates completed. Please come back and give us a try the next time you are in Bend.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Me and my Family always stop in Bend on our way to California for our yearly trip. we don't always have to necessarily stop in Bend but we make it a point. Not only is Bend great (especially during the Summer), but The Shilo is one of our favorite places to stay anywhere. The hotel is a bit aged but we always feel so welcome when we are there. Our last visit we extended our stay just because we were having such a great time. We literally went out our back door and put our fishing poles in the beautiful Deschutes river. The first night we were there we booked a king with a view of the river and because we extended our stay we decided to upgrade to a king Jacuzzi river view. We expected to have to pay another $70+ for the upgrade, but the nice ladies at the front desk upgraded just for another $20. We were quit surprised considering the last hotel ( Best Western ) we were at charged us $75 to upgrade. The staff are all so accommodating, they all go out of there way to satisfy our needs and make you feel welcome. The property is well maintained. We see tons of dogs but never see any mess from them, That goes for the ducks as well. Every guest gets a free hot buffet breakfast daily and the breakfast has plenty of hot and cold choices. We ate at the lounge for dinner and redeemed our free drink voucher we got when we checked in. the food was great and Scott (I think his name is) was just hilarious. Very easy to interact with him. Like I said we make it a point to stop here and will continue to. See you next year Shilo!

Room Tip: get a river view room in the 500 building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Henry P,

Thank you for stopping by and staying with us again this year. It sounds like you had a great time. I hope you were able to catch a few fish during your stay. I will be sure to let the staff know about your nice comments.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bend
La Quinta Inn Bend
#17 of 42 in Bend
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bend Three Sisters Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Bend
Red Lion Hotel Bend
#14 of 42 in Bend
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 42 in Bend
5.0 of 5 stars 636 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#12 of 42 in Bend
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend

Address: 3105 NE O.B. Riley Road, Bend, OR 97701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend is nestled on the banks of the scenic Deschutes River and is ideally located in the heart of Central Oregon with its wide variety of indoor and outdoor attractions. With 151 beautifully designed rooms, this full service hotel is ideal for the leisure and business traveler. Mt. Bachelor and public golf courses are nearby. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel Bend
Shilo Inn Bend
Bend Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.