We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, updated room!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn - Bend

Save Saved
You added Shilo Inn - Bend to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shilo Inn - Bend
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3105 NE O.B. Riley Road, Bend, OR 97701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #21 of 41 hotels in Bend
Tualatin, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, updated room!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our room was huge, and included a small kitchenette and fireplace. It was definitely clean and recently renovated. The hotel itself, is a bit dated. Breakfast was adequate, and 2 staff members serving were very nice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn - Bend, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear suebinor,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is great that you found the 2 staff members very nice. We hope that you would come and stay with us again if you come back to Bend.

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    115
    66
    40
    22
See reviews for
93
132
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked into the Shilo beacause it looked cleaned and updated. That is not the case. We had a room that had last been updated in 1988. The chairs and windows were also filthy. I would run not walk away from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn - Bend, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Brenda O,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do have a mix of updated and older rooms on property, but the furniture is maintained and cleaned regularly.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were so pleased with this hotel. We had a king size room overlooking the river. The room was extremely clean and so large with a full size kitchen. The breakfast buffet had many items to chose from and was very tasty. The price was reasonable and staff friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn - Bend, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dcupp,

It is great to hear that you were pleased with your stay. We have a large variety of rooms on the property and many overlook the Deschutes River. This is a great time of year for wildlife along the river. I will pass your nice comment along to the staff.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I spent three days at this inn and wasn't really a place to spend a lot it time in. The room was dark, even with the lights on but fairly clean. Access from the parking lot to the room wasn't easy. The housekeeping service was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn - Bend, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
MaBriz,

Thank you for commenting on your stay. We are working on getting some updates completed. Please come back and give us a try the next time you are in Bend.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Me and my Family always stop in Bend on our way to California for our yearly trip. we don't always have to necessarily stop in Bend but we make it a point. Not only is Bend great (especially during the Summer), but The Shilo is one of our favorite places to stay anywhere. The hotel is a bit aged but we always feel so welcome when we are there. Our last visit we extended our stay just because we were having such a great time. We literally went out our back door and put our fishing poles in the beautiful Deschutes river. The first night we were there we booked a king with a view of the river and because we extended our stay we decided to upgrade to a king Jacuzzi river view. We expected to have to pay another $70+ for the upgrade, but the nice ladies at the front desk upgraded just for another $20. We were quit surprised considering the last hotel ( Best Western ) we were at charged us $75 to upgrade. The staff are all so accommodating, they all go out of there way to satisfy our needs and make you feel welcome. The property is well maintained. We see tons of dogs but never see any mess from them, That goes for the ducks as well. Every guest gets a free hot buffet breakfast daily and the breakfast has plenty of hot and cold choices. We ate at the lounge for dinner and redeemed our free drink voucher we got when we checked in. the food was great and Scott (I think his name is) was just hilarious. Very easy to interact with him. Like I said we make it a point to stop here and will continue to. See you next year Shilo!

Room Tip: get a river view room in the 500 building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn - Bend, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Henry P,

Thank you for stopping by and staying with us again this year. It sounds like you had a great time. I hope you were able to catch a few fish during your stay. I will be sure to let the staff know about your nice comments.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Ambiance of river view was great, however, the Queen size bed needed to be replaced a year or two prior to our stay. Only two pillows provided, leaking sink in the bathroom..........limited cable tv choices..........

Room Tip: stay next door at the Riverhouse if you can get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn - Bend, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Charles S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is always good to hear what guests liked or disliked about their stay. I am sorry that you did not find the bed to your liking. We do replace mattresses regularly and do provide extra pillows upon request. We also have a maintenance person on site 24 hours a day to repair any problems that may occur.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, MI
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were here for four nights with a large group of people, and I have to say that there was really nothing wrong at all. The staff were all friendly, the breakfast buffet was quite good, the rooms were (reasonably) clean and the services were all adequate. In fact, that is a great word to describe the experience...adequate. But while I can offer no reason for you not to stay here, I would personally probably say 'been there, done that' and look for another place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn - Bend, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Steve M,

Thank you for choosing the Shilo Inn when you were in Bend. It is nice to hear what you thought of your stay. Please do come again and give the Shilo Inn another try.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shilo Inn - Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn - Bend

Address: 3105 NE O.B. Riley Road, Bend, OR 97701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn - Bend 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend is nestled on the banks of the scenic Deschutes River and is ideally located in the heart of Central Oregon with its wide variety of indoor and outdoor attractions. With 151 beautifully designed rooms, this full service hotel is ideal for the leisure and business traveler. Mt. Bachelor and public golf courses are nearby. Children 12 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Shilo Inn - Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel Bend
Shilo Inn Bend
Bend Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn - Bend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.