We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indifferent housekeeping; TV from the 1970s” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend

Save Saved
You added Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3105 NE O.B. Riley Road, Bend, OR 97701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #20 of 43 hotels in Bend
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Indifferent housekeeping; TV from the 1970s”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

They are upgrading. Wait till it's done, unless you prefer watching a 20"-inch, 4,000 pound etch-a-sketch for a TV. Housekeeping was OK one day, bad the next. Good location: it was quiet; I felt safe. It's definitely showing its age, though. Breakfast had fruit, cereals, muffins, scrambled eggs that tasted within radar range of actual eggs. They did not offer any bacon.

Room Tip: The river view/access not worth paying for. The patio is the size of a large bread box.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear SquuegieB,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. I am sorry that you found the housekeeping inconsistent. We are working on upgrading. We look forward to having you come and stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    116
    71
    42
    24
See reviews for
98
137
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. My sister had stayed at same hotel a year or so ago and had a nice room by the river. We stayed in a room overlooking the courtyard and outdoor pool. This must be the older section because room decor was old and dark, the mattress on bed was flimsy and uncomfortable, the pillows gave absolutely no support at all and the sleeper sofa my grandson slept on was awful. One skimpy blanket (although they did bring us another one when we asked) and again the mattress was even thinner and more uncomfortable than our bed. I also asked for more pillows since the two we had were so bad but was told they could only give us 2 more Well that wasnt good enough since the sleeper sofa didnt have any to begin with. So my husband and i only had the one each which was quite useless really when trying to sit in bed and read and relax. Walls very thin. Carpet old and loose. Chairs had stains and the shower doors were hard to slide and grimy around base. I am usually not that fussy but when I spend $143 per night I expect better. Was pretty disappointed and will probably stay next door at the riverhouse if and when I need a hotel in bend again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Jk B,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay. I am sorry that you did not find the bed to your liking. I do understand that the sofa bed mattresses are not the most comfortable. Our queen sofa kitchenette rooms are quite popular with a balcony or patio overlooking the outdoor pool and courtyard.
Please come back and stay with us again and try one of our river view rooms with 2 beds.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Been staying in Shilo Inns for a number of years. Most of our friends wont get close to them just because of who owns this company, and his politics. Stayed here last week and all though the hotel location is good the rooms are run down. Our doors was hard to lock and keep closed, the room had stains on the carpet, the bathroom was 1970's dated. Someone in the company needs to get off there butt and take a drive around and look at the condition of some of these properties. They have great real estate just deferring lots of remodeling and upgrading to save money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear woody495,

Thank you for staying with during your stay in Bend. I am sorry that your door was hard to lock. As for the carpet and the décor, it is something we are working on.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We unexpectedly found ourselves in Bend for the night without reservations. After checking a dozen or so motels, we finally found a vacancy at the Shilo. The front desk person was friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. The room was quite large with a queen bed, a kitchenette, 2 chairs, and a sofa sleeper. The TV was the old style big box with a limited number of channels. The room was pretty clean. There were only two thin, lumpy pillows (total) for both beds. We heard lots of creaking noises from the floor above as people walked across the floor. I'm sure the people below us heard them from our room also, as every step we took made a noise. The sofa sleeper was probably the worst I have ever tried to sleep on. Folding it back up and sleeping on the couch was the better way to get some sleep. There was slow, but free, internet service that sort of faded in and out. Breakfast was very good -- a limited buffet in the restaurant. We did not feel we got much value for the $169 rate.

Room Tip: When going to Bend in tourist season, be sure to book ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear M-Birder,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your thoughts about your stay. I am sorry that you found the sofa sleeper uncomfortable. We do have extra pillows available anytime by calling the front desk.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

For nearly $200 in the executive queen suite we received rickety furniture, stained bedding, stained flooring, trash behind furniture, outdated tv/kitchenette, and a whole lot of buyers remorse. IWe knew as we approached the room through the dirty hallway we would be in for a disappointment. Due to the fact that we had been traveling all day we stuck it out for the night. We had planned for a fun few days playing and shopping in and around Bend so tried to find a nice room to help us enjoy our stay; it didn't happen here and we cancelled the rest of our reservation. We talked to the desk about the bedding while cancelling the rest of our stay and no one showed to replace it. Again in the morning while checking out we told the desk of our disappointment and received $20 off and excuses about lack of training.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear S N,

I am disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. It appears that there were a few items that were not up to our Shilo Standards. The issues that you mentioned have been addresses with the housekeeping and front desk staff.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our room was in a great location along the Deschutes River - a nice setting. We had our two small dogs with us (pet friendly reservation). Unfortunately, as soon as we entered the room we noticed the carpet had major stains in several places; it looked filthy. Dust was on the side table (as if it hadn't been dusted for quite awhile), a bird feather behind the chair. Food on the floor? Dog ate something! The easy chair was old and dirty to the point I didn't want to sit on it. We contacted the front desk to advise them of the state of the room. We especially didn't want responsibility for the stained carpet in light of having a pet friendly room. The desk basically didn't seem to care. Since they collect a fee for pets, one would thing those funds would be used to clean after prior visitors. I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

we stayed one night in a room with 2 queen beds and a slightly separate room containing a lounge chair, table, sink, microwave and fridge. The room was very nice with a huge bathroom and a great shower, this room possibly has been renovated. We had a view of the river which was nice. The outdoor pool was great to swim in, nice and warm also used the laundry which was fine $1.50 a load.
The breakfast was nice with a choice of a few different hot dishes as well as cereal and yoghurt. I would have given this 5 stars except for a few things
1. We didn't get the room we booked, and when we realised we had unpacked all our stuff so we didn't worry about it.
2. we had a sink and dishwashing detergent but no plug
But overall a nice place

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend

Address: 3105 NE O.B. Riley Road, Bend, OR 97701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend is nestled on the banks of the scenic Deschutes River and is ideally located in the heart of Central Oregon with its wide variety of indoor and outdoor attractions. With 151 beautifully designed rooms, this full service hotel is ideal for the leisure and business traveler. Mt. Bachelor and public golf courses are nearby. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel Bend
Shilo Inn Bend
Bend Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.