We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lots of food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
13435 SW Tualatin Valley Hwy, Beaverton, OR 97005-2314
503-646-4507
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 347 Restaurants in Beaverton
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Portland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“lots of food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Nice and comfy, pretty crowded. Almost too much food and the price is good. Great tried and true waitresses!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    33
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great place, if you can get in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

HUGE portions, good food, and reasonable prices, but it's very difficult to get a seat most days, especially weekends. I won't wait 20 to 30 minutes for a table.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love the volcano!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We use this place whenever out of town company comes as it is easy to visit with each other and get decent food. The servers are always super nice. I love the volcano and usually share it with one of the kids, that way we have everything we like 2 diff meats and eggs and pancakes!! Great breakfast food. Haven't tried the lunches yet.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Early Bird Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I love a good breakfast. If you get here before 8:00AM, they have an early bird special. 2 eggs, two beacon (large), two sausages, and (a choice of 2 pancakes or hashbrowns). All for $4.99. They also have a great cornbeef hash. I have tried several of their omlettes and enjoyed them all. Large portions.Huge biscuts. Be prepared to wait if you get there after 9:30AM on the weekend. They will have free coffee, but a large crowd. We have a favorite waitress and she is a joy to see everytime time we visit with her big smile and great personality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Generous portions, well prepared, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Any trip to Black Bear you'll find friendly service and well-prepared meals.This western chain features American, "country" food. As a vegetarian, I am somewhat challenged to find something on the menu that isn't breakfast. It would be prudent for them to offer some lower-fat and vegetarian options. That being said, I wouldn't miss their seasonal strawberry shortcake biscuit. It's so huge you need someone to share it, unless you make it your whole meal. Don't laugh, I've done that! If you're in the area, you should try Black Bear sometime.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.