We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dim Sum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chinatown

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chinatown
14125 SW Walker Road, Beaverton, OR 97006
(503) 641-4153
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #184 of 347 Restaurants in Beaverton
Restaurant details
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Dim Sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ate here with a friend. We shared one dish (broccoli chicken - tasty), each ordered their own soup (mine was hot and sour - very tasty), and an order of dim sum (har gao - minced shrimp inside a clear noodle wrapping). The har gao was so good that we ordered another round. Reasonable prices, fast service. Located in a smallish strip mall. Plain but not unpleasant restaurant. Definitely worth a visit, if for no other reason to try the dim sum.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    7
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Impressive Dim Sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My family has eaten Dim Sum in may places, and found the quality and quantity of this Dim Sum impressive for the location and price. They have a good variety of the basic Dim Sum and came back through at reasonable frequency. We ordered 12 different dishes with a few double orders. All food dishes were tasty. Food was acceptably warm, but preferred hotter temperature. A pot of hot tea and glasses of ice water were automatically served. Servers' english and courtesy were good. There was plenty of seating and some parking stalls left. We have only tried it once at China Town and it was on Sunday at 12:30 pm. Our family included five adults from 28 yrs old to 62 yrs old. We came away stuffed for $55.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Ask for a receipt.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

After excellent dim sum in BC it is difficult to enjoy dim sum anywhere else. Chinatown seated us in the bar. The small main restaurant was very busy, and about half of the customers appeared to be Asian. The plates were served quickly, and they were ordinary, as was the tea.
We chose this place because of a Groupon offer. On preparing the bill, the gentleman made some adding machine calculations, and then charged us more. No receipt available. It was also the first time in our long lives that there was no fortune cookie at the end of the meal, not that it matters. But details do make a difference.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Good food but the service can be sloppy. Water all over the carpet and none of the severs smiles at you. If you want quick Chinese food, this is the place.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“When 75% of diners are speaking Chinese, this must be the real deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

A dim sum restaurant. Noisy and busy and the food is very very good. Have been there at least once on each of our last 4 visits to the area. Lunch crowd is bustling and hungry. The dim sum carts are darting about with the delicious servings. Multi-national clientele from what we've seen but majority are Chinese speaking and all come for the dim sum specialties. Have not had a bad dish here. Service is very good too.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown also viewed

 
Beaverton, OR
Beaverton, OR
 

Been to Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinatown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.