We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sea food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McGrath's Fish House

McGrath's Fish House
3211 Southwest Cedar Hills Boulevard, Beaverton, OR 97005
(503) 646-1881
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 347 Restaurants in Beaverton
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great sea food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have gone to McGrath's with friends for lunch, and my husband and I have gone there for special occasions like anniversaries or birthdays. One fun thing is that if you tell them it is a special occasion, they take your picture and you get a sundae. I'm a seafood lover and have never been disappointed from salads for lunch to full meals of salmon, halibut or shrimp for dinner. My husband often gets a steak. All meals have been more than satisfactory.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is one of our regular spots to eat and it's always good! My regular pick are their Fish Tacos with Dirty Rice. A strange name but good and spicy. The Crusted Halibut or Salmon is always delicious too. Whenever they are busy we can usually find room to sit and get served food in the bar area. Never had bad service either.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, OR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Worth the trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

McGrath's is very consistent with food and service. Nice selection of fish and there is something for everyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I used to love this restaurant but it has really gone down hill over the last 4 or 5 years. The last 4 times I have eaten there I have been disappointed. Their red potatoes are always over cooked, the fish was so under cooked on my last visit that it was completely runny on the inside. The waitress was AWFUL, she walked away from me when I was talking to her, she seemed to be put out that we were there at all. I was served flat soda which she replaced without a fuss but brought me a second flat soda on my refill which only arrived after we finished our meal. The atmosphere is lovely, the food is dreadful and I am incredibly sad to have to write this because it was always my first choice for date night, special occasions etc. I can't rate it higher than poor for any of the options due to the dreadful food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dinner 3/2/2014”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We went with the in-laws and normally it is amazing. I ordered the wood fired halibut and it was horrible way over cooked and tough my wife ordered the prawns platter. I think the cook needs to be retrained to cook fish if he is going to cook fish, wewill go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGrath's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to McGrath's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGrath's Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.