We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great location, good value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Star Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Star Guesthouse
Save Saved
You added Sea Star Guesthouse to your Saves list
370 1st Street SE, Bandon, OR 97411   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Bandon B&B and Inns
Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, great location, good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Lovely place! It felt like staying as a guest in a friend's home. Very clean, nice furnishings and thoughtful owners. They even provide makeup remover towelettes. Nestled in by the water at Bandon. We would stay again!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    20
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
28
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was a repeat stay at the Sea Star. We were in Suite 1 with two twin beds on the lower level and a queen bed in the loft. The bath room, microwave/fridge, couch, TV, table/chairs were on the lower level. You can see the marina across the street from the loft bed. The drink ware is ceramic and glass, there is a corkscrew, paper bowls and plates, napkins. Walk to restaurants. Breakfast is not included, but Bandon Coffee is located right behind the hotel and has many breakfast options.

Room Tip: Like rooms 1 and 2, as they are high enough to see the water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I like to stay at the Sea Star Guesthouse when we visit Bandon. It has an amazing location, right across the road from the boardwalk, in old town. It is a short walk to great shopping and dining. The rooms (upstairs particularly) are very nicely decorated and designed for comfort. While a bit small, they have wonderful views of the Coquille River and the harbor. Parking can be tricky if you are there during a festival or other time where there is lots of tourist traffic, as there is no private parking for this guesthouse. Definitely not fancy lodging, but very reasonable, comfortable, and cozy - all with the best location possible in Old Town Bandon.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the upstairs rooms... room 2 for couples, room 1 for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

When the neighboring room has so many children they couldn't control them and woke us up I called the manager and what he said was "THEY WILL BE GOING TO BED SOON." I don't know how he knew their sleeping habits but the noise was nonstop and an infant yelling for almost two hrs. So I told him we were packing up and leaving. I asked him about the refund and he said no we don't do that. You do what you have to do. He must of had his hearing aid turned off because you couldn't help but hear it. My husband opened the door and smoke bellowed in from someone smoking. This was to be a nonsmoking guest house. Bill called me the next say and said he would credit our room but when I got home he left another message that he was only crediting 1 night. That was sneaky if you ask me. The form I had to sign states if you are a guest and make excessive noise or disturbance that you shall be fined for the amount the complainant room amount that is returned. I see how they make their money now. Shame on you...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The Sea Star is located directly across the harbor at smalltown Bandon.

We had a huge spacious room/appartment with a queen bed in the mezzanine and two singles on the ground floor. Nice comfy couch, dining table and a frontporch with a superb view on the harbor.

Two downsides to this facility: our room was extremely light, so we were awake at 7 am because of the sun (in summertime it must be eaven earlier) and secondly: the walls are very thin. You hear everything from your neighbours.

We had no noisemakers next to us, but we could hear them walk, talk and use the bathroom. Could be a problem for some!

Overall a very charming guesthouse, but if you are a light sleeper (morninglight/noise) you might choose another option. But the location is wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courbevoie, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for a night at the sea star and it was the highlight of our trip along the Oregon coast. We has a very nice room with two double beds on the ground floor and a lovely view on the harbor. Even though we arrived late we were warmly welcome. The room was clean, the beds very comfortable and the decoration charming. The owners gave us awesome advice about where to go for dinner (Alloro, not to be missed) and (Bandon Coffee cafe). We definitely recommend this place. Last but not leas, the price was really reasonable even in the summer season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

About to endure my third night at this place. Walls are thin and if you are on the bottom floor it sounds as though the people in the room above are moving furniture every time they walk across the floor. So, I complained, and Bill went up to tallk to the people. After that they started practicing chords on an electric guitar - and they aren't any good.
This place bills itself as a place for Bandon Dunes golfers. Haven't seen one other than me in three days here and with not much sleep at night this is not the restful place one wants after trodding the links.
Avoid this place!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere besides here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Star Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Guesthouse

Address: 370 1st Street SE, Bandon, OR 97411
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated inside and out, this cozy waterfront motel is nestled among downtown shops and restaurants. Rooms have all new furniture, mattresses, bedding, paint and carpet, plus micro/fridge, cable TV, and Seattle's Best coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Star Guesthouse Hotel Bandon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Star Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.