We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay on the Oregon coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Star Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Star Guesthouse
Save
You added Sea Star Guesthouse to your Saves list
370 1st Street SE, Bandon, OR 97411   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Bandon B&B and Inns
Courbevoie, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best stay on the Oregon coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for a night at the sea star and it was the highlight of our trip along the Oregon coast. We has a very nice room with two double beds on the ground floor and a lovely view on the harbor. Even though we arrived late we were warmly welcome. The room was clean, the beds very comfortable and the decoration charming. The owners gave us awesome advice about where to go for dinner (Alloro, not to be missed) and (Bandon Coffee cafe). We definitely recommend this place. Last but not leas, the price was really reasonable even in the summer season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
32
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

About to endure my third night at this place. Walls are thin and if you are on the bottom floor it sounds as though the people in the room above are moving furniture every time they walk across the floor. So, I complained, and Bill went up to tallk to the people. After that they started practicing chords on an electric guitar - and they aren't any good.
This place bills itself as a place for Bandon Dunes golfers. Haven't seen one other than me in three days here and with not much sleep at night this is not the restful place one wants after trodding the links.
Avoid this place!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere besides here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Although we didn't pay a fortune for the night we stayed here it was very disappointing. The room smelt damp and was very basic. They advertised free wifi but it was very patchy and didn't seem to work until around 9am in the morning. The bed was comfortable and the bedding was of good quality so that was a bonus. Bandon itself is not worth the visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I know I sound a little too enthusiastic but we spotted this place totally random on our motorcycle trip last July. Like almost every time, we got here late in the afternoon, it was getting dark already and very, very cold (even if it was mid July). Bandon didn't look like a place with a lot of options to stay for the night, so we were pretty much browsing the port area to find a good restaurant and warm up before jumping back on our bike. And there it was, the Sea Star right on the ocean, waiting for us. The owner cut us a very good deal even if it was high season and we landed on of the two large rooms on the top floor, with a beautiful view over the little port and walking distance from some very nice restaurants and pubs. Highly reccomended, t

Room Tip: Try to stay in one of the rooms facing the street, at the top level. The view of the port in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good value, decent clean room:
stayed one night en route from SF to Seattle.
Decent clean and quiet room, not much of a great view (though that's really Bandon's fault!)
Coffee shop round the corner for breakfast and centrally located

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I just spent three days in Bandon, Oregon, one of our favorite vacation hangouts. This time we stayed at the Sea Star Guesthouse on First Street...right across the street from the boat basin and within walking distance to everything!

We had a suite (living room, bathroom, and bedroom) and it was charming. Clean and nicely decorated with those special touches that really make you feel like a guest. They only have six rooms...all different and each one a jewel. To top it off...the prices are really reasonable.

The managersl, Bill and Pat, bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable. They also tend the gardens and keep them looking lovely. The garden is a great place to sit and watch the boats...with plenty of seating for everyone.

I highly recommend the Sea Star and we will be going back as soon as we can arrange the time.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3B with a shared deck and a view of the boat basin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

always saw this place on past trips . this time we decided to stop I since it was out of season.. got top floor 3 A with great view of harbor. lovely room .set up beautifully with lovely decor. right in old town . would stay again in a minute!

Room Tip: top floor has 2 rooms... best views and no one walks by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
1.3 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock
1.0 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#5 of 12 in Bandon
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#4 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
16.0 mi away
Captain John's Motel
Captain John's Motel
#1 of 1 in Charleston
3.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
20.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Star Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Guesthouse

Address: 370 1st Street SE, Bandon, OR 97411
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated inside and out, this cozy waterfront motel is nestled among downtown shops and restaurants. Rooms have all new furniture, mattresses, bedding, paint and carpet, plus micro/fridge, cable TV, and Seattle's Best coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Star Guesthouse Hotel Bandon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Star Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.