We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Star Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Star Guesthouse
Save
You added Sea Star Guesthouse to your Saves list
370 1st Street SE, Bandon, OR 97411   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Bandon B&B and Inns
Sheffield, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Although we didn't pay a fortune for the night we stayed here it was very disappointing. The room smelt damp and was very basic. They advertised free wifi but it was very patchy and didn't seem to work until around 9am in the morning. The bed was comfortable and the bedding was of good quality so that was a bonus. Bandon itself is not worth the visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
29
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I know I sound a little too enthusiastic but we spotted this place totally random on our motorcycle trip last July. Like almost every time, we got here late in the afternoon, it was getting dark already and very, very cold (even if it was mid July). Bandon didn't look like a place with a lot of options to stay for the night, so we were pretty much browsing the port area to find a good restaurant and warm up before jumping back on our bike. And there it was, the Sea Star right on the ocean, waiting for us. The owner cut us a very good deal even if it was high season and we landed on of the two large rooms on the top floor, with a beautiful view over the little port and walking distance from some very nice restaurants and pubs. Highly reccomended, t

Room Tip: Try to stay in one of the rooms facing the street, at the top level. The view of the port in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good value, decent clean room:
stayed one night en route from SF to Seattle.
Decent clean and quiet room, not much of a great view (though that's really Bandon's fault!)
Coffee shop round the corner for breakfast and centrally located

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I just spent three days in Bandon, Oregon, one of our favorite vacation hangouts. This time we stayed at the Sea Star Guesthouse on First Street...right across the street from the boat basin and within walking distance to everything!

We had a suite (living room, bathroom, and bedroom) and it was charming. Clean and nicely decorated with those special touches that really make you feel like a guest. They only have six rooms...all different and each one a jewel. To top it off...the prices are really reasonable.

The managersl, Bill and Pat, bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable. They also tend the gardens and keep them looking lovely. The garden is a great place to sit and watch the boats...with plenty of seating for everyone.

I highly recommend the Sea Star and we will be going back as soon as we can arrange the time.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3B with a shared deck and a view of the boat basin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

always saw this place on past trips . this time we decided to stop I since it was out of season.. got top floor 3 A with great view of harbor. lovely room .set up beautifully with lovely decor. right in old town . would stay again in a minute!

Room Tip: top floor has 2 rooms... best views and no one walks by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in room 2B which was on the ground floor with windows looking out on the harbor and a shared deck. We had a "suite" which was a small bedroom with separate living area. It had a microwave and small refrigerator. I was impressed with the quality of the furnishings, sheets, towels, pillows, coffee, etc for the price which was very reasonable off season. There was plenty of hot water. The owner checked us in and left us alone (which was what we wanted). It is conveniently located to shops and restaurants and a short drive (or long walk) to the beach. The one thing that could be improved is the fold out couch in the living area, which is a lovely couch, but is not particularly comfortable to sleep on. The Sea Star was clean and seemed well maintained. A lovely place to stay in Bandon.

Room Tip: Suite 2 B does not have a door between the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived in Bandon without having booked accommodation, although I had done a bit of research and had my eye on the Sea Star guesthouse. Fortunately, we were able to get their last room at a (very) bargain price. It was clean and comfortable, although not high end, it was very good value for money!
The owners were very nice, although they did steer us VERY wrong when they suggested we have dinner at the Wheelhouse. I have never had such awful service anywhere (even in Australia!). I wonder if there were some kickbacks involved?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Star Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Guesthouse

Address: 370 1st Street SE, Bandon, OR 97411
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated inside and out, this cozy waterfront motel is nestled among downtown shops and restaurants. Rooms have all new furniture, mattresses, bedding, paint and carpet, plus micro/fridge, cable TV, and Seattle's Best coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Star Guesthouse Hotel Bandon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Star Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.