We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Star Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Star Guesthouse
Save
You added Sea Star Guesthouse to your Saves list
370 1st Street SE, Bandon, OR 97411   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Bandon B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived in Bandon without having booked accommodation, although I had done a bit of research and had my eye on the Sea Star guesthouse. Fortunately, we were able to get their last room at a (very) bargain price. It was clean and comfortable, although not high end, it was very good value for money!
The owners were very nice, although they did steer us VERY wrong when they suggested we have dinner at the Wheelhouse. I have never had such awful service anywhere (even in Australia!). I wonder if there were some kickbacks involved?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
29
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed in suite 3b, which has a separate living area from the bed area. It was a clean and small room. The bathroom was very small, with a shower stall. The description of suite may be a little misleading for anyone who is expecting something spacious. Basically, a suite usually means there is a couch and usually a TV that is somehow separate from the sleeping area, although in more expensive lodging this may be more elaborate.

I thought the price was very good, especially since this place is so close to the water in a great location. We tend to spend more on lodging with the intention of having a more comfortable and enjoyable room experience. Our room experience was average, but the service was cordial and we felt welcome being there.

The location could not have been more convenient. Our dinner reservations at Alloro Wine Bar & Restaurant was literally about a 1-2 minute walk door to door. On Saturday, there was a market across the street where they had artisans and food merchants. My boyfriend got a fried cheeseburger there that we still talks about!!

If you are accustomed to budget traveling, you may be very pleased with Sea Star Guesthouse. It offers more than most budget accommodations, such as close proximity to a body of water and a mini fridge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Throughly enjoyed my stay here. I felt more like I was in a nice cozy apartment. Very clean and comfortable. Close to everything in Old Town Bandon. After Spending the day crabbing on the dock I could relax for a bit then have my choice of restaurants within walking distance. Stayed 5 nights and had dinner in a different restaurant each night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loughborough
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

An unexpectedly comfortable and extremely clean guesthouse. We stayed in aprtment 3a looking out onto the harbour, although it was difficult to get a good view as the stairs to the upstairs apartment were located nearly in front of our window.The bathroom was minute and windowless which didn't encourage you to linger. The apartment itself was spacious with a living room with fridge and microwave and also a comfortable settee.We ate breakfast at The Station which the manager had recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were trying to decide whether to stay in Old town or closer to the beach. I am glad we picked Sea Star as everything was within walking distance and it was very tidy. It's a 5-min ride to the beach where we took some pictures of the sea stacks at sunset. We were in Rm 2 for one night. It is small and the bath is tiny but it had a microwave, coffee pot & mini frig as well as a small table. There is a skylight right above the bed so fun to wake up to the clouds & blue sky. There is also an outside table on the porch where we ate cooked crab (we caught them in Winchester Bay & got them cooked in Charleston) with a view of the harbor and people walking by. The owners even left some paper plates & napkins for us. We thought it might be noisy at nite but everyone settled down by about 11. Just a note that there isn't a parking lot so parking is along the street which was a little tricky during the cranberry festival but we found a place after it ended at 6.

Room Tip: Our room was good for 1 nite but if you are staying longer or the weather isn't good, recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the Sea Star Guesthouse Room 4. Its on the back said but still a great room. Right next to all the fun of the festival, Loved the room and the owners, they are a real nice couple. We had a great time there a hope to go next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

When we reserved for one night at the Sea Star Guesthouse, we didn't realize what a wonderful location Old Town would be. We had a great time exploring Old Town and the waterfront with our children. I was expecting to have a view of the harbor so was a little disappointed when we realized that room #5 is on the backside of the building and does not face the water.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Star Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Guesthouse

Address: 370 1st Street SE, Bandon, OR 97411
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated inside and out, this cozy waterfront motel is nestled among downtown shops and restaurants. Rooms have all new furniture, mattresses, bedding, paint and carpet, plus micro/fridge, cable TV, and Seattle's Best coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Star Guesthouse Hotel Bandon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Star Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.