We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than Expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock
3225 Beach Loop Road, Bandon, OR 97411   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Crescent City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Less than Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Poor should actually be the rating, but the girls at the desk were helpful and tried to make up for the rough edges, so I'm a softly. They did give us a discount too.

#1 It took over 30 min from check in (literally done with keys in my hands) to actually opening the door to our room. We tried the key cards twice on the front door (yes there are two doors and we didn't realize that fact). Went back to the office to get new keys, (which is a little under a mile away) drove all the way back to room and keys cards still didn't work. Drove all the way back to office and finally manager(who was not a nice man) met us at our room. Then we learned the front door is always bolt locked by the maids and we were supposed to enter from the back. (Note two women after dark opening a back door)

#2 Then we decided to relax in the hot tub, yeah you guessed it. Too hot. Have had my own hot tub and the temp was definitely over 110 degrees.

The rest, short and sweet: very small room, tub didn't drain well, no ice to be found, and no breakfast. You pay more for your room to get breakfast included.

Room Tip: Stay at another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcDryden, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks for your review Famtree51, we would have hoped that we would have done better but we take it all to heart.

-Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    188
    80
    23
    14
See reviews for
149
240
24
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Inn at Face Rock, Bandon, OR, has to be one of Best Western's best kept secrets. We've stayed there several times, and each time there's not a thing we'd change. On a nice morning, you just walk across the street and down to the beach, a wide, (when the tide's out), and generous stretch of sand and rock formations to distract anyone from their woes. The Inn always has a nice selection of jackets and Bandon hoodies, as well as jackets and t-shirts for sale at definite sale prices, gift ideas as well from local artists. The breakfast at Bandon Bill's is presented with appetizing dishes and of course good coffee or tea. Rooms are clean and that morning coffee is always good in your own little pot. All the "stuff" you need when you're away from home. Easy access off HIghway 101, and while you're there, you can take a nice walk into Old Town Bandon, charming!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcDryden, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks 728irisheyes44, it sounds like you made the best of your trip to Oregon's South coast! You brought something up we need to remind folks...We have some of the best selections of coats, hoodies, t shirts, swimwear and not to mention wines in the area!

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We are from Oklahoma and had a wonderful time traveling along the beautiful coast of Oregon! Loved the atmosphere of this BW Hotel. Very clean, good access to the sandy beach along the shore! Friendly service and outstanding restaurant next door! Hope to return someday!

Room Tip: Had a room with no one upstairs! Cabin feel, not stuffy hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcDryden, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks Ronda we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a nice hotel overall but with some very specific pros and cons that may be of interest in making a decision where to stay. Bandon is a wonderful coastal beach town with much to recommend it: especially the beautiful beaches and the historic downtown area with lots of great little shops and restaurants (and the cranberry candy factory)!
A far as the Inn itself, the biggest drawback for the room we had was there was no view of the ocean. They do have a few ocean view suites, but none were available the afternoon we arrived.
The room we stayed in was clean but just average. The king bed was comfortable, except for the heavy comforter which felt as if it were stuffed with lead.
The wife complained that the toiletries were substandard. The dinner at the on-site restaurant "Bandon Bill's" was mediocre, although the ocean view from our table was beautiful.
The best things about the hotel were the pool, sauna, and hot tub facilities. There is a nice gift shop in the lobby. The room had a mini fridge, microwave, and FREE wifi, all of which we always appreciate. They also accept pets for a reasonable fee.
Would we stay again? At the right rate, yes, especially if in an oceanview suite. Otherwise, we will explore other options for the next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcDryden, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Moonshine thanks for all of your comments. We value all of our guest's input to help improve our property!

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was beautiful, clean, roomy and what you would expect from a best western expect there was no hot water! We paid for a Jacuzzi room and could not use it because the water was cold. We waited 2 hours and still had to take cold showers! it was terrible. Indoor Jacuzzi is suppose to be 24 hours but had a broken part and it was full of green water....nasty! I don't think I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcDryden, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
My gosh we are sorry for no hot water - a failure of a basic expectation we take very seriously! Unfortunately, a check of the hot water tanks for your room today by our maintenance department did not find anything wrong, but we will keep an eye on it.

While our indoor hot tub is under repair, we still have our pool, sauna, exercise room and outdoor hot tub available. I hope we did make sure you were aware of that. I apologize for your troubles.

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this Best Western. Sylvia and Jam from Front desk went above and beyond required to make our stay more comfortable. They had the warmest attitude and the most pleasant welcoming I've ever experienced with help at a small hotel. These ladies are the reason our stay was wonderful. The indoor pool was a great way to end the day. Our view was of the golf course and the ocean. Our room was nice and spacious. I would say that it was clean, however, one of the bathroom sinks had soap scum or something that I was able to clean up with disinfectant wipes that I brought along. We will be staying here again really soon... Great service is my favorite part of this accommodation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcDryden, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks for your comments, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Room was very nice and the restruant food was great we had a room with an ocean veiw but thought we were staying on the beach and not across the street, still it was close enough to hear the ocean and see the waves coming in.
Would deffinitly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcDryden, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thanks, we try to keep the rooms fresh. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock

Address: 3225 Beach Loop Road, Bandon, OR 97411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
#4 Family Hotel in Bandon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bandon's only full service resort. Just across the beach from the Pacific ocean and within minutes of world class golf and other attractions. The only AAA 3 diamond property in the area, and the Westernmost Best Western in the continental U.S.! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn At Face Rock Hotel Bandon
Best Western Hotel Bandon
Best Western Bandon
Bandon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.