I guess we are spoiled a bit due to staying in chain motels, but we are fairly well-traveled, and have stayed at a lot of different hotels both here and abroad. With that intro, except as otherwise noted below, my comments are limited to the one unit in which we stayed very recently. We made our reservation the night before arriving after reading the reviews here. Both check-in & check-out we're a snap. Glenna (or Glenda) was congenial & helpful. Regarding the room, which was in a group of about 4 units, we had #10, in the western-most units. When we opened the door and looked around it was almost like stepping back 50 years, with the exception of the fridge, microwave, coffee maker, wi-fi & flat screen TV. While the room was clean, and the bed adequate, the "closet" consisted of a wire rack with a few hangers which interfered with accessing the bathroom, due to the hangars being at head height. The bathroom was decorated with Formica paneling held to the walls by numerous screws & washers, most of which were corroded. The toilet tank had a taped note on the top which read, "Please hold handle down to flush the toilet." The vanity was also coated with a different color of Formica reminiscent of the 50s, and tapered inwards with single spindly leg supporting end near the tub. Another sign informed us that bathroom light switch had to be on for the electrical outlet to work. There was adequate bathroom illumination due to the 2 incandescent bulbs and the one CFL light bulb burning brightly without any benefit of any ornamental diffuser or shade. The curtain for the small front window was slightly more effective at filtering light than a sheet of gauze with a paint job. The curtain by the bed was torn near the top and difficult to close. While the flat screen TV was nice, the cable system used did not carry either CNN, nor Fox News Network. For fans of MSNBC though, take heart-it is the only cable news network available. We could hardly wait to leave in the morning. I am sure that there are other rooms much nicer than the one we had, at least I hope so. There was nothing quaint, quirky or charming about room 10, in our opinion. In sum, the Pros: great view of Table Rock; friendly staff, clean room, nice shower head, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, flat screen TV, and wi-fi - the basics are covered; the Cons: a small room, poorly placed hanger/shelf combo, a bathroom decor best left to one's memories of the worst of the 1950s, and a rate that suggested the promise of something better. Again, other rooms may be a whole lot nicer.
Ask not to be placed in Room 10
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your room. We have two different types of rooms available here at Table Rock Motel - The New Addition and the Cottage Side. Everyone one has a different preference, and you should have been placed in The New Addition, which is more the "chain" / modern type rooms. I understand that you were compensated for your displeasure. When your reservation was taken, the front desk should've spent more time to inquire what you were looking for rather than just take your reservation. Again, I am sorry that we did not have you in the right room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.