We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“booking practices vs. real prices” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Windermere on the Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bandon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windermere on the Beach
Save
You added Windermere on the Beach to your Saves list
3250 Beach Loop Drive, Bandon, OR 97411   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“booking practices vs. real prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

they do NOT have a web site to book lodging.....should have been the first indication of the lack of personal knowledge as to how to treat customers. booked in march via prices on web site, when i called they quoted different price. and stuck to it saying the site had not been updated, and this was ONLY the middle of march. when i called to cancel...they tried to argue with me re: the price. BE WARNED as to there practices. Plus the place is VERY OLD.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    94
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
98
167
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

Pretty much what other reviewers described--the property is an older one but very well maintained. The units with a loft (2 beds upstairs, one downstairs, and kitchnette) are a great value for an extended family traveling on a budget. Location is very scenic, sliding glass doors open out directly onto beach.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, Ca.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

I loved the Windermere! It was so relaxing... I would just sit and watch the ocean,as I was hypnotized by the view...
I highly recommend, and the price is right, the rooms are very clean and kept up.
You can also drive down to the old town of Bandon where the marina is and walk around the little shops. There is plenty to do. Or just do nothing.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2006

Though we've traveled to the Oregon coast many, many times, we just discovered Bandon--and, we can't be happier that we chose this motel. We stayed in one of the older buildings, which consists of four rooms: two single-floor rooms in the middle and two two-floor rooms on the ends. We stayed in an end room which had a first floor kitchenette, dining area, bathroom, sitting area/cable tv, and queen bed, and two double beds on the second floor as well as a few small closets. It was more than enough room for my wife, daughter and I to camp out upstairs, and for me to escape downstairs in the mornings to drink my coffee and write as I looked out over the expansive beach while my girls slept in.

As other reviews have stated, this isn't a high-end luxury motel, but it is very clean and kept up (though as with many motels, the bathroom fans could use replacing). And while the wind on the beach was brutal, you basically have the beach to yourself. Pack jeans and a windbreaker, and you'll have a blast. Also, the coolest animal park is only seven miles south. It is a wildlife park where you get to pet animals ranging from common goats to foxes, bears, and cougars. They have a super-friendly staff that is informed about the critters they work with, and makes sure that everyone gets their turn with all the animals. We will certainly return to Bandon, the Windermere, and the animal park soon.

  • Liked — Views and location right on the beach
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Stop by the coffee shop a mile away on 101 for internet access.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2005

If your looking for a relaxing, comfortable place to stay while visiting Bandon, Oregon, you might want to try the Windermere Motel.
My family and I stayed there recently and had a lovely time. The rooms are very clean and right on the beach. A lovely view from our window to watch boats, birds, and waves. There are gorgeous rocks to explore during low tide that have many starfish and crabs at the base, the kids had a great time investigating. And all just a short walk from the motel.
A very short drive to Old Town Bandon, and you can crab, shop, have a great lunch. And within minutes be back at your comfortable room on the oceanfront.
The best things for us were the easy access to the beach, roomfront view to the ocean, clean and comfortable room, friendly staff, nice parking, and short drive to Old Town Bandon.
If you have pets, this motel is definitely not pet friendly. They have many signs posted that pets are not allowed on the property. Also, it is not a luxury motel by any means. If your looking for convenience, comfort, cleanliness, and a value; you'll love the Windermere.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
622 helpful votes 622 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2005

We stayed 2 nights in a queen w/kitchen room (the least expensive room they have) in one of the 4 original buildings. There are newer buildings (1 on each side) on each end of the 4 original buildings. We were upstairs and our balcony was on the east side of the building looking away from the ocean and toward the parking lot and the Best Western Inn at Face Rock across the road. Needless to say, we did not sit on that balcony. From our kitchen table, however, we had the most beautiful view of the ocean, beach, and what I presume was Face Rock.

The above average rating here is for the spectacular, unobstructed view. There is nothing here between your room and the beach.

The room itself was not as great as the view. In our room upstairs (we never saw the downstairs units for comparison), the ceiling is pretty low (about 7'), giving us a slightly cramped feeling when we first entered. Bathroom has a shower stall only, and the only power outlet we could find was near the floor on the wall opposite the sink. There was also a sitting area with a couch and a chair. The room had a kind of dated (1950s era, maybe?), rustic ambience, you might say, with dark wood doors and wood detailing. But, it was clean, and all the cooking equipment provided for the kitchen seemed well washed. But it really is the view that counts here!

After sitting and looking at our view for awhile, we forgot that the room was not quite what we would have hoped. We assume the newer rooms are somewhat nicer.

The only thing I would have liked was a balcony or patio where I could sit outside and see the ocean. The more expensive rooms did have their own patios and the newer rooms had a balcony upstairs (on the ocean side) as well as a patio for the downstairs.

If you think you won't be happy in one of the older rooms, give the rooms in the newer building a try. Then report back here. I wish I'd ask to see one of them.


We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City UT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2005

Truly fantastic oceanview from inside your room, beach access right outside your back door. Super clean, comfortable; spacious enough for family getaways w/1 queen and kitchenette downstairs, 2 full size beds upstairs. Not a luxury motel, just an unexpected great value for weekend retreats, family getaways. Very friendly staff that makes this a place to feel at home, but with the ocean sounds and views that make it a place to remember.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windermere on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere on the Beach

Address: 3250 Beach Loop Drive, Bandon, OR 97411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bandon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
#1 Family Hotel in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room at the Windermere has an unobstructed view of the spectacular ocean along Bandon's coastline. 25 secluded and private units, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes,and decks - perfect for family vacations. All rooms have free WiFi. Pet friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windermere Motel On The Beach Hotel Bandon
Windermere Hotel Bandon
Windermere Motel Bandon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windermere on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.