We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windermere on the Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bandon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windermere on the Beach
Save
You added Windermere on the Beach to your Saves list
3250 Beach Loop Drive, Bandon, OR 97411   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This place is amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We LOVED this charming little place! I used to come here as a child with my family, and have wonderful memories - this summer, I brought my husband and his parents, and we stayed in one of the family cottages. It was perfect! So clean and cute, and great service. We walked straight out our private patio door and down onto the beach (no need to even bring shoes!), and had the beach right at our back door. We came back around sunset and had a glass of wine on our patio as we watched the sunset and the fog roll in - it was picture perfect. We will definately be back next summer!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We are so happy you returned with your own family to the Windermere. It is indeed a special place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    90
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
84
149
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

What a wonderful experience to find a place that surpassed our expectations. Our upstairs room had a deck with a lovely view. Everything was bright and clean and attractive. the hosts were superbly helpful. A winner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you will stay with us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at this motel for 2 nights. It was a great location, only a short walk down to the beach. The view from our room was amazing. Our room was updated throughout. The kitchen was fully stocked with dishes. The bathroom was updated and clean. Our only complaint was the bed was a bit uncomfortable but not horrible. One recommendation is to make sure your kids have enough clothing to get sandy/wet during your stay. There are not laundry facilities. With such easy access to the beach we spent a lot of time going back and forth and it was amazing how much laundry we created. The staff at the hotel was very nice in every interaction. We can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: We had an end room (the ones that sleep 6 are on the ends) and there was no noise from neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hi!
Families have been enjoying the Windermere and the beautiful beach since the 30's! We hope you will make it a family tradition and return every year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

For the price, you'd be hard pressed to beat this clean, well-kept lodge. The room I had had a well-equipped kitchenette and fireplace and deck overlooking the beach. A short walk through the sand and you're on a beach where, if not for the homes nearby, you'd swear was your own. I came on vacation, badly needing some down time to relax, and I found it here. Could it possibly be improved? Of course, but then you're not paying $350 or more a night. Perfect for the price, and highly (in my book) recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for your compliment on our clean rooms! That is our number one priority! Our property was built in 1936 and is definitely a treasure. We hope you join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The view from this place is amazing. The short walk to the beach is easy and enjoyable. The beach in Bandon is so clean and free of people, compared to Lincoln City. Gorgeous! The hotel itself is older and could use a facelift in its rooms. The kitchen was fully stocked with supplies, which was great, but the bathroom was little more than a closet and was disappointing. We stayed in a room that had two bedrooms upstairs, which made for a very roomy night. However, these stairs are not suitable for small children (we have four) or for the elderly. Overall, clean and comfortable with an amazing view.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hello, I'm so glad you were able to enjoy our beautiful beach! Our property was built in 1936! We have many visitors who come and request the original Family Cottages. On your next visit give us a call and we can help you select a different style of room. We appreciate your feedback and are always looking at ways to improve our guests' experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We spent 2 nights here. The place was clean and great views of the ocean. Its older, but well kept, just not what we prefer on vacation. The stairs going to the bedroom are very steep, not for older people. The kitchen was newer and had the basics we needed. The wood deck needs a little TLC, but fine to sit on and enjoy the view. Nice to have a private cottage. Pretty good trail to get to the ocean. The ladies at the front desk were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Love this place. Hotel rooms are little cottages with direct views of the ocean. Down the stairs and go for a long walk along the beach or just enjoy the view. All the rooms are either in little A-frame cottages or by the main office. Management are great too! If you want serenity, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windermere on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere on the Beach

Address: 3250 Beach Loop Drive, Bandon, OR 97411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
#1 Family Hotel in Bandon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room at the Windermere has an unobstructed view of the spectacular ocean along Bandon's coastline. 25 secluded and private units, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes,and decks - perfect for family vacations. All rooms have free WiFi. Pet friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windermere Motel On The Beach Hotel Bandon
Windermere Hotel Bandon
Windermere Motel Bandon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windermere on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.