We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Billy Smoothboar's Steak and Seafood/ Boar's Nest Sports Bar
3030 Oregon Avenue SW, Bandon, OR 97411
5413472373
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 43 Restaurants in Bandon
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Gold Beach, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Surpsingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I found ourselves looking for an open restaurant on a Tuesday evening, and ended up here. The restaurant was nicely decorated and seemed clean, but it was almost totally empty. We ordered Baby Back Ribs with twice baked potatoes, and fish and chips. We both felt that the meals were surprisingly good. The service was fast, and the prices were reasonable. The twice baked potatoes would not be ordered again, but otherwise we were pleasantly surprised. We would return to this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    11
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Average but not worth the $”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Coffee shop level food but touted as a steak & seafood restaurant? NOT
Food was deep fried, so that tells me it's not fresh. Shrimp were exactly that..Shrimpy salad type shrimp on a skewer? really?

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Our group had most of our meals in the old town of Bandon, so when we found that many places were closed on our Monday evening, we drove a few minutes out of town to this restaurant for a good meal. When we walked in, there was only one other table being served so I was wondering how good is this place? After being seated by our server, she took the time to get us pitchers of water and iced tea along with fresh bread. There were many nice selections on the menu and we decided on the baby back ribs [baked]; prime rib and I had the teriyaki prime rib. Our server highly recommended this entree and I was not disappointed. See attached picture. We all enjoyed our dishes and we ended up too stuffed to try their desserts. I want to point out that our server was very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Christmas Lights Display is Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Do not miss the wonderful display of Christmas Spirit at Billy's this year. The Inside and outside of the entire place is decorated in every way possible. This review could go under attractions as well as a great place to enjoy great food and drinks with friends and family during this holiday season.
The well stocked bar and friendly staff is always a pleasure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I both had the baby back ribs and they were EXCELLENT. So tender that they literally fell off the bone and we were able to eat them with our forks and didn't even need the hot towels they brought us. Our waitress was great and provided excellent service as well!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Smoothboar's Steak and Seafood/ Boar's Nest Sports Bar also viewed

 
Bandon, Oregon Coast
Bandon, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Billy Smoothboar's Steak and Seafood/ Boar's Nest Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy Smoothboar's Steak and Seafood/ Boar's Nest Sports Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.