We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WiFi no good!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Oceanfront Lodging

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunset Oceanfront Lodging to your Saves list
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
1865 Beach Loop Rd., P.O. Box 373, Bandon, OR 97411   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WiFi no good!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I had slow connectivity, if ANY, during my 2-day stay. Great views, but expect to drive back to town for Wi-Fi. Am very disappointed staff did nothing to compensate for many trips out. Apologies aren't enough when you need to do business on-line. I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce-Longland, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear jenieugene,

We were dismayed to find this review posted about us, especially since it appeared a day before we were given an opportunity to rectify the problem. We recognize that free Wi-Fi is a crucial amenity for many travelers, which is why we installed new Wi-Fi equipment and contracted another company that offers 24 hour technical support. While Wi-Fi problems have not been completely eliminated in all 70 of our units, they are rare. Once the problem was reported, we immediately called the support technician to understand what was wrong and we did our best to correct it. We appreciate you for taking the time to review us and provide feedback.

Sincerely,
Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    65
    29
    18
    7
See reviews for
31
93
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We can only review the actual hotel, because even tho we asked for the addition-we got the main hotel. Tired rooms, but generous size. And on the 2nd floor, spectacular views. There was no one else staying here, so that could be the reason. Forget their breakfast, packaged muffins and coffee. There are plenty of places that look better. But we also didn't pay much so we get what we deserve. But we were told by another property to book here cause they were full.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were traveling down the Oregon Coast Highway on our honeymoon, and needed a place to spend one night. We had gotten really lucky the night before in Yachats finding an amazing place, and was hoping for the same in Bandon. Well this place wouldn't be at the top of my list to return to, but it was just fine for a night's stay. The guy at the check-in counter was very nice, and even let us look at a few rooms before we decided. We stayed in the older section, EVERYTHING was wood paneled! Dated, but clean so no complaints. We loved having the microwave and fridge. Indoor pool and hot tub were nice, and the breakfast was adequate for a morning snack. Only complaint was there was no screen on the sliding glass door, so we couldn't leave it open at night to get an ocean breeze and hear the waves crashing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in the Vern Brown Bldg on the main floor, still a number of levels above the beach.
When we arrived and looked out our balcony, our jaws dropped. **Scenery! It was near sunset and we couldn't wait to get down to explore. The room is spacious, towels and bath are nice quality, kitchen had lots of dishes and had everything one needs. They provide a duraflame log for fireplace, which I am hesitant to use. We were very pleased with this accommodation other than the sparse breakfast they offer in main bldg. Muffins, yogurt and coffee; that's it! I think it would have better not to offer breakfast at all. This lodge is right next to Flat Rock state park; easy to walk to. We had to park our car across the street at a nearby restaurant. Bandon-on-the Sea is a fun town to explore with some great eateries.

Room Tip: Get a main level room so you don't have to cart your luggage far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Hill,OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We didn't listen and stayed here on 9/27.First observation was the place looked great from the outside.Inside,I think possibly Christ may have stayed here as a boy VERY old looking,missing woodwork,broken formica and the entire walls faded.The TV was very dark and couldn't be corrected.The thermastate would not work,either on high or off,no ajusting.Very few people staying but the evidently book a room above us to a herd off cattle that pounded around most of the night,NO insulation in the ceiling .They have the nerve to charge over $100 off season.You would be better off sleeping in your car.

Room Tip: please don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights in the Vern Brown section and loved the ocean view. The beach was right there with the spectacular rock formations. Early morning walks on the beach and beautiful sunsets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanita, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Sunset Oceanfront Lodging has the best views of Bandon's incredible rock formations. Can't beat the sunset views at this special location. A room in the Vern Brown section or rustic cabins afford the greatest view as they are directly over the water. A less expensive section is the Oceanview rooms. They are very spacious but the view is not as grand. Be prepared for some steps down to the beach as the hotel is up above the beach.
The continental breakfast is a little sparse but for a larger meal there are great restaurants nearby in old town.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Vern Brown section for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Oceanfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Oceanfront Lodging

Address: 1865 Beach Loop Rd., P.O. Box 373, Bandon, OR 97411
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
#7 Family Hotel in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on high ground overlooking a sandy beach, majestic sea stacks and the Pacific Ocean, Sunset Oceanfront Lodging offers beach access and a variety of accommodations. Family owned and operated since 1936. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Oceanfront Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging Hotel Bandon
Sunset Hotel Bandon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.