We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Night's Sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Oceanfront Lodging

Save Saved
You added Sunset Oceanfront Lodging to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
1865 Beach Loop Rd., P.O. Box 373, Bandon, OR 97411   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Bandon
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Great Night's Sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff, spacious room and a comfortable bed - across the street from the beach (they do have older rooms on the beach). It's an older property with what seemed to be newer plumbing. There was no air conditioning. However we left the balcony door open and it kept the room cool through the night. The room was clean in key areas. But the shelf in the closet area looked as though it had not been cleaned - even noticed what appeared to be insect "droppings" in the corner. The carpet looked clean, but we noticed that after walking barefoot in the room, we left black marks in the tub when stepping into the shower. Exterior doors (2nd floor) were rusting. We had a great night stting on the lawn watching a spectacular sunset. I would stay here again, but recommend that they pay attention to a few details.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    48
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
24
78
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Positives: Across the street from the ocean for a stunning sunset. Also near Face Rock State Beach, which has some beautiful rock formations. Pet friendly rooms with large and well groomed lawn area. Nice clean lobby. Rooms are spacious with a cozy gas fireplace. There is an unaffiliated oceanview restaurant right next door.

Negatives: Very outdated furniture in the studio rooms. Mattresses were cheap and sagging, causing back pain. The sheets were pretty disgusting (the worse thing for me). Sheets/bedding had no fresh smell and the sheets were yellowing and dingy they were so old. The pillows were also in poor condition. Breakfast was a choice of yogurt and prepackaged muffins (with lots of preservatives). Toilet area cramped. Small tube tv... too small to watch from bed =(

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALEM, OR
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Sunset is right across the street from the beach. Some rooms are even near the beach. Reasonable prices and most rooms have an ocean view. Easy access. A nice place to stay in Bandon. Restaurants nearby and riding stables just south a mile or so. Also near to public beach parks.

Room Tip: A few rooms have no view and can be rented for much less money. They have almost the same beach acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Being on a budget I was looking for an inexpensive, clean dog friendly place to stay in beautiful Bandon. This place fit the bill just fine at $69/night all in. This is a large property with many lodging options, but I simply needed clean, and somewhere for me and my 4 legged friend. The views from my 2nd floor room were astounding and I was only a few steps from the beach. Only downside, was the restaurant closing early.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The view out our patio sliding glass door was the best, ocean crashing, incredible sunsets, and beautiful beaches. The duplex we occupied was old and in need of a renew job, however the view was worth the price of the room. The room next to us (duplex) had a fireplace and that would been our first choice. I must get over that this is dog friendly place and still have a problem with the thought of a canine bedding down on our bed prior to our arrival. The staff was good, there breakfast was bleak, and the internet works.

Room Tip: choose the duplex with the fireplace and be prepared for a room with a view but in need of a refit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at one of the Ocean Front buildings where we were just a short trip down stairs to the beach! The room was very out dated, but had plenty of space, small kitchen, 2 bdrms and a fire place. There was also a small patio. It appears there are many different kinds of rooms, so check out each one and see what works for you.

Before you go to bed, check the tides and if they are low - go tide pooling early the next morning! There were seals and star fish all over! What an experience!

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean View! Or a room where you can easily access the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a room overlooking the ocean with a fireplace so the ambiance was perfect. We will definitely be back. The beds were even comfortable. Spendy but worth it! We did not stay for continental breakfast. We had a noise complaint about being too noisy and it wasn't even 10pm and the noise was two young girls giggling probably heard them because we had the sliding glass doors open to smell and listen to the ocean. Can't blame hotel management they were totally awesome and understanding probably someone who doesn't like kids probably complained.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Oceanfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Oceanfront Lodging

Address: 1865 Beach Loop Rd., P.O. Box 373, Bandon, OR 97411
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on high ground overlooking a sandy beach, majestic sea stacks and the Pacific Ocean, Sunset Oceanfront Lodging offers beach access and a variety of accommodations. Family owned and operated since 1936. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Sunset Oceanfront Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging Hotel Bandon
Sunset Hotel Bandon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.