We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work of Art” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Mist

Coastal Mist
210 Second Street SE, Bandon, OR 97411
541 347-3300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 39 restaurants in Bandon
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert
Description: We offer a full line of award winning artisan chocolates and European style desserts as well as drinking chocolates and drinking caramels, gourmet sandwiches and salads.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Work of Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The chocolates are almost too beautiful to eat----please note that I said almost because we ate everything that we purchased----and when we got back to our car we decided to go back and take photos of the chocolate art work, purchased some more and ate that. If you like chocolate you'll love this shop---right in the heart of Bandon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    64
    5
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
British Columba
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not your average chocolate shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

If you love chocolate Coastal Mist should not be missed! The hot chocolate equals any we have had in Europe including Switzerland! If you are a chocolate snob this is the place for you. The chocolates are exquisite and a lot of attention has been paid to detail. The tempering is perfect. The atmosphere is inviting, the staff is friendly and the owners are obviously passionate and deservedly proud of their establishment.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Chocolate Lovers Dream Come True”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

From the second you walk in the door and the blissful aroma reaches you you'll know you're not in a run of the mill "candy store". I'm not much of a chocolate connoisseur, or a fan of sweets for that matter, but I do appreciate when someone has taken time and effort into perfecting what they do and I can't imagine chocolate's being any more perfect than what they produce at Coastal Mist. The owners are warm, friendly people who clearly take pride in what they do. If you find yourself anywhere near Bandon, you owe it to yourself to stop by,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“There are no superlatives left”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I would suggest an intermediate size serving be available for the hot chocolate and caramel, but a minor wish versus their deserving every award received. Many reviews mention Belgium for the chocolate, but not so many chocolatiers, which in this country have almost all been French. Don't be surpised to see Coastal Mist either featured on one of the food channels as either restaurant, chocolatier, contestant or all three.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Belgian Chocolate at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The only difference between this award-winning artisan chocolate boutique in Bandon and one in Brussels, Belgium, is its location. It is a one-stop shop for European style pastries, desserts and catering. So far I’ve only indulged myself with the incredibly delicious and beautiful in-house pastries and handmade chocolates, but I would certainly turn to Coastal Mist as my first choice for any catering needs as well. My husband and I have also enjoyed their lunch menu on a number of occasions. Everything is made from scratch in-house and is as fresh as it could be. Since they only make a limited number of sandwiches per day, it is wise to telephone ahead to ensure their availability. Believe us when we say that everything is sold very quickly every day. The owners/proprietors are a professionally trained husband and wife team of a master chef and a master pastry chef, who honed their chocolatier craft in Belgium under a local Belgian mentor. I could go on and on, but suffice it to say that this place is so good that my husband and I drive nearly 150 miles round-trip regularly for a special treat. We are never disappointed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Mist also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Mist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Mist, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.