We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY AWESOME! Thanks Tons, I will certainly be back ASAP!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sumpter Junction Restaurant

Sumpter Junction Restaurant
2 Sunridge Ln, Baker City, OR 97814-2255
541-523-9437
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 42 Restaurants in Baker City
Cuisines: Mexican, American
Restaurant details
1 review
“ABSOLUTELY AWESOME! Thanks Tons, I will certainly be back ASAP!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Wonderful in every way! The Rib Eye steaks are great! As delicious as the best steakhouses. I had Steak and Eggs with hash browns and am still thinking of how much I loved it all. The staff is very friendly and on the ball. The owner spent a good 20 minutes or more discussing the trains that run right by your tables while you eat, the town's history as shown in many great antique photographs displayed throughout the extremely well thought-out decor, and the fun things to do around town too! I would love my friends and my entire family to have the pleasure of enjoying this tremendous place!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    35
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, fun watching the train”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Food was great and there was plenty of it for a reasonable price. And we all enjoyed watching the train.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Senior complaint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I just had a group of seniors eat breakfast here. NO complaints about what was served or the service. However, no oatmeal or similar on the menu. This is rather strange...especially since Bob's Red Mill is an Oregon phenom. PLEASE, offer something other than fried breakfast food!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Watch the train”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Good food with reasonable prices. Kids watched and timed the train as it went around the restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lewis, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hot food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

It was a good, hot meal. A bit pricey for the amount of food that you get but not terrible. It was decent and the kids liked the atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumpter Junction Restaurant also viewed

 
Baker City, OR
 

Been to Sumpter Junction Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sumpter Junction Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.