We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mulan Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mulan Garden
1841 Main St., Baker City, OR 97814
541-523-5230
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 42 Restaurants in Baker City
Restaurant details
Hereford, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Friendly service, big portions, fair prices. But not exciting. Some of the food was stodgy. The town outside is appealing for its decaying charm. This restaurant is a reasonable place to eat, but not memorable.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We ate here one night. The food was decent and priced about $10 per person. Service was good. Sub gum chow mein was excellent

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baker City, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wish the atmosphere was better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Food was good. Waitress was nice. Interior needs needs help. Updated curtains and better background music would do alot.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Clean, but food is not special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I heard there is a new owner, and that's quite likely, as the interior seems renovated. New seating is clean.

Food is typical American Chinese. Twice-cooked pork is nothing like I've ever had, very saucy. But it tasted alright.

Service is only by the owner. When I wanted to pay, she disappeared for about 10 minutes.
I ordered hot-sour soup, but she gave me egg-drop. Oh well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“New owners, great service and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

They just reopened under the new owners, and everything is greatly improved. Much better food than the other 2 Chinese restaurants in town, and they deliver too! The food was hot and freshly prepared. The pork fried rice has more BBQ pork in it than I've ever seen elsewhere. You can even get pan-fried noodles instead of the chow mein noodles. The only thing missing is dry-fried green beans...

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mulan Garden also viewed

 

Been to Mulan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mulan Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.