We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crave-A-Bowl Grill

Crave-A-Bowl Grill
975 Campbell St., Baker City, OR
+1 541-523-4740
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 41 Restaurants in Baker City
Price range: $7 - $9
Cuisines: Greek, Thai, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch
Redmond, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were staying in Baker City for a couple of days to visit the Oregon Trail Museum on the tail end of our family summer vacation. We were hungry and didn't want the typical fast food place. Well it took us a little while to find this place because we were unable to find their exact address but after a little looking we were glad we found it. The food was very good and the prices were very affordable and the items were well worth way more than we paid. The service was very friendly and prompt. The building is nothing fancy from the outside but it is very clean and cozy on the inside. If we had more time we would have come back more than once we enjoyed it that much. If we are back in that area we would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Don't be put off by the hokey name or the hole-in-the wall exterior. As other reviewers alerted us, inside is an oasis of good food, value and service.

Yummy noodle bowls and sweet tea for a long drive, lunch for 4 was $40 with a decent tip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Really good food at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stopped here on our way before heading in to Hells Canyon. So glad we did! Turned out to be the last tasty meal for the remainder of our trip. Easy access from interstate 84. Their large, simple but colorful sign on Campbell Street (see attached photo) is pretty easy to spot. All of the staff were very friendly, & since it was such a beautiful day, we chose to sit outside & enjoy the beautifyl view of Baker City's snow-covered mountain in the distance. Like other reviewers have already mentioned, the food was very fresh with many options. The portions were generous & the prices were reasonable. We decided to each go with half an order, which was plenty for lunchtime.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Don't let the name stop you from coming. We almost did. The place is very small, it only seats 14 people, although there is an outside eating area too. We elected to eat indoors because it was 108 degrees outside. So glad we stopped. The food was incredible! Everything was so fresh and delicious. The server was prompt and attentive and the food came out super quick. If I lived in Baker City I would go all the time,but alas I do not. My loss, don't make it yours. Go!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very tasty, healthy meal in pleasant setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We found Crave-a-Bowl a block from our motel in Baker City. What a pleasant surprise to find a selection of vegetarian and vegan possibilities. I had the Tangy Thai bowl with brown rice and tofu and it was great. My husband enjoyed the Thai Aki bowl with noodles and tofu. We also split a deliciously fresh dinner salad. All this for under $20. It's rare to find a place like this when you're on the road. How lucky for Baker residents to have it all the time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crave-A-Bowl Grill also viewed

 

Been to Crave-A-Bowl Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crave-A-Bowl Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.