We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Historic Oregon Trail Interpretive Center
22267 Oregon Highway 86, Baker City, OR
+1 541-523-1843
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Historic Oregon Trail Interpretive Center offers living history demonstrations, interpretive programs, exhibits, multi-media presentations, special events, and more than four miles of interpretive trails. We offer a variety of interpretive programs and special exhibits year-round. One mile of well-preserved ruts lie on the Interpretive Center grounds, and are accessible by the trails or from a turnout on Highway 86 about a half-mile west of the Center's entrance.
Moscow, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

It was a very impressive interpretive center. Can not wait to return and finish the trails

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    38
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“learn a bit of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

great views, nice diorama displays, lots of interesting info

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Outstanding. Learn all about the Oregon Trail, and even see the wagon ruts.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Following the Oregon Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

My wife and I had the unique experience of following the wagon train route of my great grandmother who emigrated from Nebraska to Oregon in 1884 at the age of ten. One of her stops (and ours) was in Baker City, Oregon and there we discovered the National Historic Oregon Trail Interpretive Center. The center is about 8 miles east of I-84 off exit 302. There is ample parking at the center, even for RVs and camping trailers. We pulled a trailer and had no trouble getting there. The center has a number of excellent dioramas depicting what life was like on the trail. In addition, numerous exhibits and other artifacts from the era really add to the enjoyment of visiting the center. Moreover, this is one of several areas across the country where the wagon train ruts are still preserved after a century and a half. It was especially thrilling for me to stand in the actual wagon train ruts where my great grandmother passed by in 1884!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Made me think about the reality of the pioneer journey, not the romantic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I expected more of a museum, despite the term "interpretive" in the name. The setting is spectacular, perched on a hill above the Oregon Trail itself, with a view of mountains (obscured for us due to smoke from forest fires). I learned a lot about the journey the travelers made and also about native life before and after the settlers arrived. It was worthwhile and if I had been able physically, I would have enjoyed walking along the outdoor trails.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Historic Oregon Trail Interpretive Center also viewed

 

Been to National Historic Oregon Trail Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Historic Oregon Trail Interpretive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.