We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geiser Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Geiser Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Geiser Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1996 Main Street, Baker City, OR 97814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Baker City
arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

We stayed one night at this great historic hotel and town. We would have like to have stayed longer. Rooms were very large and very clean. Remember this is a historic hotel and if you expect modern you will be disappointed but it is a treat to stay in a hotel and town with so much history. Great dining room for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    99
    40
    32
    60
See reviews for
94
247
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Terrebonne, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Our visit over the Memorial Day weekend was awful in so many ways. First, the beds are thin, cheap mattresses that you can feel the springs through, the walls are paper thin so its extremely noisy, the pedestal sink in the bathroom wasn't even attached to the wall, there was only one mirror so only one person could get ready at a time, and the list goes on. But the worst is that our room began to fill up with cigarette smoke on the second night and by morning it was too horrible to endure. We never coul figure out why. We called the front desk and they sent up a woman who confirmed that she could smell it clear out in the hallway. She had one room left available and told us to pack up our stuff and while we were out during the day, she would have our things moved to the new room. We went out for the day and when we returned around 8:30 that night, we went to the front desk to get keys to our new room. But they had not switched us, and gave the room to someone who just showed up that day without a reservation! Not once did Mickey (the woman at the front desk) apologize, offer anything else, or even make a facial gesture that showed she was sorry. Her offer was to make a phone call to a motel up the street to check availability! It was awful. We were tired, hungry, and now we didn't have a room. We had read the bad reviews prior to making the reservation, but figured it was so historic, we'd try it. What a mistake! And one last thing, the windows are all sealed shut, so in the case of a fire, there is only one way out of the hotel down the main stairs. Being in the fire service, I can tell you, that is not safe! Make your own decision, but I will never consider that hotel again, and I will tell anyone who listens how poorly we were treated. Oh and by the way, all the locals we shared our story with said the GG was a ripoff and that they had heard story after story about how bad things were there. Locals know...too bad the GG doesn't!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

This lovely hotel was once "grand", but we were disappointed. It is a lovely building inside and out, however we found the charming bedcovers smelled dusty, the carpet was wearing and didn't appear clean, and the stems only of the old flowers in the restaurant remained just that for the entire three days we were there. The outward appearance, including dress of the staff, implied luxury, but I kept thinking that someone needed to see and attend to the detail.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

My Mom, grandaughter and I stayed at the Geiser Grand in Aug . I had asked for a 3rd floor room and the one we got faced the street and had a great view of the mountains. The room was nice although it was a bit dusty.
The staff was great and we had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant.
My only complaint is be aware that when you book your room using a credit card they automatically charge a $100.00 incidental charge on top of your room fee. I wasn't aware of this and was charged twice for this on my credit card. Christy at the front desk was very helpful, but it took 2 weeks for the charge to drop off my credit card.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay,

  • Liked — It is a very historic building with great architecture
  • Disliked — It does need to be updated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

I agree with stokersam who also wrote a review--well priced, nice people work there, but it needs updating. We stayed at the Geiser Grand a few years ago in the summer and it was pretty nice. We were given the exact same room (coincidentally), on the 3rd (top) floor, this past week. We were there on business this time. We had a large room. Yes, hard to close the drapes, but in October that's not so much of a problem. No place in the bathroom to put personal items except the back of the toilet and a very small shelf--the sink is a pedestal sink with little space. The place probably has not been updated since it was remodeled in the late 90's. The carpet was stained and chairs were a little shabby. The weather got down to the 20's at night and we were freezing. We turned the thermostat up, but the fans blasted so hard that it made it cold to feel the breeze as I tried to work at the desk. (They did have free wireless service that worked pretty well.) It never got above the mid-60's in the room. At 8 am, there was no hot water left, but we needed to shower to get to a meeting by 9 am. Others who were there for the same meeting had the same problem. The lobby is dark and the food rather average. Price is pretty low. No breakfast, no coffee making supplies, no fridge or micro, but they had coffee in the lobby after about 6 am. No free newspapers, but there is one copy of the Oregonian and the local paper that you can borrow in the lobby if it's still there. Otherwise you walk down the street to a paper machine and it costs a $1, quarters only. The staff is very nice and parking in the lot behind the hotel is free. There was a DVD and video machine in the room and cable TV. I love the town of Baker City--nice people, a few decent restaurants and shops--all locally owned. The walking tour of 1870's buildings is fun, and the Carnegie Library a few blocks from the hotel is nice.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cold room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Angel, Oregon
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

Ignore the front door which is a bit shabby and walk into the completely renovated hotel with crystal chandeliers, a stained glass ceiling and mahogany everywhere...and this is just the lobby. Our room was very large with two queen beds and a huge bathroom. The dining room was pleasant and welcoming and served fine food.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wa.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

made a reservation 2 months in advance asked for a top floor away from street noise- upon arrival - given a second floor room on main street- took the room anyway - the street noise was loud - asked for a differnt room - was told all the top floor rooms were taken and that the street noise was minimal - but they would try to accomadate us- given a second floor back room which was better-not much to do in Baker city- not many resturants- a nice park but far from city park - which is nice

  • Liked — not much
  • Disliked — the rugs were stained- the plumbing had problems and the service was just ok-it was expensive for what we got
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Geiser Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geiser Grand Hotel

Address: 1996 Main Street, Baker City, OR 97814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Baker City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Baker City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Geiser Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Geiser Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiser Grand Baker City
Hotel Geiser Grand
Geiser Grand Hotel Baker City, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geiser Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.