We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geiser Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Geiser Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Geiser Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1996 Main Street, Baker City, OR 97814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Baker City
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Grand old hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Geiser Grand several times on our way from Portland OR to Sun Valley ID. The hotel has been restored to it's former 19th century glory, with stained glass, beautiful light fixtures, lovely old woodwork, and wallpapers and paint colors true to the period. Our room last time had a crystal chandelier, and ceilings are very high. You feel you are in the classy part of the old west, as indeed you are.
The prime rib on prime rib night is delicious. Breakfasts are also great. The staff is friendly and the service good. Prices are reasonable.
One thing we like is that the hotel is pet friendly, and our two terriers love to go there and take walks around the surrounding historic district. There is a little gift shop, with some things from Pendleton woolens, and other items. I bought a little Pendleton bag there. Recommended!

Room Tip: They have some rooms with mountain views--just ask for that or for whatever is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    104
    41
    32
    61
See reviews for
99
256
21
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night passing through Baker City on my way to Portland. Great old hotel with Tons of character. Built sometime in the late 1800 (1889) I think. Hotel seems to be the same way today. Very clean large rooms. The night desk clerk was a wealth of info on the area but didn't spend enough time to get to enjoy it. The hotel had a bar and a couple of food options. We had breakfast before we left and it was excellent. I would recommend the breakfast skillet which is full of fresh vegetables and egg with no meat or cheese quite healthy and tasty. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Dec 30 we were traveling on I-84 E the weather conditions were awful the chain law in affect. We decided to call ahead to major hotel in Geiser Hotel Baker City. 20 minutes later the road was closed at La Grande due to a accident 10 miles East. I envisioned the road being closed for hours. So we spent the night in La Grande. I called the hotel in Baker City to cancel the reservation 60 minutes later after making the first call, they said fine. The phone rang while checking in from this hotel saying the $109.00 is non refundable. Saying to us we could have gotten there, either by waiting for the road to open or traveling on a secondary road. After this major bus accident, we can understand how dangerous the roads can be. We are senior citizens and I consider this being theft. All they have offered is a 1 time courtesy of a room in the future. We have no travel plans and could not enjoy ourselves at this establishment knowing how we were mistreated. This was a act of God, and they act like we did something wrong. Three calls later they advised our money was non-refundable. What is wrong with the management of this hotel?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at this wonderful hotel many times & they never fail to exceed our expectations. The rooms are lovely & the food in both the dining room & the bar is very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who finds themselves in the area.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I planned to stay one night, ski the next day, then travel on to our next destination in Washington. The people at the reception desk, restaurant, and bar were warm, friendly, and very accommodating. Our room was clean, well decorated, warm and comfortable. We enjoyed the food in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner, and happy hour drinks in the lounge next door. We plan to visit and stay again. The Geiser Grand exceeded our expectations. No hotel within a 50-mile radius compares for quality, comfort and value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, Idaho, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

A great experience over Christmas. The Christmas buffett was wonderful, the service was perfect, and the history of this area is exceptional and well preserved. This was a silver and gold mining area. In the basement, there is a menu from either 1901 or 1904 showing the food provided for the Christmas dinner of that year. That showed all the usual meats and pastas as well as shrimp and fresh lobster which must have been brought on the train from the East coast. The meal cost $1.00. Today the meal is $22.99 which is actually cheaper if you consider the value of silver. In the early 1900s, 1 ounce of silver was worth $1.00. Today 1 ounce of silver is worth $30.00. The rooms were great with high, either 12 or 14 foot ceilings, and comfortable beds. We had a great time.

Room Tip: I saw three rooms and all were great. We were on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here several times and we are always impressed with the service. Great breakfast at a reasonable rate. Good location to restaurants, shops and surrounding activities. Baker City has lots to do, nice walking and bicycle trails

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Geiser Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geiser Grand Hotel

Address: 1996 Main Street, Baker City, OR 97814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Baker City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Baker City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Geiser Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Geiser Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiser Grand Baker City
Hotel Geiser Grand
Geiser Grand Hotel Baker City, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geiser Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.