We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geiser Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Geiser Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Geiser Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1996 Main Street, Baker City, OR 97814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Baker City
Pendleton, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

In a pinch and looking for a pet-friendly hotel, this was a quick decision upon recalling the great time for "Wine-lovers Weekend" a couple years ago. A terrific weekend getaway, indeed, as you feel like you're at a pampering estate much more than a hotel! Dogs also very satisfied, as the town has a wonderful park and a long Powder River-walk just behind the hotel. The food in the hotel's restaurants is so fresh and local, how can you not feel at home?! Looking forward to the next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    99
    40
    32
    60
See reviews for
94
247
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed four nights at the Geiser Grand, and the staff acted like nobody had ever done that before. Treated like royalty, we thoroughly enjoyed our time in Baker City, and made the most of our four-poster bed, and comfy and clean room. The Saturday night hoedown was fun, taking in a local band or two, plus a tasting session of the towns cafe's and restaurants, before retiring to the Grand bar where Elvis-a-like sang and strummed the night away. I don't think he minded that much when we joined in the singing...The tour of the hotel is fun, hearing stories of how it was built, almost became a car park, and has risen again, even though the ghosts from the past are said to remain. The restaurant is very good, with a fine menu, and good (inexpensive) wine, though breakfast was not obviously cooked by the same chef! Baker City is a great hub if you want to visit Hell's Canyon, tour the Wallowa-Whitman National Forest, or take the Elkhorn Mountains scenic drive (there's gold in them there mountains!). Also, the Eagle Cap train is only an hour or so away up the freeway, and the Oregon Trail Interpretive Centre just outside town is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Every few years my husband and I stay at the Geiser Grand on our way somewhere else. We always try to rent the Cupola suite so we can surround ourselves in the elegance of the past and a little luxury in the present. The rooms - all the rooms - are lovely, with high ceilings and good furniture. The Cupola Suite has a great juccuzi bath and a great view of all the surrounding mountains. The food is always good, the staff friendly, the bar a lot of fun and well stocked. This building was lovingly restored - the woodwork is amazing - you will never see anything like that these days. The carpet in a couple of the rooms I have been in need replacing, but that is a minor thing when you look at the whole hotel. Just love this place!

Room Tip: The Cupola Room is great - but spendy. Treat yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Friendly staff, good food in both restaurants, pretty rooms, close to shopping.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We've stayed at the Geiser twice, and eaten there over a dozen times. The food is always good, but our favorite remains their pasta night (Wednesday).
The Hotel has been restored in a manner that makes you aware of all of the people that have passed through its doors over the last 122 years!

Room Tip: The cupola suite is incredible (we saw it on a hotel tour once). However, our budget has never allo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I travel 250 days a year and have had the pleasure of staying at the Geiser Grand on at least two other occasions.

Barbara Sidway, who owns the historic property, has done an amazing job restoring the hotel, which is more than 120 years old. If you have a little extra in your budget, ask for the Cupola Suite, where we stayed, which is the corner suite with the large cupola where you can sit at a large game/dining table overlooking downtown Baker City. This is the room you see in photos of the hotel. The room is more than spacious and comfortable with very high ceilings (perhaps 14') and comfortable furnishings.

The king bed was very comfortable, the furnishings and linens nice, the bath was roomy, and water pressure in the shower was excellent.

The hotel is right in the heart of historic downtown Baker City, so this is the place to stay with a lot of shops, other dining choices and activities just outside the hotel entrance.

Room Tip: Splurge and stay in the Cupalo Suite. There are pictures of the room on the Geiser Grand website. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I was really looking forward to seeing here, since I have enjoyed staying at historical hotels across the United States. We stayed in Suite 301, the most expensive room in the hotel.
The A/C was directly vented over the bed, so cold air blew down all night long, which froze me and made it impossible to sleep. I did need some air circulation in the room. All of the historical windows are painted firmly shut! No chance to open a window at all.
The "view" that they had promised overlooked a very niosy and busy intersection. Yuck! The parking lot for the hotel was a block away, so getting from the car overnight was a major task and very unsafe at night.
The light bulbs in the room are very dim.
The library room, while pretty, was very dim and I could never read in there. There was only office conference seating in there, so nothing was comforting nor cozy. The selection of books came from the Good Will store 30 years ago.
The bathtub was very nice, deep with jets. The fake fireplace in the room, is one that I have seen on sale for less than $200 at Costco. Yuck! The TV is old and dated and not hooed up to cable.
And, why are all rooms "magically" ready at exactly 4 PM? I tried to check in at 3 PM and I was told to return, so I took a unplesant nap in the car. Everyone arrived to check in at 4 PM and so, there was a long line at the check-in desk. Why is this? This is a terrible policy for guests.
The front desk staff were rude and unwelcoming. No one said Good-Bye upon my check-out.
For the price and the expection of good service, it was terrible and a riip-off. Save your money and take your romantic dreams somewhere else. Price Charming and Snow White have already checked out.

Room Tip: Room 301, the most expensive suite in the hotel, has a terrible view of three noisy lanes fumes. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Geiser Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geiser Grand Hotel

Address: 1996 Main Street, Baker City, OR 97814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Baker City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Baker City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Geiser Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Geiser Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiser Grand Baker City
Hotel Geiser Grand
Geiser Grand Hotel Baker City, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geiser Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.