We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills

Save Saved
You added Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1902 East 71st, Tulsa, OK 74136   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #27 of 100 hotels in Tulsa
Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Thank you Marriott Southern Hills - we took our son to Tulsa for a Scholarship Event at Oral Roberts University. Your hotel was so close and made our early morning deadline so easy to meet. I'm sure that we will be staying here again since for the next four years he will call Tulsa his home. See you soon.
One request: Please add a quick breakfast option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMSHGM, Manager at Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. We genuinely care about your experience when staying with us. Warm regards, Joe Gaudet, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    52
    25
    15
    8
See reviews for
41
34
15
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

When booking the hotel, we had requested early check-in and extra towels, as I was going to be in Tulsa for a job interview earlier than normal check-in and thought it would be nice to freshen up in the room. Unfortunately when we arrived we were informed that rooms were still being cleaned around 12:15. So I went to the nearest QuikTrip and changed clothes for my interview there. After my interview, returned to the hotel around 3:30pm and were greeted with a long line of irate customers at the front desk all being informed that rooms were still being cleaned even though it was 15 minutes to regular check-in time. We were told that if we gave them our cell number we would be called when our room was ready.

At this point, we decided to go shopping for a couple of hours and come back. We never received a call by 5:15, so we decided to head back to check-in. Upon our third arrival, there was now more angry people waiting for rooms in the lobby as well. We stood in line about 10 minutes while only 2 people were working a front desk that is clearly designed for 4. When we got to the front of the line, we were informed that our room was still not ready by a very nice young man working the front desk. (He was the only stellar part of our stay at the hotel and I wish I would have gotten his name as he should be commended for dealing with such a mess.) We asked if there was any way to get any room at this point since we had been travelling since 6am and had already went through the job interview earlier and he was able to change us into a handicapped room.

Upon arriving at our room, the room was very nice. Nothing wrong with that at all. We went to dinner and came back. We snoozed a bit after dinner and then got up about 11:30pm. About 11:45pm we got a knock on the door. It was hotel security that said my wife and I were being too loud in our room and all we were doing was carrying on a conversation in regular voices and watching TV at a low volume (they do have "quiet hours" after 9pm). So we went into quiet mode after the knock and figured out the people next door were the ones that called on us as they were talking loud enough to hear through the walls after we got quiet and we could hear them talking about it. Of course about 20 minutes after the knock I hear doors down the hall opening and shutting and in the morning when we were woke up around 6:30am (and were pretty sure others in the building were still sleeping) we heard kids crying and screaming up and down the hallway as they were leaving but they didn't get told to be quiet by security, so yes a double standard in quiet times on a weekend.

Check-out even though listed as being able to do so through the TV is unavailable as they have apparently have recently changed their TVs to HD and don't have the typical LodgeNet systems hooked up, so we checked-out using the front desk phone option without any problem.

While this is a very nice hotel with very comfortable beds, the service and treatment we received with the exception of the guy that checked us in, was very well below the typical Marriott standard and they should be very ashamed of their failure this past weekend (4/6-4/7/13).

Room Tip: Don't expect to get early check-in even if it is offered as it is not guaranteed. Even regular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMSHGM, Manager at Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for taking time to let me know about your visit. I share your frustration when things are not as anticipated. I make no excuse. We emptied a full house and turned around and sold out again. There were some delays in getting all the rooms ready. I sincerely apologize for the waits. My staff and I reviewed this scenario at length to identify best practices to get our rooms turned more quickly in similar circumstances. I also apologize for the mis-information about express check-out.. We switched over to Cox Cable to get more HD Channels and our website has since been updated to reflect we no longer have check-out via the television. Express checkout can be done via phone and your folio now sent via email. I thank you for bringing that to my attention. The next time you are in stop and say hello and I will do more to ensure your stay is satisfactory. Kind regards, Joe Gaudet, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We began staying at this hotel over 20 years ago periodically when in Tulsa. It has a massive amount of parking spaces, light, inviting lobby and very comfortable rooms. The hotel is showing it's age in places, but renovation is being done and the hotel seems to be getting an overall face lift. The carpet in our room, as well as the bath was a little dated, but certainly was still nice and clean. We booked the breakfast included price and had to wait for about 15 minutes as they were basically clearing everything from the first wave of diners to seat the "second wave" of diners. Very disorganized staff in seating for breakfast. The quality of food was excellent; however only one omelet maker and she certainly took her time, so I waited over 10 minutes once I made it to the front of the line to get an omelet. The bed was extremely comfortable, air conditioning worked great which was nice since our room faced the west and the sun was very warm coming through the windows. This is a very charming hotel and once renovations are totally complete I think it will rate a five star review.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from elevator bank and ice machines. A room in between these two locations would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It has been several months since we last traveled to Tulsa. We usually stay at Tulsa Marriott Southern Hills because of the convenience to shops, restaurants and casinos. Must to our delight, the lobby, reception and restaurant areas have all been updated. The transformation is wonderful. The lobby and restaurant areas are beautiful. The rooms are still top notch - very comfortable beds, flat screen tv, quiet and clean. We will continue to stay at Tulsa Marriott when we travel to Oklahoma.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel has some years but is in great condition. A spacious lobby and very welcoming. parking is free. There are plenty of eateries close by and ORU is just around the corner. I used the restaurant for breakfast only. The buffet is excellent and very attentive wait staff. The room was spacious with a great work area and flat screen TV. Plenty of lighting and a huge window. Bathroom was adequate. A couple of fixtures were loose and tub squeaked but not an issue. Loved the oversized showerhead. No noise whatsoever could be heard once inside the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Marriott Southern Hills is a lovely hotel, well-appointed with nice amenities. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are quieter than in most hotels. The lobby is being remodeled but even that was not too bad. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic, best I've ever had in a hotel. It was served until 11 am, which made it even better. This was my third stay at this hotel and if I return to Tulsa, I will stay there again.

Room Tip: I've not had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This Marriott has all the usual amenities. Some issues experienced with elevator. Enjoyed talking with staff... Charles the bellman really helpful. Will be nice when renovation done. Note the shuttle to airport was a selling feature for me but the airport is a half hour drive away.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
Free Parking, M...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tulsa Southern Hills
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
4.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tulsa Woodland Hills
Free internet...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tulsa - Warren Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Charming...
Show More
5.9 mi away
Renaissance Tulsa Hotel and Convention Center
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Tulsa-South/Medical District
Free Parking, M...
Show More
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tulsa Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills

Address: 1902 East 71st, Tulsa, OK 74136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public space. NEW LOBBY with latest design communal work spaces and enhanced menus with craft bar service. Full retail store on-site selling sundries and finer goods. Breakfast included in some rate plans. Fold-out single size sleeper chair in all king rooms. Riverparks and running trails nearby. Free Casino shuttle available to River Spirit casino nearby for groups of ten or more. Walk to Oral Roberts University and many 24/7 restaurants plus shopping nearby. Sports Bar on-site. Full service European style Spa Southern Hills Day Spa and Ross Edward Grand Salon for Hair both on-site. State of the art fitness center with indoor pool, whirlpool and rooftop sundeck ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulsa Marriott Southern Hills Hotel Tulsa
Marriott Tulsa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.