We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation almost done but seems like a nice property - has an airport shuttle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills

Save Saved
You added Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1902 East 71st, Tulsa, OK 74136   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #26 of 100 hotels in Tulsa
Mid Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Renovation almost done but seems like a nice property - has an airport shuttle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This Marriott has all the usual amenities. Some issues experienced with elevator. Enjoyed talking with staff... Charles the bellman really helpful. Will be nice when renovation done. Note the shuttle to airport was a selling feature for me but the airport is a half hour drive away.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    52
    25
    15
    8
See reviews for
41
33
16
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The bad:

Worn out rooms
Some of the things in the rooms are so old, like the outlet and switchplate covers, they don't look at all clean
Terrible service in the meeting space area; very disappointing
Horrible food selection in the only remaining restaurant that is open in the hotel; all fried, greasy 'bar food'

The good:

Nice flat screen television; decent channel selection
Good lighting throughout
Free wifi
Lots of outlets
Great bed
Decent pillows and linens
In room refrigerator
Good amenities (Bath and Body Works - always nice to get)
Nice fluffy towels
Good water pressure
Good HVAC system with adjustable vents (that was a nice plus)
Decent sized rooms
Quiet
Good work area
Very comfortable beds
Free shuttle service to the Tulsa Airport
Spa on site (didn't use it but it was nice to know it was there)


This is a HUGE hotel and it's undergoing a renovation. By the time you stay, the renovation may be complete. I did not notice room renovations, however. Just common spaces. I was there for a meeting of about 125 people and the meeting space was bad. Here were our issues:

Non functioning internet
High humidity in meeting space
Inadequate bathroom facilities
Very inattentive management help (service staff was friendly and attentive)
Bad lighting that was unable to be significantly adjusted to accommodate PPT presentations
Food was just 'okay'

Room Tip: My room faced the parking lot and the roadway and I didn't hear a thing. I slept great. Super co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMSHGM, General Manager at Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
I appreciate you taking time to send your comments. I share your frustration when things dont go as planned. I apologize we had an Internet connectivity issue in the meeting room you were in. I was apprised of this when it occurred - and we called our network administrator on his cell to come quickly to correct it. We genuinely care about your stay with us and I have reviewed the issues you mention so we might make corrections where needed. Again, thank you and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Joe Gaudet, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend and though the lobby renovations were not complete, the free buffet breakfast as an extra benefit was very good. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub and there was an excellent fitness room. The staff were all very welcoming and we enjoyed the lobby staff in there hard hats. The renovations are moving quickly. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed for the first time at the Tulsa Marriott Southern Hills. What you expect from a well-run Marriott, the rooms were comfortable and clean. and the lobby staff was extremely friendly. They also have karaoke in the bar on Friday nights which we participated in. They were still is full renovation mode but other than the lobby being busy and loud during the day. Can’t wait to come back and see all the changes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City, Kansas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed for the first time at the Tulsa Marriott Southern Hills. Really enjoyed the stay. Not only were the beds very comfortable, but the breakfast buffet had a wide variety of hot and cold choices, the gift shop had some great choices and the lobby staff was extremely friendly and
very knowledgeable. They also had karaoke at the bar. They were still undergoing some
construction but it didn't interfere with anything.
Will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Hotel website informs the prospective guest the hotel is undergoing a remodel, however it was not immediately apparent the pool was closed until after booking. The website says the lobby and guest rooms are or have recently been updated. Concierge level rooms are about $60 more than regular rooms. The difference in room size is only about four square feet. Concierge level allows access to the concierge lounge and free breakfast. Prior to arrival I called to see if the hotel could provide anything special for my friend's birthday. I was told flat out "No. It's not like we can just bake a cake." I had actually thinking of flowers or a bottle of wine, which I would have been happy to pay for but was not given the option of suggesting anything. The answer to something special was just "NO." Upon arrival it is apparent the lobby is under construction. But aside from the drink cups and other trash left behind in the former gift shop area construction was not a bother. The room was a real disappointment. It had not been updated any time recently. The carpeted kick plate was peeling from the wall, the bathroom sink was cracked, the bathroom door was water damaged about half way up. Asked for a room with a good view. what we got was a view of the roof of a lower floor. This was a "king concierge room" and it felt tiny. Breakfast the next morning was nothing special. The only bright spot was the chef preparing eggs to order. The food was pretty poor. Staff in the coffee area stood around for several minutes and did not seat a guest during a time when the hostess was otherwise occupied. Trash was scattered along the sidewalk in front of the hotel including cigarette packs, old beer cans, chip bags. All of which was still in place the next day at check out. Overall just blah. Not worth the money. The only reason to stay here is easy access to ORU.

Room Tip: Only reason to stay here is if you need to be on the ORU side of Tulsa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMSHGM, General Manager at Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. Regrets we are under a major renovation that included a resurfacing of the pool. I share your frustration with the inconvenince and I apologize we put you through that. We are on the far side of that now and we expect the re-imagined hospitality experience to be delightful. I've notified my staff of the concerns you mention and we are thankful that you chose our hotel for your visit. All the best through the Holiday and a blessed New Year. Joe Gaudet, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada oklahoma
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Hoyle is under construction, lobby is very noisy, however the attitude of the staff is great, they are all wearing hard hats and apologize for the noise, this is a great location, close to shopping at the mall in one direction and a new outdoor mall in the other, close to oral Roberts U and the riverside museums.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills

Address: 1902 East 71st, Tulsa, OK 74136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public space. NEW LOBBY with latest design communal work spaces and enhanced menus with craft bar service. Full retail store on-site selling sundries and finer goods. Breakfast included in some rate plans. Fold-out single size sleeper chair in all king rooms. Riverparks and running trails nearby. Free Casino shuttle available to River Spirit casino nearby for groups of ten or more. Walk to Oral Roberts University and many 24/7 restaurants plus shopping nearby. Sports Bar on-site. Full service European style Spa Southern Hills Day Spa and Ross Edward Grand Salon for Hair both on-site. State of the art fitness center with indoor pool, whirlpool and rooftop sundeck ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulsa Marriott Southern Hills Hotel Tulsa
Marriott Tulsa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Tulsa Hotel Southern Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.