We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...at least we found a room!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Tulsa West (I-44)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Tulsa West (I-44) to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Tulsa West (I-44)
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5525 W. Skelly Drive/I-44, Tulsa, OK 74107 (Formerly Days Inn Tulsa West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 100 Hotels in Tulsa
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...at least we found a room!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Very close to the highway...stayed here bc it got late and we needed to stop somewhere! Only other hotel was a motel 6....There were a lot of people hanging around outside, we believe based on other reviews, that we were given a "nice" room. It was not SO nice....wallpaper was peeling off in the bathroom...giant hole above the showerhead, but we needed sleep. And we did sleep. The beds were very comfortable and the staff at the front desk that night was very kind. Wouldn't go out of my way to stay again....ever. But I was delighted that I had a bed that night after driving 14hrs!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have been here about a month now and had a couple issues, but all issues have been handled quickly by the General Manager Amit Desai. He is very professional, polite and friendly. Their housekeepers Kathy & Jodi do a great job with our room. They are also polite & friendly. Some of the rooms need updating and they are in the process of doing just that. The bed is comfortable, the air conditioner works great. There is a pool that is kept clean. The property is off of I 44, but highway noise really can't be heard from inside the room. It's not far from downtown Tulsa. If you stay here and need anything make sure you talk to Amit about it. Like I said before he will handle it quickly.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit D, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Tulsa West (I-44), responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you, For taking your time out to review our hotel. We appreciate your stay with our hotel and i will also share this review with my staff. We thank you for letting us know issues you have had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

When reading reviews I always try to take into consideration the number of good & bad = different strokes/standard for different folks !!

Personnel very nice...but this was 1 of the worst hotels we have ever seen :( Really Dirty !!! In need of much/everything, total repair & updating !!! Scary electrical = fire hazard !! Wonder whether legit Health & Safety inspections ever done ??

Room Tip: Sorry to say...There aren't any !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit D, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Tulsa West (I-44), responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to let us know about your stay with our hotel. I am very sorry that your stay was pleasant with us. I will make sure that we correct all issues since we are under a major renovation. I have also checked and see that all inspection report are passed and valid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We needed a room for the night and went for low cost. Place is big and high traffic. Older and a bit run down, dirty hallways, smells of smoke. First room into was non smoking but reeked of cigarette smoke. Moved us without any trouble and got a great little room that was perfect for sleeping for the night. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Went through hotels.com and got what we wanted even though had to ask out of non smoke room that ree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit D, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Tulsa West (I-44), responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for writing review. We are sorry you had problem with smoke smell in room. Also i am glad to hear that we were able to move you to another room quickly with no trouble. Again thank you for staying with us looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I could not stay here. The first room we were given, the outside door was banged up and bent back in the corner, and left a large gap. The room next door had the same thing - it appeared as if something had crashed into the doors at some point in time. After walking in the room, we noticed the bed linens and towels were stained, ants in the bathroom sink and there trash stacked in the corner. We went to the front desk and asked for another room. The manager put on her best fake surprised expression when we told her the condition of the room.
She gave us another room, and while the outside door was not bent and broken, the room had dirty linens and smelled of urine .
Back to the front desk we went and told the manager we could not stay. We told her the conditions of the room and again with the fake surprised face, along with the excuse that she just arrived on duty. It was obvious that the room had been neglected for a long time before her shift, months or years I'm guessing. She refunded our money and we went elsewhere.
I do not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed overnight in Tulsa at this motel. Staff was friendly, room was clean, large with couch, King size bed, fridge, microwave, wi-fi, TV, hair dryer, Ironing board, iron, and was Pet Friendly. Breakfast of biscuits and gravy or cereal only. Although room was near Highway, it was quite. For the price was a good place to stay, and convenient to Tulsa South and west side. Plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit D, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Tulsa West (I-44), responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. I am glad you had a pleasant stay. The entire staff is here to ensure all of your needs are met while you are our guests. We all look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

On the surface, this hotel seems like a good deal- free wifi, free breakfast, cable-ready, all that good jazz. And if you're a new customer, it would be. But then the cracks begin to show. Issues with the door not shutting or locking properly (leave valuables at your own risk-housekeeper has been known to take liberties). I was minding my own business in my room- not even clothed- and the housekeeper took it upon herself to barge in without knocking. There is no sense of respect for privacy. Another time I was out on business during the day leaving my possessions in the room. Came back later that evening to find some possessions missing (expensive watch, a chew toy I had gotten for my dog, etc.). Worse part is, the managers/front desk staff dont seem to care. They just shrug it off. Also, they are pretty good at laying false accusations- we were told we were making too much noise and scratching up the walls, and put us in their "B" building- basically their poorer section. Oh, you would not believe the smell! Obviously, the more shady people stay there and with them come the usual smells that you come to expect, and there are telltale signs that the housekeepers dont put as much devotion into cleaning the "B" rooms as they do in the "A" rooms- paint peeling off the walls, off coloring on the sheets, and a slight infestation of bugs in some rooms. The towels get changed sporadically (you'd have to request that the keeper change them, or when you are in need of more toilet paper). We've requested to be put in "A" building several times due to personal needs (bad backs needing tubs-the "B" rooms have showers only) and they always tell us that they're full up (even though we can tell they have plenty of rooms available there. Also due to our bad backs we requested downstair rooms only, but they dont care about this either, giving us upstairs rooms in spite of us asking them politely and nicely not to. One more thing, they say they have free wifi- not all of them do. I have had difficulty connecting in some of the rooms, and when I ask them about it, they insist everything is in proper working order (without even double-checking their system). Their breakfast? Ugh, They dont even try in that area. The gravy is almost always too watery (I dont know about you but I like my gravy to be a little thicker in consistency). They serve the biscuits cold. They dont even change out the coffee filters. You're better off going down the street and paying a dollar for a McMuffin. In short. Dont do it. Stay far away. There are other hotels nearby (Super 8 or Motel 6) that are way better service wise and quality wise. Price is a little higher but you will be better off. Trust me. We even passed up a $55 room (Royal Inn Express) for them (we get a $62 rate here) out of loyalty, and this is how we're repaid. Shoddy business practices all around. And did I mention their head housekeeper seems to be under the influence of narcotics 24/7? No wonder things seem to come up missing around her. She even suggested once that I leave my laptop there while I'm running errands (I refused). No. Just no. We've decided to take our patronage elsewhere and I highly recommend you do the same.

Room Tip: All are terrible in all honesty, but if you absolutely must stay here, Rooms 109 upwards seem to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Tulsa West (I-44)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Tulsa West (I-44)

Address: 5525 W. Skelly Drive/I-44, Tulsa, OK 74107 (Formerly Days Inn Tulsa West)
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 100 Hotels in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Tulsa West (I-44) 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Tulsa West (I-44) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Tulsa
Tulsa Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Tulsa West (I-44), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.