We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel, fabulous suite, great bed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Downtown / Utica Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel Downtown / Utica Square to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel Downtown / Utica Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1324 S Main St, Tulsa, OK 74119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Tulsa
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
753 reviews 753 reviews
221 hotel reviews
Reviews in 270 cities Reviews in 270 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“Luxurious hotel, fabulous suite, great bed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I felt like a princess in my spacious and gorgeous suite.

The bed is so comfortable it was hard to get up in the morning.

There's a sofa and a chaise longue, a desk for working - which I spent a lot of time at - and the pod-style coffee machine made great coffee & tea!

The front desk staff were very helpful and they even have a shuttle on-call to take you to and from events.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 403 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown / Utica Square, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments. Your comments and link on your blog were especially nice. Thank you. I remember you very well, and I'm so glad you left with a wonderful impression of Tulsa. Best of luck on the rest of the challenge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    44
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
75
10
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our second trip to the Ambassador in as many weeks. Our experience was exactly the same both weeks- the hotel staff was consistently friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and well appointed. We have stayed in many hotels around the world but would rate the Ambassador on par with the best. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown / Utica Square, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you! Our staff and service are really what we're most proud of. We really appreciate your comparison, and we'll look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Amazing. Loved the bed the linens and the view. Wonderful stay. Stayed here after our wedding and everything about it was completely memorable. The staff was very accommodating trying to make our stay as comfortable and nice as possible. It will always be special to us.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown / Utica Square, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for such a special occasion! If you happen to celebrate your anniversary with us in the spring, please let us know, and we'll be sure to take extra good care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I sayed at the Ambassador twelve years ago on our wedding night. He planned a romantic staycation (we live in Tulsa) for us on Jan 19, and everything was perfect! The Ambassador assisted in scheduling a wonderful in-suite couples massages for us. Our dinner at The Chalkboard was PERFECT with stellar service and a wonderful meal. We used the complimentary transportation to go out for drinks in downtown Tulsa, and the driver was gracious enough to pick us up even though we called a little after the shuttle service had stopped running. The entire hotel was just as gorgeous as it was when we first stayed there, and every employee gave impeccable service. We definitely will not wait another 12 years to return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown / Utica Square, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
What a wonderful comment! So many things have changed around us, and we're glad that we can always be a reminder of that happy night twelve years ago. We sincerely hope to see you before 2025!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed at the Ambassador in December of 2012 on business

I had visited the restaurant in the hotel several times, but had never stayed there before. I had a last minute trip at the end of the year, and decided to try the Ambassador, and am very glad I did.

This is an old school hotel, in all the best ways. The rooms are big, even the standard rooms are large by today's standards. And they are decorated to feel comfortable and luxurious, an pleasant change from what you would find at a Hyatt or Hilton, etc.

Very comfortable bed, plush high thread count linens, nice bench in front of the bed, comfortable desk chair and nice reading chair, large closet, huge bathroom, the list goes on and on. Fabulous room, and not what I expected to find in Tulsa at all. Keurig coffee in the room, a dock to charge my iPhone, it was outstanding.

The service was impeccable, friendly and professional.

The bar in the restaurant has, without question, the best whiskey selection in the state, bar none. And they had made a special holiday bourbon blend with apples and cinnamon that was so delicious in an old fashioned cocktail.

All in all a wonderful stay and worth every penny.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown / Utica Square, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you, and I'm so glad you've found us. We live to hear such detailed comments as yours. Thank you for noticing. Being an independent, boutique hotel allows us the opportunity and the luxury of providing the kinds of things you mentioned, which are very hard to find, indeed. We'll look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wann, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We live just an hour from Tulsa but wanted to do something special for New Years, after reading reviews here I decided that a Tulsa getaway was in order. I booked two rooms one for my husband and myself and one for our friends who also just live an hour from Tulsa. Clay and I had one of the Ambassador Suites (we needed the extra room to entertain) and our friends has the standard King Room. Both rooms were lovely and quite roomy. I do not believe there is a bad room in the hotel :). We checked in New Years Eve and the guys at the desk were incredibly helpful. We started our evening with our traditional New Years Eve Pinochle game in our room, the Peppermint Martini's were a great addition this year! We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the Chalkboard (another great experience) and then returned to our room to enjoy the New Years Fireworks, the guys offered to shuttle us downtown but we were enjoying our time at the hotel so much we didn't want to leave. My husband gave the hotel the greatest compliment he gives, when we first arrived and while we were unpacking he breathed deeply and said I love this I can truly relax here, we don't need to go anywhere I would be content to just sit in this chair and read for a week. Thank you so much for a great New Years experience, we bring people into Tulsa for meetings from time to time and I won't hesitate suggesting the Ambassador!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hurley Ambassador Suite and it was wonderful given that we needed the extra room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown / Utica Square, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for spending your New Year's getaway with us. I shared your comments with our staff, and we agreed that your husband's compliment was one of the best we have ever received. As hoteliers trying to create a home away from home, we can't think of a better compliment. (And here is a Room Tip from us to you: If you ever need a room for a casual game of pinochle, be sure to check out the Hurley Library located next to the lobby. It is a cozy room adorned with historical artifacts and luxurious chairs, and is the perfect size for an intimate gathering.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talladega, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed one night at the Ambassador on December 30th. Had made earlier arrangements via email for an airport transfer and when we landed our ride was waiting right out front for us. The check in process at the hotel was quick and the staff were very friendly and accomodating. The exterior grounds were well kept and the lobby was beautiful. Our room was clean, spacious, and very enjoyable to stay in. I was shocked at how large the room was and how nice everything was in it. There were robes hanging in the closet, an iPod docking station, a Keurig machine with a selection of teas and coffees, and cold water waiting in the frig. Staff drove us to Utica Square and then picked us up - a girl could get used to that kind of service! Highly recommend staying here if you're in the area. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown / Utica Square, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay! I'm so glad you got to visit Utica Square. It's such a magical place in December with the holiday lights, Santa Claus, and festive Nutcracker displays. Thank you also for your nice words about our service. Your Escalade will always be waiting for you when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel Downtown / Utica Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Downtown / Utica Square

Address: 1324 S Main St, Tulsa, OK 74119
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tulsa
#5 Business Hotel in Tulsa
#6 Family Hotel in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Downtown / Utica Square 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Registry of Historic Places, the luxurious Ambassador Hotel is a true Tulsa treasure. It was established in 1929 to provide temporary housing for wealthy oil barons while they waited for their estates to be built. The Mediterranean-style property changed functions over the years until being restored into a quaint boutique hotel. Personalized customer service and large, elegant rooms make this one of the city's finest hotels. The wide range of amenities is sure to please the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Downtown / Utica Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel Downtown / Utica Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.