We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small museum. Big impact!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woody Guthrie Center

Woody Guthrie Center
102 E. Brady Street, Tulsa, OK
918-574-2710
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 61 attractions in Tulsa
Attraction Details
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Small museum. Big impact!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I am a retired museum curator and not much of a country music fan. I was blown away by this museum. Very impressive, excellent presentation! Biographical film introduction, gallery display, numerous interactive exhibits (featuring the music of Woody Guthrie) and vignettes of historic memorabilia. Professional and first class in every aspect. Small museum. Big impact.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very interactive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I had always been a fan of Woody Guthrie, but I learned so much about him by going to this museum. You can listen to recordings and stories of his life, learn about the dustbowl days, and listen to his songs recorded by other artists. They also show a great short film about him. Worth the price of admission.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this if you are visiting Tulsa.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I learned about this place from Trip Advisor. I went with 6 friends. We all enjoyed ourselves. It starts with a great movie about Woody. Songs he made famous are easy to listen to on headphones around the exhibit. Whatever your political point of view it's a fun place to go.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“There was so much to learn about Woody Guthrie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We visited the Woody Guthrie Center on 10/16/13. It was a Wednesday afternoon and we had to go five or six blocks away to find a parking space. All afternoon was not enough time for me. Many of the exhibits are interactive. The music bar has recordings of over 40 of his songs. His guitar, fiddle, and mandolin are on display. One wall has what I call the biography exhibit: maybe six screens with headsets and each screen has about six video clips. Because other people were using them too, I couldn't do it in chronological order. It is amazing to learn of his drawings, poetry, prose, and even paintings. The man was prolific. Anyone who has ever heard or sung "This Land is Your Land" will enjoy learning more about the man and his times.

Don't bother taking your camera: they don't allow photography.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Fitting Tribute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

There seems to be a new appreciation of Woody Guthrie in the last couple of years. The centennial of his birth was celebrated with considerable fanfare last year. His boyhood home in Okemah, Oklahoma is reportedly going to be rebuilt using the original lumber, and rare recordings are being reissued. Perhaps the best tribute to the heroic/tragic life of Woody Guthrie is this gleaming new, state-of-the-art center in Tulsa. It combines an archives with a museum that displays some of Woody's musical instruments, the original manuscript of "This Land is Your Land," and more. The center takes a couple of hours to fully explore - the interactive exhibits alone will require an hour. The fee is reasonable, the staff is friendly, and parking is adequate, conveniently located across the street. If you are a fan of our "American Radical Patriot," there is just one more word to say about the center than honors his memory: GO!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woody Guthrie Center also viewed

 

Been to Woody Guthrie Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woody Guthrie Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Woody Guthrie Center to your Saves list