We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hum?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Chico

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Chico
9825 E 21st St, Tulsa, OK 74129
(918) 663-7755
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #487 of 1,108 Restaurants in Tulsa
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Socorro, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hum?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The menu was what one would expect but the prices very fair.
The entrance needs cleaning.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Choctaw, Ok
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I haven't eaten at El Chico in a while. I don't remember them being this good. Glad we gave it a shot!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Really, El Chico?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I can't believe this made it on Trip Advisor's recommended places. Its average at best. The only reason I gave it an average rating is because the queso is really good. Other than that....its not very good. They fill your plates with lots of fillers like a huge pile of beans and dry rice, or a big piece of lettuce. If you're visiting Tulsa, I would definitely go elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
2 reviews
“Valentines Day was the best ever at this place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

My wife and I went in to this El Chico for Valentines Day. We were on a bit of a budget, so we decided to eat here, which was the best decision for V-day EVER!!! First we were met immediately with a sincere smile and pleasant greeting. We were set with in seconds it seemed like, and the host asked if this seat was acceptable for my lovely wife, and she said yes. My server, Madison, was bubbly, upbeat, precise, timely but allowed enough time between check backs for me to enjoy my meal with my wife. We got their special fajitas for 2, a table side guacamole, and these strawberry nachos for dessert. We got all that for 2, and tipped the waitress a 25% tip for under $40. We don't drink any more, but their drinks looked very refreshing. The manager came by and double checked on us, and thanked us for coming in. I plan on going here atleast once a month. I just wanted to let everyone know that this is the tex mex place to be at.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

It is OK, but for the same price there are so many more Mexican places in town that are so much better.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chico also viewed

 

Been to El Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Chico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.