We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Mongolian barbecue with fresh food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Genghis Grill

Genghis Grill
1619 E 15th St, Tulsa, OK
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #227 of 1,104 Restaurants in Tulsa
Cuisines: Mongolian
Restaurant details
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Mongolian barbecue with fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Tulsa Genghis Grill in the Cherry Street area is above average for the chain. Parking is available behind the restaurant but sometimes spaces are scarce. The staff is friendly and helpful. Overall, we like the food and this location which is very convenient to downtown.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Eh...it's ok for lunch.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

OK, so once you get past the harried waitstaff, you get to take your plate up and put your meal on it from a wilted looking salad bar of ingredients (many veggies were previously frozen). Then you habd it off to the cook and sit down and wait for the harried wait staff to bring you your food. I don't get the appeal. It's not quite a mongolian barbeque. Not really better. Value is questionable, it's a bit spendy for the quality, and why did I feel compelled to leave a tip when I did half the waiters job?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“good food, cranky old waitress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

our most recent visit, we had the most unfriendly waitress ever. To say she was rude would be an understatement. we still enjoyed our bowls, but my brother was so angry at how rude the waitress was, he did not want to even leave a tip. i left one anyway, but I don't feel like she deserved one cent of it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good choice, but loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you haven't eaten and a Mongolian style place before, here's the deal. You get a bowl, and a small cup for a sauce. They have a salad bar like area where you choose from a variety of protiens, vegetables, seasonings, and sauces. You load up your bowl and sauce cup, and hand it over to the staff and they cook it for you stir fry fashion.

So, if your food doesn't turn out well, it's kinda your own fault.

Genghis is one of the better places like this that I've been to. The food items appeared fresh, there were several choices of seasoning and sauces, so you have a range of choices to experiment with.

The staff is friendly, and available to answer questions.

The only complaint I have is that the environment seems to be designed to be loud. Loud to the point where it was hard to have a conversation with my wife. However, it's not so bad that we won't be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice experience..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Tried it number of times and will surely go again.. Good food for decent price... Service is pretty good too... The food freshly prepared infront of us. Love that part that there are so many options to choose from many options and can get it as mild or spicy as we like.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genghis Grill also viewed

 

Been to Genghis Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Genghis Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.