We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tulsa South/Bixby

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tulsa South/Bixby to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tulsa South/Bixby
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8405 E. 102nd St. South, Tulsa, OK 74133   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 100 hotels in Tulsa
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One Night Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel room is big and clean and comfortable. The area is quiet, but very close to the main street/ hiway. There's plenty of restaurants and fast food stores, groceries, and is also almost next to te Regal Convention Center, and a big movie theater.

Room Tip: Always stay at least on the second floor. Ground floors , especially if close to the lobby is almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
22
3
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

After reading other reviews I can't believe Shannon(breakfast lady) still has a job. Her customer service is the worst I have ever encountered. Two days in a row breakfast was out by 9am. I was told at checkin that breakfast is served until 10am. The first day I asked Shannon to restock the buffet, and she brought out a little. The second day she refused to bring any more food out. She told us 9:30 is when she picks the food up. There were about 20 other people eating still. My girls had to split an egg because it was the only source of protein left. There wasn't enough cereal for one bowl. I complained to the desk and she said there was nothing she could do. I was treated like I owe them something. I guess my expectations were too high for a holiday inn. Will stay at the fairfield around the corner next year. My husband took pictures of the buffet at 9:30 am. I'll post them.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tulsa South/Bixby, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Jill7879,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I'm glad to know that you liked our location and rooms. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the unacceptable service you experienced during breakfast. I will make sure that your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate departments and be reviewed. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Checked in on time and was told the room I had requested was not available. I had asked to be on the top floor away from the elevator. The hotel put me on the first floor right next to the stairs. The first night we called the front desk because the noise above us was so bad my 5 year old could not sleep. Afer about 15 minutes and no improvement I got dressed and went to the front counter. THe associate named Shannon said she could not ask the guest above us to keep their small children quiet. I asked her to have her general manager call me during my stay and this did not happen. The next day I was told by the associate at the desk that my room would be comped dor one night and that did not happen. The place is new and looks good, just of Memorial. Good location but the sevice is not worth the stay. THe breakfast room was filthy, and the associate in charge of the breakfast did not refill anything, coffee was even empty. I took pictures of the floor, I will try to upload, filthy! Definitly would not stay here again.

Room Tip: I made a request and it did not help, would suggest top floor away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tulsa South/Bixby, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear bigred1972,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This HIE is perfectly placed off the South Memorial Drive, for all shopping, and a large movie theater is opposite. There are numerous eateries along the street. A few blocks away is the Woodlands Hill Mall. It is very quiet so external noise is not a problem.

We stayed for five nights, and the staff were as expected, friendly and helpful, but I do believe the need a little motivation to get more done, and be on top of their particular choice of work. The maid service that clean the rooms, I understand will never be highly paid, and their enthusiasm wains as the day progresses, with more and more customers stay. Our room was completely overlooked on one occasion, on other days either towels or soap or shampoo was forgotten, thus a call to the front desk was required. The room itself, was fine, modern, and fairly well equipped. The carpet was never fully vacuumed, for example around the table or under the beds. I do wish that all hotels would use larger waste bins, after all, pizza boxes never fit the bin, and usually drops contents to the floor.

The breakfast was as one might expect, never the most impressive or tasty, but we ate there daily usually on cereals and coffee.

There is a pool, and the kids will like it, it's fairly small, and does have a sun lounge outside. The fitness room is basic, equipment was fairly new, and I never saw anyone use it surprisingly.

One major criticism was the energy saving thermostat in the room, as it operates on movement. Clearly, if you leave the room, it turns off, or if you are a sound sleeper unlikely to move, it turns off. This was a major issue for my wife.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tulsa South/Bixby, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear BHEBfoodie,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I appreciate the kind words about our staff and I am pleased that you liked your room as well as the convenient location of our hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced due to our motion sensor thermostat. We try our best to ensure all guests have a great stay and undisturbed sleep. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

I would just like to say thank you to the management here and the front desk people. These people have been so kind. Right when we got here our one year old daughter got ahold of a pen and wrote on a bench. We tried our best to clean it and got it looking better. We were really worried we would have to pay for the bench but they worked with us and where only going to charge us $50. But the manager came to the room personally and looked at it. He told us we had nothing to worry about! We had done a great job cleaning it and that we would not be charged. He made the rest of our stay more relaxed because we had nothing to worry about. Also people have reviewed that the rooms aren't cold enough...well that's just not the case with our family. It is cold in our room. Very cold! I was worried about coming here and not having a cold room because of reviews and I even brought a fan from home. But there is no need for our fan. We love this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

New, updated, contemporary with dark espresso furniture, green/beige/white decor. Very nice in appearance and clean enough we felt comfortable walking barefoot or letting the children lay on floor to color. Bathroom has very large shower head and a contemporary sink that was about 4' off ground, no joke. Not counter, just sink. Beds in our room were queen, tall, standing approximately 3' off floor, large headboards and comfortable. Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, blow dryer and Internet access. Room stayed dark however thermostats are locked on energy saver. Pool, whirlpool, laundry room and fitness center offered and they were nice. Nice safe neighborhood, minutes away from shopping and dining and a theater across the street. Very quiet, no road noise. I can stay just about anywhere but I'm a stickler for customer service, after all, that's why we pay $80 plus a night, for someone to take care of us. That being said, we had housekeeping trouble too. Our towels were taken but not replaced, wash cloths replaced but laid on counter for me to fold and put away. Shampoo and conditioner did not get replenished and shower, floors and tables were left untouched as well. I had to get all the items and put then away and dealt with our dirty room ourselves. In the morning, Breakfast is served, however though the breakfast lady was nice, she lacked common sense and desire to do her job in my opinion. she was very very slow, kept leaving and not returning and looked like she had just crawled out of bed with bed head. Biscuits, no gravy. ( her response...we don't offer that.). We always stay at HIE, and yes they do. fruit basket no fruit and every single table was dirty. Greasy hand prints, biscuit crumbs and all. We cleaned our own table, sent her off to bring back out the fruit basket and milk and someone else also asked for gravy with no response. There had been sugar spilled all over one counter and she would simply walk by and look away. Trash was overflowing. When we finally spoke to the front desk about our concerns, they directly went to this girl, sent her over to us and she asked "was there something you needed?". To me, that was unprofessional, a manager should have pointed and told her to take care of her dining room without confronting us. Having helped manage a business myself, I would have had a nice chat with housekeeping and breakfast chic about what they get paid for and what we customers are paying for. They are there to care for us, not us fend for ourselves. Kinda have mixed feelings about this place. I think if they can train their staff better and hire those that desire to take care of others, I would have given this an excellent rating, but if I wanted this, I would have stayed home. so if you don't mind taking care of yourself, then it is a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had three couples from out of town stay here for the weekend. We had an initial glitch with the reservations, but once I finally was able to speak with the manager, the issue was quickly resolved.
The rooms are clean, a nice size, and in a good location for south Tulsa. But there is a MAJOR problem. The thermostat has an energy saving sensor connected to it. So, if there is no movement in the room, the thermostat shuts down the Air conditioner. Now this isn't a problem when you are gone from the room. BUT it is a problem during the night. Unless you get up every hour or so, the A/C shuts down and the room becomes very warm. I am all about energy conservation, but part of the reason you pay for a room is to have it at a comfort level that allows a good night sleep. Not so at the Holiday Inn Express in Bixby.
We won't be having anyone else spend the night when they come for a visit at this Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tulsa South/Bixby, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear edpaytontulsa,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your wonderful comment regarding cleanliness and location of our hotel.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the motion activated air conditioning. I understand the discomfort this caused you. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tulsa South/Bixby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tulsa South/Bixby

Address: 8405 E. 102nd St. South, Tulsa, OK 74133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 100 hotels in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tulsa South/Bixby 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tulsa South/Bixby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tulsa South/Bixby
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tulsa South/Bixby Hotel Tulsa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tulsa South/Bixby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.