We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One mess after the other...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tulsa Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tulsa Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Tulsa Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 S Boston Ave, Tulsa, OK 74103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Tulsa
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One mess after the other...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I wanted to have a romantic night away from the baby to celebrate our anniversary - and to get a good night's sleep - much needed. Well, I wish I could say that the Courtyard was that place. It was not.

First, they put us in a room by the elevators so we could hear the swishing and pinging through the walls. After calling down to request a room move, we were told that there were no available rooms and we would have to stay put. Fine. We started to unpack and dress for our night out.

Stripped down, we hear the door to our room open. Thank God I had put the deadbolt swing lock on or else we would have been walked in on by complete strangers while we were standing there naked! The front desk had given working keys to a completely different couple. They were equally mortified.

As we left for our dinner, we came upon a couple who had been stuck in the elevator trying to get to their room. Their keys weren't working and they were going up and down, over and over again, trying to get to their room on the 7th floor. The wife was really mad and the husband told us that he'd had to walk up the stairs three times. (Keys are used to access each floor in the elevator.)

When we returned from dinner, our key would no longer work in our door so we had to get a new set of keys from the front desk. Then, when we tried to check out the next morning, we got a bill for valet parking. We had parked on the street overnight and had not used the valet parking.

When we asked the front desk to remove the charge from our credit card, she went down and got the parking lot manager who accused us of lying. He made us show him our car keys and still didn't believe us. It was only after we explained to him that they gave our room to another couple that he believed that the black car in the parking lot was not our white Toyota!

But guess what...it's not over. We just checked our credit card statement and we are still being billed for the valet parking AND they have the other couple's address as our mailing address? My husband is on the phone with them trying to get this straightened out AGAIN.

In other words - the rooms were clean but that front desk is a mess.

We will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressGM74012, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tulsa Downtown, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the service issues you experienced during your stay. I am very sorry that you were unable to get a sound night sleep and the front desk failed to meet your expectations. I do sincerely value the feedback as the hotel continues to improve our service and amenities. At Marriott, we are committed to providing exceptional service and when we fall short we feel that has a team we have failed. The leadership team in the hotel is committed to resolving issues such as these from happening again. – Tyler Lamm, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    71
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
62
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This Marriot in the old Atlas Life Building was perfect for our stay in Sept.2013. Just the 2 of us exploring the many great Art Deco sights/architecture gems located here in downtown Tulsa OK. Who would have thought this would be such a treasure. The hotel is in the heart of the downtown district with everything we needed to relax and explore with a taste of retro-urban. Nice hotel cocktail lounge on the 2nd floor with small dinner menu available and super breakfast down on the first floor at the Atlas Grill. Best for mature explorers/visitors.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room as far from the ventilation unit outside between the neighboring building as poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its relationship with the Tulsa Ballet and its location close to the Performing Arts Center. We came to see the ballet this weekend. The free airport shuttle allowed us to save the cost of a rental car and the valet parking fees. The room we had was spacious and had a wonderful view of the city. The only downside was the lack of a complimentary breakfast and dining facilities open all day. We did have our breakfasts at the Atlas Grill in the same building and were within walking distance to several good restaurants. All in all, a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room away from the elevator. We had a large king room on a corner which affo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great historic building and for the money pretty spacious rooms. The location is on the heart of downtown so you could walk to a number of restaurants and shops. The drawback it is a little more expensive then other hotels and does not offer any amenities like a pool, continental breakfast and free parking. There are other hotels that offer more for less with a great location as well. The only difference in this hotel is that it is an historic building so the architecture is neat.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luisnazario2004, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tulsa Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. Feedback as yours make us a better hotel and Company. I am sorry that our property did not meet all of your expectations regarding not having a pool. As a Historic property this was not able to be done. Being in the heart of Downtown, parking has its limitations. We provide the option of valet parking to give our guest the assurance of having the vehicle in a closed and safe facility. We pride ourselves in giving excellent service. If you decide to stay with us please give us a call. I am sure we can make your next stay with us a better one. Thank you once again for your review.

Luis Nazario
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel is well located in downtown having business center like bank of Oklahama, heat office of Chase, Lion king hall etc. Food is not having much variety but if you want to stay in downtown then this is the best choice. It offers complimentary airport drop and pickup services.

Room Tip: Rood side facing rooms are good. Other rooms have poor view as this hotel is surrounded by big build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

If you are going to an evening show at the Tulsa Performing Arts Center, I would highly recommend this hotel. It is about two blocks away and the entire walk is on a well-lit sidewalk.

The biggest complaint I would have is getting to the hotel by car. Both times we have stayed there, there was some sort of event downtown where the roads all around are blocked off. We got valet parking both times, so I have no idea where you would park if you didn't get valet.

The hotel lobby is very nice and the staff was very friendly. There is a little convenience store and a coffee shop/restaurant in the lobby area. I like the restaurant area, it is like a lounge area and there are booths with their own televisions. The food is pretty good but the menu is limited. They serve Starbucks coffee and have lattes and all the other "fufu" coffees.

The rooms are nice and clean. Since this is an historic building, the rooms we stayed in were oddly-shaped and had old windows, but it added character. Wifi worked fine. We were near the elevators the last time we stayed, but I didn't notice any noise from them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

When going to Tulsa, Oklahoma this Courtyard by Marriott is worth the trip to Downtown Tulsa. We have stayed in other Tulsa Marriott Hotels, they are nice but not anything special - some do not even have FREE internet available. This Marriott is in the Atlas Life Building. The 'Historic' Floor (I believe the seventh Floor) has the original doors & probably looks the same as when the building was built in 1922 with exception to rooms being updated with hotel type furnishings. The only negative (actually in all the Courtyard Marriott's we have stayed in) is the 'Bistro'. Not open all during the day & when open they are only have two people - cook & waiter. In addition, a Starbucks that is open “24 hours" but, when Bistro is closed the Marriott check-in people make your coffee/tea. This is not anything that will keep us from staying @ this Marriott or any other Courtyards by Marriott. There are quite a few restaurants within walking distance that are very good & one in the Atlas Building. I would have given Marriott Downtown Tulsa a five if not for the Bistro; however, as I said “it’s not anything that will keep us from staying @ this Marriott or any other Courtyards by Marriott”.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tulsa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tulsa Downtown

Address: 415 S Boston Ave, Tulsa, OK 74103
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tulsa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique. Historical. But with all the modern conveniences the Courtyard by Marriott Tulsa Downtown can offer. Choose from 119 spacious guestrooms, equipped with free high speed internet, high definition flat screen TVs, plenty of natural light and an ample work area while you stay. Be sure to visit our state of the art fitness center, or dine with us for breakfast, lunch or dinner in the Bistro. We even offer a wide selection of wine & spirits as well! It's all up to you...come stay with us and let us take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tulsa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tulsa Downtown Hotel Tulsa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tulsa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.