We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room, Comfortable Beds, A Little Disorganized” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Tulsa City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Tulsa City Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Tulsa City Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 W. 7th Street, Tulsa, OK 74119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Tulsa
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean Room, Comfortable Beds, A Little Disorganized”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked our stay for two nights last weekend. The first night was fine and check-in didn't take very long. We didn't get back to the room until after 9pm the next night and our rooms keys wouldn't work. We also thought we heard voices inside our room. We went down to the desk to confirm our room number and found out that "the system" had accidentally checked us out of our room and they checked someone else into it! I had put all of our personal belongings into the closet, so the new guests didn't notice until they opened the closet.

Nothing was stolen, but it was still quite an annoying way to end a long day. The front desk clerk re-made our keys and they didn't work, then we tried again and they still didn't work, then tried a third time and she made them in the back room and those finally worked.

We were given a coupon good for two breakfast meals at the Boulder Grill for the next morning.

Overall, I really liked the hotel, just want to share my experience about their little mix-up that could have been a major mix-up if any of my personal belongings were missing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tulsa City Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Tripreveiwer823:

Thank-you for being so gracious about your unfortunate mix-up. Please know that this has been brought to the attention of both our GM, Ken Morgan, and our Front Office manager, Maggie Ledbetter, to see how this situation can best be avoided in the future. We are delighted that this did not ruin your overall experience with us and we so appreciate your additional positive comments.

We look forward to your return to Tulsa and the Holiday Inn City Center.

Safe travels,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    56
    32
    17
    12
See reviews for
44
42
13
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Finding a nice hotel room with a balcony is seemingly difficult in Tulsa, but the Holiday Inn City Center did not disappoint. The hotel is either fairly new or recently renovated, and it is connected to The Boulder Grill, which serves lunch & dinner. Because it is downtown, you must park in the connected parking facility. Your room will automatically be charged $7 per day to cover the cost of parking. This is actually quite nice, as you don't have to fuss with your card when entering & exiting the garage. You have in & out privileges as well. Room service is available both through the hotel and through The Boulder Grill, and you may charge to your room easily. Another nicety was the ability to go to the lobby at any time of day or night and pick up drinks & snacks. Just ask the desk to charge it to your room, and you don't have to worry about having quarters for those darned vending machines! The rooms are ample enough, and the beds were quite comfy. There is a lovely coffee shop (Foolish Things Coffee Co) that is within walking distance from the hotel, and it is also very close to the BOK Center. Although we had a small issue with our room in the beginning, the staff took great care of us, and we continued to receive excellent service from all those we encountered. In fact, we received acknowledgement & smiles from nearly everyone on staff, which is rare in hotels these days. If you are headed to Tulsa, or even another small town nearby, The Holiday Inn at City Center is a superb choice for accommodations!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are available on the 15th floor only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tulsa City Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Melany:

Thank-you for being so thorough in your lovely comments. We are truly trying to create a 'home away from home' in downtown Tulsa for our guests and your comments show we are headed in the right direction.

Rest assured, there will be a warm welcome awaiting you the next time you come to town and we so look forward to seeing you again.

Safe travels,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Conveniently located in downtown Tulsa, my room was large, well furnished, and extremely clean. In addition to the wonderful hotel accommodations, my experience with guest services was phenomenal. After accidentally booking an incorrect reservation, the front desk staff (Joshua Covington) exceeded my expectations of customer service. Without me even requesting, Mr.Covington went out of his way to make several phone calls on my behalf, send faxes and transfer my reservation. This made my stay in Tulsa so much more convenient and less stressful! I travel extensively, and this is one of the best customer service experiences I have ever had! The friendly customer service demonstrated by Mr. Covington and the rest of the Holiday Inn front desk staff is to be applauded and I will definitely recommend this location to all of my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tulsa City Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Julie:

We just want to thank-you for your kind words, especially about our very own Josh, who we are very proud of. Your comments have gone a long way to prove that we are moving in the right direction of offering a first-class experience for a reasonable price within downtown Tulsa.

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to comment so favorably on your experience and look forward to welcoming you back with us again in the not too distant future.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The room was small but clean enough, and the location was good if you're going to see a show at the BOK Center, but the service was shockingly terrible. It was mishap after mishap. First upon check-in they tried to charge me $30 more than the price I had booked online. I had to ask for a manager to work out that problem. They begrudgingly gave me the price on my emailed receipt. Our room keys did not work on the first try any time we used them. In fact, after returning from a concert, we were locked out of our room for over an hour. They had to take the door knob off the room and relocate us in the middle of the night. No apology was offered, and a manager refused to see me in the morning. I had to call and email three times before I could even speak to anyone about the incident. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tulsa City Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Fayette2012,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Tulsa, OK.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hotel is downtown so the feel is downtown and all that means. Easy access off of highway system. Room was nice and newer and clean. Front desk staff was very polite and helpful. Restaurant doubles as a bar at night so it has that sort of feel to it, but we ate b'fast twice and it was fine, not crowded and service and quality was good. Room was on 6th floor facing downtown and was quiet and comfortable. Parking garage is sub terrainian and feels that way (you'll get it when you go there), not horrible but glad to exit it. Ordered room service one night and it was great (Thai Chicken Salad). I guess I expected a little less (not a huge HI fan and was there on a group deal) and got a little more. Enjoy, you will be fine.

Room Tip: Upper floors seemed to be quiter ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tulsa City Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Peter:

Thank-you so much for your kind response. We have worked hard to offer the kind of excellent service that you have mentioned,throughout the property, and your comments will go a long way to endorsing the changes we have made.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Tulsa and Holiday Inn City Center in the near future.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Loads of extra charges
Subtract things I come to expect from the US Holiday Inn
Clean room and breakfast are just two of the important ones.

Extra charge for parking
Pillows way to hard to sleep in
Room 401 and Sunday Church bells woke me before 8am Sunday morning

Front desk failed at every question I had but blamed it on the computer :-(. ( I'm a computer guy )

Oh well, you win sometimes and then other times you don't

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tulsa City Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear NWA-Travler,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

From dirty rooms, to rude front desk people. This hotel does not cater to their customers. The hotel is not close to anything downtown, and could really stand some room for improvement. The restaurant as well is overpriced for what you get. Would not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tulsa City Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Justinhill2,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. The issues you have raised about the rooms will definitely be addressed and appropriate actions will be taken. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Tulsa City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Tulsa City Center

Address: 17 W. 7th Street, Tulsa, OK 74119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Tulsa City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Holiday Inn in downtown Tulsa. 221 rooms each with 32" LCD TV's, pillow top mattresses, upscale furniture, and cordless phones. Boulder Grill Restaurant and Lounge with outdoor patio. Pool with retractable roof for year round swimming. Fitness center, business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Tulsa City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Tulsa City Hotel Tulsa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Tulsa City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.