We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tooted as the best pizza...well maybe for Tulsa” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Momma's Downtown Tulsa

Joe Momma's Downtown Tulsa
114 South Elgin Ave., Tulsa, OK 74103
918.794.6563
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 1,088 restaurants in Tulsa
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tooted as the best pizza...well maybe for Tulsa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Being from Chicago we're very bias about pizza because we have some AMAZING options but we're on business in Tulsa and were staying downtown. Thought we'd give it a shot. Had the fried pickles and Joe Momma's Pizza bread for appetizers. The pickles were sliced really thin and had only a hint of pickle with lots of ground pepper in the batter, wasn't our favorite. The pizza bread was pretty tasty, although the end pieces could have used more cheese.

We ordered the "Natalie Portman", essentially a veggie pizza. The crust couldn't make up its' mind if it was thick or thin crust and the sauce didn't have much flavor. The toppings were fresh tasting. We ended up not eating half the pizza and finishing the pizza bread which tasted much better. Colleague had the ceasar chicken wrap and it was also pretty average.

Some reviewers stated that the pizzas are cooked in a wood stove which is incorrect., it's a gas brick oven. When we arrived the gas actually went out and we almost had to go to another restaurant because the oven wasn't working for half an hour.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    26
    29
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, KS 66725
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience. We will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Place was packed when we got there. We were seated at the bar, and the waitress came and got us when our table was available. Sometimes if we eat someplace "hip and trendy", and because we are 50 years old, I feel like we always get seated next to the bathroom or kitchen door. They didn't seem to have a problem, so we were seated in the middle of the restaurant close to the front of the house. Entire staff was very helpful. Crowd included families with children, couples, single parents with children, and groups of friends meeting after work. Our pizza was very good, perhaps a bit less toppings and sauce than I prefer. All food being delivered to tables around us looked very good as well.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, MD
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Pizza place - had great Build your own Pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

For under $11 with tax, had Build Your Own Pasta, with bowties, garlic & oil, meatballs, black olives, mushrooms and artichokes. It was excellent! Both pizza and pasta have "build your own" options with varied sauces, cheese (including a vegan option) and a wide variety of topics. Downtown location had a kids' birthday party on a Saturday morning. This place also owns Back Alley BBQ. Service was decent. Wish they had a wider variety of non-alcoholic drinks, such as bottled water, Non-alcoholic beer, fruit juices, etc. Just fountain drinks and alcoholic drinks. They do have delivery available. Call the restaurant first, and they have a delivery service for area restaurants (not 742-DINE).

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very tasty pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Home of the Incenterator Pizza Challenge. Loaded with every pepper you can think of. Scotch Bonnets being the worst culprit. Ordered one to bring home to my son in Albuquerque. Opened the box when the waitress brought it to the table and it burned my eyes. HOT STUFF!
My husband ordered the sausage pizza. Very nice with flavor and texture.
I had the homemade Chicken Tortellini. It was also very good.
We will return with my son to try for the Challenge next time.

Ample parking right across the street.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great pizza (including Gluten free!), nice atmosphere, service was a little thin.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011 via mobile

We have repeatedly eaten at the best pizza places in New York and I must admit although this place is not quite as good we felt the pizza had strong similarities. The atmosphere is fun. Tuesday nights there are some great specials. The waitstaff seems a little disorganized. All in all a great place (esp. if it's a slow time).

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Momma's Downtown Tulsa also viewed

 

Been to Joe Momma's Downtown Tulsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Momma's Downtown Tulsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.