We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always changing, always wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gilcrease Museum

Gilcrease Museum
1400 Gilcrease Museum Road, Tulsa, OK 74127
918-596-2700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 53 Attractions in Tulsa
Type: Art Museums, Gardens, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's largest collection of art from the American West is housed at this museum, which is also well stocked with Native American artifacts and artwork. Thematic gardens reflect the gardening styles of different time periods.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always changing, always wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Gilcrease offers its permanent collection, visiting artists and a wonderful restaurant! Over the years, Gilcrease has changed and is now expanding even more. The collections are so beautifully displayed and the explanations are simple enough for a youngster to understand. The restaurant overlooks the beautiful Osage Hills and the food is a little different than what you would find at the roadside restaurant of America. Where else can you find a Bison Burger?

A few hours wandering this beautiful museum is certainly time well spent!

P.S. It should be noted here that Bank of America offers a plan to its cardholders to visit museums across the country on the first weekend of each month...free! Check it out and add some museums to your travel plans.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    60
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“If you are alien in usa is a must, it change your view of indians and cowboys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Thid is a self man made museum based on a lifetime pickup. What i must apreciate was the way i feel quite diferent sbout the west usa concepts, those concepts we get from too much cowboys movies in my sweet europe. From paitings and photos and records we began to feel that someone was wrong back then... Too wrong

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Three words: Vista Buffalo burger.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The gallery was very impressive, definite must see.
There are a lot of nice things to buy at the souvenir store.
The restaurant was outstanding.

The Vista Buffalo burger is one of the best burgers I have ever eaten as of today. Definitely in my top 3's.

Last but not least, the service was probably one of the best and most pleasant we have ever had, the waitress, Melissa, did an amazing job and our meal couldn't have been better.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Attended a wedding here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The museum is spacious and lovely. It has lots of artwork from the old west and honors Oklahoma history

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful! Well worth the visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you are interested in Western and Native American art, this is THE place for you! Inside and out, the grounds are peaceful, the old caretaker's former owner's home is beautiful as well.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilcrease Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gilcrease Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilcrease Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.