We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Five Star BBQ & Steakhouse

Five Star BBQ & Steakhouse
619 N 8th Ave, Stroud, OK 74079-3239
918-987-0227
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Stroud
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Dripping Springs, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

On a road trip from Texas to Indiana, we made it to Stroud, OK before calling it a day. What a lucky break. The Best western clerk directed us to Five Star and we soon found out why. It's
a local favorite with good food, good service and good prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mitchell, KY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I-40 find for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Not that many American road trippers head west on I-40, and even fewer think of stopping for a meal in Stroud, OK.

That is an all-American shame.

The Five Star BBQ and Steakhouse, right off the Stroud exit, is a find worth celebrating. We found it full of locals -- cops, families and tradesmen. We probably were the only folks just passing through.

And though we had to wait 5 minutes or so more than usual for our orders to produce plates in front of us, how could we complain about perfect pulled pork, perfect brisket, great green beans and the best fried okra I've had in years? (Well, OK, fried okra isn't easily found where I live.) The unsweet tea was the real, brewed deal, and the sweet tea was the over-the top sugared, brewed variety that has set southern belles swooning for decades.

We had no choice but to stop chatting and start eating once the food arrived. We didn't know then, but it was the best meal we would have in several days. So our conversation sounded like "um," "humm," and "uhhhm" for a half hour or so, and then we drifted back into English.

Road food can be like children: It fills you with joy, or it fills you with regret. The Five Star falls into the joyful category. Arrive with 10 bucks or so in your pocket, and leave happy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean atmosphere & good BBQ.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Service was a little slow, but friendly. Sort of busy and seemed understaffed for a Saturday night. Split a plate with my friend, so you get plenty of food. It was tasty if you like a smokey BBQ. I prefer a sweet BBQ. The coleslaw was good. If you are a senior citizen, the prices are super great! But the non senior prices are average. But since you get so much to eat on the non senior meals, you can save $ by sharing. Overall, pleasantly surprised since the review before mine was negative.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Going down hill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I don't know if its had a change in ownership or what but the quality of food and the service has gone down to the point we will not be returning. This is a great halfway point to meet my parents at to get dinner on occasion. The past few months we have eaten here at least 10 times and everytime have been disappointed with the bad food or frustrated at the rude and lack of service. Don't eat here if you can avoid it. Really dissapointed. This place use to have a nice atmosphere and great food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good catfish and great mashed potatoes and gravy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Love their Friday night all-you-can-eat catfish! The food is really good, but the service tends to be pretty slow. The restaurant itself is not anything fancy, more of a small-town cafe...which is basically what it is. I would definitely recommend the food...just not if you're in a hurry.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Star BBQ & Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Five Star BBQ & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Star BBQ & Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.