We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New management has made improvements...more work needed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Stillwater

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Stillwater to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Stillwater
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 East McElroy, Stillwater, OK 74075   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Stillwater
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New management has made improvements...more work needed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent the night here after a long sweaty day rearranging a storage unit, only to find the room Air conditioning was not working. The property was previously run down but recently given a face lift.....beauty is only skin deep in this case. We advise you not to male this your first choice if rooms are scarce in town,due to the fact that if you get a bad room there won't be open rooms to move to.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StillwaterPlazaGM, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Stillwater, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
I am sorry to hear about the issues with your room during your stay. If you could please contact me, I would like more information on your stay (such as room number and stay dates) You can email me at sehaley@wyndham.com, or at the property at 405.377.7010. As you noted to our renovations, we have worked very hard to improve everyone's stay at this hotel. Although we cannot prevent all maintenance issues from happening, there should have been better options to handle your situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    87
    49
    40
    10
See reviews for
121
29
10
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Stillwater Plaza Hotel on July 5 thru July 8th 2012 during a recent baseball tournament. We had a block of rooms on the 2nd floor.

Let's talk about the positives of this hotel:
1) Great location if you need to be close to the University or the center of the town. Lots of places to eat and shop.
2) They had great beds. Good linen and one of the best mattresses I have slept on at a hotel of this class (it was a Beautyrest)
3) Towels smelled clean and fresh.
4) Self serve cold breakfast was provided. It included coffee, juices, milk, ceral, muffins, bagels, yougart's and waffels. Food was served in a clean, self serve open area. Tables and chairs were somewhat stained and worn. The dividing walls were not finished and had no hand rails.
4) Hotel must be built solid with lots of noise reducing insulation. We had a dozen 16 year old boys and I never heard a peep. Rooms were very quiet, and I know the kids were not very quiet.
5) Plenty of hot water.
6) Room AC worked well.
7) Nice 40" flat screen TV with good selection of entertainment channels in each room.
8) Each room has built-in refrig and coffee maker.
9) Room desk and night stands had a good number of accessible power outlets so you can recharge your phone/laptops/pads without standing on your head or unplugging something. I'm always surprised at the number of hotels that have only one or two power outlets in the rooms that are readily accessable.

Let's talk about the negatives:
1) Public spaces were really, really worn. Carpet was stained, lots of missing floor tiles and the public bathrooms are down right nasty.
2) Property has only one (1) elevator. It was very beat up and worn.
3) Bathrooms in the rooms were remodeled, but the remodel work was shabby and looked thrown together. They used quality surface materials for the remodel, but the workmanship was awful (ie tile miscut, uneven and grout that was multi color, walls were painted but you could still see the rusted color stains on the metal doors and trim). Walls were all freshly painted, but the wall surface texture was rough and coarse. The drywall guys did not sand the wall textures down to make them attractive and smooth. The remodel just did not look good and left you with a "thrown together look".
4) Ice Machines, vending machines and washer/dryers were old and sometimes out of order on the floors. Flooring and surface materials in those public spaces were old, missing and extremely stained as well.
5) Furniture in open public spaces were not hotel quaility, but something you would find at a cheap furniture place.
6) Check in was terribly slow. Check out was even worse.
7) Our room was not cleaned two (2) nights in a row. We had to ask for clean towels serveral days in a row.
8) Hotel management was not friendly.
9) No roomside WIFI offered. They had a public Dell computer with Windows XP.

Bottom line -- the rooms we stayed in were remodeled -- but were not done in a professional manner. The bathrooms were the worst and the public spaces were just plain terrible. For the nightly rate we paid, we should have stayed at the major brand. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Stillwater, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We do appreciate your response of both good and bad reviews of our hotel. While the fully renovated rooms and hallways are a very welcome site, as stated at the front desk and in areas throughout the property, we are still very well under renovations. We are completing the installation of the fire sprinkler system over the lobby and pool areas, and then we will be able to complete the updates in our dated lobby. Hopefully you saw some of the new furniture in the hallways that we plan on updating our lobby. The breakfast area table and chair are also on the list of things on our "todo" list. This also includes updates to our bar and restaurant, as these areas were also very much in need of updates. I do apologize for the condition of some of these areas, we are trying our best to operate and accommodate our guests at the same time, we hope to have all of these updates completed in the very near future. Concerning your check in and check out issues, I have reviewed our process, and scheduling with my front desk manager to try and accommodate arriving and departing teams. It is always a challenge checking in teams of any size as they typically arrive all at once, but again, we are looking into ways to better accommodate team weekends. Thanks again for the review, without your input we sometimes lose sight of the good and bad of what is happening, and can always better ourselves for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyville, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

the room was dirty, i understand the are renovating. but thats no excuse for housekeeping. the bathroom had trash and hair and look like vomit on toilet, trash in all the drawers, dirty knive and cup with the coffee maker. pop stains on the nightstands floor was dirty, elec. outlet in bathroom keep turning off( my hairdryer keep shuting off and wiggle the plug on outlet it would come back on) half empty bottle of shampoo in bathroom.. talk to them when we checkrd out the lady said we would have to call back monday and she checked cleaning records for room and it showed room not cleaned by housekeeping that the just changed bedding..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StillwaterPlazaGM, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Stillwater, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
I do apologize for the issues that you had with your stay. There were many issues that were not handled correctly during your stay. I have already discussed your list of concerns with our front desk and our housekeeping staff. I do appreciate you bringing these to my attention so that we can better service our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This hotel is doing a complete overhaul. So, the hallways, lobby, and common areas were not in the best of shape. However, the rooms themselves were VERY nice. Ours had both a microwave and refrigerator. The staff was super friendly. And the free morning breakfast had cereal, bagels, muffins, and juice. The room also had coffee you could make yourself, which is always nice. We didn't bring our swimsuits, but the pool looked nice, and since it was indoors we could have gone swimming any time of year. I will definitely stay there again if we are ever passing through Stillwater. Once all of the renovations are done, this is going to be a really great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StillwaterPlazaGM, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Stillwater, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for the review. We hope to continue our improvements, both to our hotel, but more importantly to our hotel quests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This hotel is renovating, so there is some dust and work being done. But i was able to stay in a room that was completely finished. It was well worth the price, and I would definitely stay again.
Great staff, everyone was very friendly.

Room Tip: make sure you get a new room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGM S, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Stillwater, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for the response. We have been working very hard on improving our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskogee, OK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I was so unhappy with my experience, I started a blog about it: http://stillwaterplazahotel.wordpress.com/

Not only did I have numerous problems, some of which were serious health and safety concerns, customer service has done nothing to respond to my concerns.

Room Tip: Run, don't walk, RUN to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StillwaterPlazaGM, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Stillwater, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
we apologize greatly for the issues that arose during your stay. We would like everyone to know that is property is under new ownership and management, although this is not an excuse for the poor condition of your room at the time of your stay, I would like to guarantee that this quality of room is no longer in our inventory. Shortly after your stay, we began remodeling this property. We now have entirely new EVERYTHING in the rooms.. These updates include all new furniture,new bed, new room linens, new carpet, new paint, new amenities such as flat screen TV's and new fridges. Again, I apologize for the condition of that room on your stay, and guarantee we sell a much, MUCH higher quality room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Stillwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Stillwater

Address: 600 East McElroy, Stillwater, OK 74075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Stillwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Garden Stillwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soon to be Wyndham Garden Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Stillwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stillwater Plaza Hotel Stillwater
Best Western Stillwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Stillwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.