We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homecoming Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Stillwater - University East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Stillwater - University East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Stillwater - University East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   715 South Country Club Road, Stillwater, OK 74076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Stillwater
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Homecoming Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed during Homecoming. Expect to pay extra during football season.

Check-in was easy and quick.

Room was clean and typical HI room. Did notice the following morning that there were some food crumbs near the couch. Not from us. Shower had dried on shampoo or something on the wall.

Front desk offers complimentary coffee, hot cider, water, and great cookies (snickerdoodles, chocolate chips, oatmeal raisin).

The tv in the living room seemed like rocket science to me. The channels didn't match the tv guide the hotel offers. TV took awhile to turn on and the remote didn't work at all. Gave up after awhile.

Bed and pillows were comfortable. Good night sleep both nights.

The temperature in the room - either too hot or too cold. Could not find a happy medium and the auto function did not seem to work. Woke up both nights to turn off or adjust the temperature.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stillwater - University East, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear UnofficialVisit,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am delighted to hear that you had a relaxing and comforting night sleep at our hotel. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    11
    6
    12
See reviews for
19
6
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our family of 4 spent three nights here this past weekend. We had not been to the hotel in three years and we were truly disappointed by the way it had deteriorated from both a maintenance and service standpoint.

Though all of the staff members we encountered were pleasant, housekeeping is sorely lacking. The first two nights we were there, the extent of housekeeping consisted of: making our beds once! No towels (old ones were removed and not replaced), no new toiletries, and the trash cans were not even emptied. I'm assuming they cleaned it after we checked out following our third night, but we'll never know.

It would also appear very little maintenance is done beyond changing light bulbs. Black marks and scuffs on the walls, drywall dented and chipped, multiple stains on the carpet, damaged counter tops and a strange smell in the room. Considering it was a virtual sparkling palace the last time we were there, this was very disappointing. Too many oil patch workers staying there?

Food was average and service was VERY slow at the restaurant, though our servers were very polite.

Lastly, and I know this is nit-picking, but we stayed over homecoming weekend and received a bag on our door advertising a shuttle bus that would come by the hotel and transport people to campus. When we asked the front desk exactly where on the property the bus picks up and drops off, not one, but two staff had no idea! "Out by the street, I think" one said. Well, when this is the biggest weekend for business in their entire year, wouldn't you think the staff would trouble themselves to know where the bus stop is, especially when you put a flier on everyone's door advertising it?!? How difficult could this be? It's just good customer service that requires next to no effort. (The bus stopped right in front of the main entrance, by the way, so the staff clearly were not paying even slight attention.)

So, in a nutshell, the entire operation of this place is sloppy. Going the extra mile is out of the question. You're lucky if they leave the lights on for you. All this at $300/night during homecoming.

We won't be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stillwater - University East, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Eric C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Your opinion is very important to us, as it helps us identify areas in need of improvement. I was disappointed to learn that you were unsatisfied with the level of service received from our staff, housekeeping and amenities, and would like to apologize for any inconveniences. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Again, we appreciate your valuable feedback. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. We hope that you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I work in Stillwater but live 86 miles away so staying the night frequently makes my life easier. I have stayed at this property close to ten times and I am very sorry to say that the hotel is going downhill. The people are very nice for the most part. And that's important. But the last three times I have stayed here, there have been major maintenance issues.

These have ranged from a leaking air conditioner which soaked the rug (most recently) through to checking into a room where the housekeeper had left her cart to insects all over the rugs i the morning (to be fair, cricket influx in Stillwater but still -- more could be done to keep things clean) sitting to basic cleanliness (every single time recently). In general, towels are thinner and stains are more prominent on rugs, walls, and tile. I've reached my limit.

At this point, I am giving up and will be seeking another place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stillwater - University East, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear lclewis,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. As customer service professionals, we strive to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stays. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team to review and make necessary improvements accordingly.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us your feedback. Your comments are very helpful to us as we establish our best path to providing successful guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Double Oak, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is the flagship property of several who are franchised by the same group in Oklahoma. Nice restaurant, big, welcoming lobby and front desk was always well staffed. The hotel is not within walking distance of any food establishments so you'll have to take a car if you want something other than hotel food. It's on the East side of town, so getting to OSU or downtown Stillwater is about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stillwater - University East, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind and generous comments and scoring of our facility. Our entire team takes great pride in delivering the promise of service and hospitality.

I have shared your comments and scores with our team. Thank you again.

Charlie Hart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idabel, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here over the weekend as we was moving our son into college. We had to take a King Suite as all the double bed rooms was taken. Loved this feature of the separate rooms but the sofa cushions was stained and could use a good steam cleaning and my boys griped that sofa bed was very uncomfortable but that was to be expected with any pullout bed. Over all the hotel and room was very clean and staff was very friendly. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stillwater - University East, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time for writing your comments and the generous scoring you gave us. I do apologize for the stains on the couch cushions. We strive to deliver great customer service and a great clean product. I have shared your comments with our entire team and we will use them as a learning tool.

Thank you again for your patronage and your comments.

Charlie Hart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamrock, Texas
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

After reading some of the other reviews and seeing this hotel is rated #9 among hotels in Stillwater, I was very leery and looking for the problems others had. To my amazement, this hotel had to be one of the best I have stayed in for some time now.
The staff was excellent, the service all around could not have been better.
We had a King Suite that was great. Two separate rooms, two TVs that both worked well.
We stayed two nights so there was plenty of time to find something wrong, just couldn't do it. I would stay here again and again until I have reasons to complain!
Room service was a little slow getting to the room the 1st morning but the quality was excellent and the price was a good value (for room service) which is always high.
The room was very clean and the bed and especially the pillows were very comfortable.
There is no "free breakfast" but the price $99 more than made up for it. All around, this was a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stillwater - University East, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind and generous comments reviewing our hotel on your recent stay.
We strive daily to deliver customer satisfaction and hospitality.
I have shared your comments with our entire team and convey to you their thanks as well.

We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Stillwater.

Charlie Hart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Bottom line: Even though this is a collage town hotel, with low expectations, you should take a pass.

Our first impression on entering the room: Baby wipes and an empty water bottle left behind bed stand by a previous room occupant (see photo), very dim lighting in both rooms and bathroom, stain on chair by door, thermostat mounted in outer room which causes a very cold bed room in summer and a warmer outer room. During stay we killed a bug on the bedspread. Our room was not cleaned (we pulled the not disturb sign off the door at 1:30 pm with maid working nearby.) The bed was comfortable. Breakfast buffet cost a pricy for Stillwater $10.86 pp with tasty bacon but no bananas. On check out we observed buckets in the lobby catching leaking water from ceiling.

There is a certain odor throughout in this hotel which I would label as Holiday Inn #5 perfume. Not very pleasant but bearable. We also smelled odors in the hall from the many oil field workers who seem to frequent this place. Maybe management needs to buy and spray more Holiday Inn #5.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stillwater - University East, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear w0kieTulsa_Oklahoma,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are truly sorry for the unusual condition of the room you received during your stay. I have taken note of your comments regarding housekeeping and rest assured this will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Stillwater - University East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Stillwater - University East

Address: 715 South Country Club Road, Stillwater, OK 74076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Stillwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Stillwater - University East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites in Stillwater, Oklahoma. Wait until you see the new luxury full service hotel designed with our guests in mind. We know that having the comforts of home are important and we have taken your suggestions and made the perfect hotel for you. Many added feature such as larger than life rooms, plush pillow top mattresses to melt away the stressful day and an invigorating shower. For our business travelers, we are conveniently located within 5 miles of the hotel Oklahoma State University, Mercury Mercruiser, Stillwater Medical Center, Quebecor World Inc., and Oklahoma Tech and Research Park. Within walking distance you will find Oklahoma Dept of Career Technology, Meridian Tech Center and Frontier Electronics Systems. You will have plenty of time to make it to your meeting and still be able to enjoy our Best for Breakfast! We didn t forget our leisure guests, we know that being outdoors and convenient to Lake McMurtry is on your mind! After fishing or doing your favorite activity at the lake, enjoy a dip in the pool and then relax in our spacious suites built for comfort. If you are looking for extra activities to enjoy, we are just minutes away from National Wrestling Hall of Fame & Museum, Karsten Creek Golf Club, Eskimo Joe's Clothes World Headquarters, Stillwater Motorcycle Park- The 500, and Garth Brooks House. Relax while staying in Stillwater, OK after all we are Holiday Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Stillwater - University East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stillwater - University East Hotel Stillwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Stillwater - University East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.