We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Van's Pig Stand

Van's Pig Stand
3815 N. Harrison St, Shawnee, OK 74804
+1 405-703-3000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 114 Restaurants in Shawnee
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Diner, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Established in 1930, Van's pig stand is the oldest single family owned BBQ restaurant in Oklahoma. Serving traditional BBQ items such as the Pig Sandwich(R) and Ribs as well as other types of sandwiches and delicious sides. Grandma Van invented twice baked potato! Van's also does takeout and catering.
Porter ranch, ca
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We enjoyed our lunch here, but it was pretty typical for a BBQ place. Nothing about it was remarkable.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Still just a mediocre barbecue place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Wish I could rate higher. But despite a couple of chances given, place is STILL just an average bbq joint. Folks friendly. Prices a bit steep and I got a kick out of their black tape covering up the beef brisket prices with a proviso that they still "had it but prices changing"...LOL I'm sure that means higher as time passes.

Portions a bit skimpy. Had the two meat platter or plate with two sides and toast. There were only two ribs on the plate, but they were better than the small portion of brisket. The brisket was tender but not really that much taste without the sauce. The sauce is like most people say here........Carolina "like" but not exactly either. A little thinner than most local sauces but not as "tomatoey". Good because without the sauce the brisket would have been really, really bland. But like I said, though skimpy on their portions (2) the ribs were good, tender and tasty. Sides also well seasoned and come in what I call "small soup cups". You can tell that they season and fix their own bbq baked beans.

Worth it to visit if visiting Shawnee for another reason like casinos. But otherwise definitely NOT worth the extra mileage of time to visit from Oklahoma City. They do have good daily specials however and this day, last Saturday, they offered their pig sandwich for under $3 which is a good price no matter how much meat or quality the food is.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Chose this place because of its ranking but actually a bit disappointed. I had the pig sandwich & baked beans. This is not a pulled pork but rather a sliced roast so not the super tender melt in your mouth feel. The meat had a good smoke flavor but the seasoning (& relish) gave it a wang. It was like an eastern Carolina sauce had been mixed in. I could say the same for the soup-like baked beans. Not a thick & hearty, but soupy with a noticeable finish. I did like the sauce on the table.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great pulled pork sandwich!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great place to go for a great lunch, their pulled pork sandwich with coleslaw piled on top is mouth watering. There are even two locations and we have been to both and they both are very good.
Very friendly servers and very quick service. Can't really think of a better sandwich around this area.
But if you head south to Ardmore you will find one that a normal person couldn't eat, and that would be Smoking Joes, I have never got a sandwich that large.
But if you are in Shawnee stop at Vans great place!!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jev V, Owner at Van's Pig Stand, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Many thanks for your review and recommendation! We currently have three locations: Two in Shawnee, one in Norman. We're also rebuilding our fourth location in Moore, OK, which was destroyed by a tornado last May, and will hopefully be up & running again sometime in April 2014. We hope you get to stop by any of our stores soon.....we'd love to have you back! Regards, The Van's Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best bbq place around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I used to live in Shawnee and every time I come back for a visit, I stop in at Van's. They have the best burgers, brisket, and ribs! I like that they don't sauce the meat themselves, they have bottles on the table where you can use however much you want. They also have the best carrot cake!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jev V, Owner at Van's Pig Stand, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks Becky! It is always so rewarding when we receive positive feedback like this! See you the next time you travel through Oklahoma. Sincerely, The Van's Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van's Pig Stand also viewed

 

Been to Van's Pig Stand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van's Pig Stand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.