We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, clean and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CandleLight Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added CandleLight Inn to your Saves list
CandleLight Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   8241 South US Highway 69, Savanna, OK 74565   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Savanna
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfy, clean and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Family and I had to stop for the night. I looked up on TripAdvisor and decided that this would be the perfect stop. The front desk was very friendly, the room was extremely clean and although not the most comfortable bed ever, it was comfy enough and the pillows were good. There was a microwave, fridge, hairdryer and iron in the room. Oh, there is breakfast too, we missed it, but looked pretty good. Cereal, waffle bar, fruit and coffee. For less than $60, including taxes, we will stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado, Kansas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The mattress was hard with a mattress pad that was very stiff and rough. To get to sleep, I put one of my pillows under me. I had what some chains would call a studio suite with king size bed for less than half the price you would pay at one of the chains. The other differences besides the quality of the bed between this and one of the higher priced chains are that it doesn't have a curved shower rod and it has an older tube type tv. Breakfast was cheerios, froot loops or another sugary cereal, instant oatmeal, waffles, bananas and apples. If you don't mind a hard, rough bed, it is really a bargain. The lobby and exterior are very nice and the young man at the front desk was very friendly and nice. Internet worked well until it went out about 2:00 AM when I was almost done working. The restaurant used to be a higher priced steak and seafood restaurant. It is closed now and will reopen as Tex-Mex.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

It was great stay with excellent value of money, nice clean, quite room, well decorated lobby, free Internet wi-fi , I like the location it's really beautiful, they serve morning breakfast with hot waffles , it's highly recommended ! I will be defiantly stay again , thank you for your great hospitality !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a very nice motel located on hwy 69, they have big back yard with BBQ grill beautiful natural view with lake , room was update look fresh, it’s come with microwave, refrigerator, TV, iron, coffee maker and all other basic amenities, they also offer morning breakfast which is complimentary, if you looking clean, quiet and great value this is the best place, also manger is and staff is very polite and helpful. I will defiantly stay again when I am in McAlester , recommended for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a cute little inn . The rooms are clean, the front desk clerk was very pleasant and helpful on check in and check out. Price was very good also. Didn't have continential breakfast. Rooms were very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My husband and I drive to Eastern Oklahoma several times per year, and we've stayed at every chain in McAlester, and were unhappy with them all. We decided after reading Tripadvisor reviews to try the CandleLight Inn.

The CandleLight Inn is not actually in McAlester but south of McAlester in Savannah. It stands by itself on the east side of Highway 69.

The lobby is large and spacious. I called in advance to confirm our reservation and told the front desk we would be checking in between 6 and 7PM. At 6:15, I walked through the door, and the desk clerk addressed me by name. I was impressed. I was about to get more impressed. The lobby is a large room with fire place and well appointed. We were given our key and directions to our room. The hallway is large enough to drive a golf cart through. We opened the door and got quite a surprise. The room was almost as large as my apartment on the East Coast.

There was a sleeper sofa and coffee table, several recent magazines were available on the coffee table along with a few mints and hard candies and a floor lamp. There was a dorm size refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Small table with two chairs, floor lamp and computer ports, and a few mints and hard candies on the table. There were two night stands, lamps on each night stand, with mints and hard candies on each night stand. An old fashioned luggage bench, geez I had forgotten how handy these were, since hotels rarely provide these any more. TV is the old style TV with limited channels. More than adequate ceiling lights and lamps available provide as much brightness as needed and are conveniently located throughout the room. Very comfortable bed with ample pillows and blankets. The room was more than spacious. The bathroom is small and dated but absolutely spotless. Although the furniture and carpeting are not new, they have been excellently maintained.

More impressive, is the quietness of these rooms. We went to dinner next door at The Overlook, that's another review. Food is fabulous, its pricy for McAlester, but for me, compared to Dallas prices, it was a bargain. See their facebook page.

The price of this hotel was about half of those in McAlester. There is no reason to stay in McAlester and every reason to drive the few more miles to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
322 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Offers a small town atmosphere, EXCELLENT service and well worth the stop. Located just a few miles south of McAlester's hotel row and the turnpike on US 69 (actually in Savannah), They made us feel like we were staying at grammas house. Live plants everywhere, a nice lobby with fireplace and the staff make everyone feel like a regular (which they have plenty of!)

Not at all industrial feeling like the brand name locations in town, our room was spacious, CLEAN and offered a frig and micro as well as the soaps & shampoos. And did I mention REASONABLE ?

American owned and operated, our non-smoking room provided us a convenient comfortable place while working in the area. We will definitely return next time we are traveling or working near McAlester.

Be sure to have a meal at the Fireside Grille, attached to the hotel next door. And tell Beverly & Tammy that Terry & Candace say Hi!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a view of the soaring birds out back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savanna
7.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mcalester
7.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites McAlester
4.8 mi away
Happy Days Hotel
Happy Days Hotel
#6 of 17 in McAlester
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of McAlester
6.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 17 in McAlester
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAlester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CandleLight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CandleLight Inn

Address: 8241 South US Highway 69, Savanna, OK 74565
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Savanna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Savanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — CandleLight Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your CandleLight Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CandleLight Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.