We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Pies Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pioneer Pies Restaurant
2201 SW 74th St, Oklahoma City, OK 73159
(405) 682-4433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #257 of 1,432 Restaurants in Oklahoma City
Restaurant details
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I really enjoy eating here and am sad that this is the only one left in the whole world (I think). The baked potato soup on Thursdays is amazing and the okra is spot on. You get so much food with a Pioneer supper. I had a big bowl of loaded baked potato soup, a cup of corn, a cup of fried okra, the chicken fried steak, Texas toast, and a big slice of strawberry pie with more whipped cream than I've ever seen on any dessert. I was stuffed! But, it was all very delicious. My other favorites include the quesadillas and tiny baked potato bite-things. And the onion rings? Yum. It looks like a dive, but it is wonderful! It brings back many memories of my childhood when my grandparents would take me to the one on NW expressway.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Our favorite place for Sunday breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visit Pioneer Pies often for Sunday Breakfast. Good omelets and breakfast burritos; fast friendly service. Join the free breakfast club and receive a free breakfast after seven visits.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great strawberry pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in together a pie. Decided on strawberry. The berries were very juicy an the crust flaked on the fork. Can't say what the food is like, but the pies are excellent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“worst”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

arrived at 8:30pm. When a hostess(or whatever she was) arrived from the kitchen area she walked out and looked at us as if she couldnt figure out what we were doing there. We told her we had two in our party for dinner. She stated" Well....I'll go see if anyone is taking tables....." as she walked off to find out if a waitress was willing to do her job I looked around to find the time because I thought maybe they were closing and we had arrived too late. THEY ARE OPEN UNTIL 10PM BUT DIDNT WANT TO TAKE ANYMORE TABLES AT 8;30PM!! We said, " We'll make it easy on you. We only want pie and coffee". She said 'OK. (waitress name) will take you then". I was shocked. The waitress then arrived at the table with 2 glasses of water and made her irritation known when we told her we wouldnt be needing them. She huffed off. We got our pie. It was only mediocre. NOT the pie we used to remember from this place. Then the waitresses proceeded to run the vacuum right beside our table and complain about how they were ready to get out of that place. It was obvious they werent thinking about their work bec. when we paid the check in cash the waitress brought us our change AND the $20 bill we paid with. We were nice enough to give her back the money, but the experience was enough that we've decided it will be our last trip there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great dinner and pies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had dinner here and enjoyed it so much, we came back for lunch the next day! Vegetable beef soup was great on the cold day we visited. Homemade Cornbread was very good, dressings are also all homemade and very yummy! Prices are very reasonable, and suppers and lunch specials come with a slice of pie! Highly recommended- will definitely be back next time we're in town!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer Pies Restaurant also viewed

Oklahoma City, OK
Oklahoma City, OK
 

Been to Pioneer Pies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer Pies Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.