We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stop when in OK City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Pies Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pioneer Pies Restaurant
2201 SW 74th St, Oklahoma City, OK 73159
(405) 682-4433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #260 of 1,432 Restaurants in Oklahoma City
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Must stop when in OK City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Pioneer Pies is a must do restaurant for OK City. I recommend it for lunch as it is an informal, home style restaurant. I had the Vegetable Beef Soup with a club sandwich and it was very flavorful and great. Probably the best club sandwich I have every tasted. My mother had the Chicken Fried steak. It was huge and very good.

For pies we had pecan and strawberry. Unbelievable!!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

They have a lunch special that includes soup or salad, half a sandwich, and a slice of pie. The price is less than $7 if you don't have a beverage. The salad was fresh and a good portion served in a pie tin not the little saucer size you get at other places. The sandwhich was also good and served on bread that looks to be made in house and of course the pie was delish. The place has been here a long time but that is no reason to dog it. I've never found the dining area dirty and the servers are always good and friendly. They have a large variety on the menu that should please any taste and the prices aren't bad. If you like pie once in a while this is the place to get it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“gross bathrooms & carpet...won't return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Bathrooms say alot about a place. Had I went to the restrooms before ordering, probably would not have eaten there. Food was just ok, we ate it, but not worth risking a visit here. i wonder about the sanitation inspections and how gross the kitchen may look like seeing as how gross the bathrooms were. The carpet in the dining rooms is just completely dingy and gross
Pies were good though.
The bathroom was as old as the building and there was nasty caulk with mold behind the faucet. The place looked like a mcdonalds on a major truck route from mid-70's even though this place opened in the early 80's I think.
Past its prime as another reviewer posted.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
2 reviews
“The pies are to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

I enjoy breakfast there every Saturday morning. The food is good and the service is spectacular. But the real deal here are the pies! They are the most delicious I have ever eaten since my grandmother passed away! If your sweet tooth needs to be fed, Try Mike and the Pioneer Pies!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Pretty good breakfasts. Great place to meet for coffee and talk...oh and great pies!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

Pretty good breakfasts. Great place to meet for coffee and talk...oh and great pies!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer Pies Restaurant also viewed

Oklahoma City, OK
Oklahoma City, OK
 

Been to Pioneer Pies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer Pies Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.