We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oklahoma History Center

Oklahoma History Center
800 Nazih Zuhdi Drive, Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405-522-0765
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 50 Attractions in Oklahoma City
Type: Educational Sites, Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bring the past alive at the Oklahoma History Center, Oklahoma’s state museum of history. At the Oklahoma History Center discover the people and stories that truly make Oklahoma unique. From oil and gas to aviation; from the Dust Bowl to space exploration; from tornadoes to the Land Run; from Native American Indians to Route 66, there’s a story of triumph and tragedy, hope and heartache, famous and infamous around every corner.The Oklahoma History Center is a testament to the indomitable spirit that built Oklahoma. With four permanent galleries and a special exhibits hall, guests will explore the more than 200 hands-on interactives and 50 subjects that tell the stories of Oklahoma and its people. We truly have something for everyone, with special events that appeal to all ages. From Civil War Day to Rockabilly concerts, there is always something going on!After visiting our galleries, enjoy lunch at the Winnie Mae Café located on the third floor. Be sure to visit our gift shop, stocked with items from local artists, educational games, souvenirs and much more, it is the perfect place to shop for your Oklahoma fix.Conveniently located in the Capital Complex, the Oklahoma History Center is adjacent to the State Capital and the Governor’s Mansion, both within easy driving or walking distance. The History Center is conveniently located off of I-35 and I-40, with easy passenger pick, drop-off and free motor coach parking.
Cleveland, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This wasn't what I expected...it was better!! Lots of information and fun facts about the OKC area. The movie section was my favorite part. Kids will love this museum because there's a lot of hands on history for them to do. Great for everyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    26
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great museum to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a neat place to take out of stat visitors to share our history in Oklahoma. The displays are exciting to the kids young and old!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Explosion of information”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This museum was overwhelming. The curators packed every cubic inch with artifacts and information, with a smattering of interactive displays to round the experience out. This is the place to bring anyone who thinks Oklahoma is boring, because the entire purpose of this museum is to point out how awesome Oklahoma is by pointing out specific individuals, groups, events, etc. in a variety of contexts (cinema, space exploration, etc.). The complete dump of information made it a bit hard to focus on the exhibits, and I know I missed 90% of the information because there was just too much going on. We ended up only focusing on a few displays and quickly browsing through the rest, but I wish the curators had been a little bit more choosy when putting together the exhibits so its easier for a visitor to understand.

The only exhibit that I did not enjoy was the sponsored Kerr-McGee exhibit room, which jumped from topic to topic (a sunken steamboat, the oil and gas industry, and civil rights were only three of the many topics explored in this area) and had more than a little bit of oil/gas industry propaganda (although, as an east coaster who was amazed by the oil pumps skattered around the city and surrounding area, I did appreciate learning how they worked).

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My parents and I visited while I was in town and it was a first class experience. Extremely interactive, with lots of actors in historical dress (on small flat screens) explaining describing the exhibits or time periods. Yes, there is plenty of reading to be done or you can watch the aforementioned videos they've put together on various topics. Push a button, find out more about that era - very state of the art. Many of the areas boast costumes and props for kids to use.

The museum covers a wide range of topics from: movies, air/space travel, Native Americans, military, notable time periods, etc. Yes, the topics are wide-ranging but all are fascinating. We spent a good four hours exploring all the various galleries.

I also have to mention that the museum has a wonderful place to eat lunch -- Winnie Mae Cafe. Lunch was delicious and affordable.

Plenty of great things to see outside as well but with freezing temps and 40 mile and hour winds, it just wasn't in the cards for us that day.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKLAHOMA CITY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The History Center is a top notch museum with an affiliation with the Smithsonian. Large exhibits change and are always interesting. They have historical impersonators who speak and dress as if they are Ben Franklin, Mrs. George Washington, Abe Lincoln, etc. These programs are in the evenings to those who work can enjoy the history lesson.

They have an impressive gift shop and small restaurant. It is well worth the small admission cost.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oklahoma History Center also viewed

 

Been to Oklahoma History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oklahoma History Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.