We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far too interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oklahoma History Center

Oklahoma History Center
800 Nazih Zuhdi Drive, Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405-522-0765
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 50 Attractions in Oklahoma City
Type: Educational Sites, Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bring the past alive at the Oklahoma History Center, Oklahoma’s state museum of history. At the Oklahoma History Center discover the people and stories that truly make Oklahoma unique. From oil and gas to aviation; from the Dust Bowl to space exploration; from tornadoes to the Land Run; from Native American Indians to Route 66, there’s a story of triumph and tragedy, hope and heartache, famous and infamous around every corner.The Oklahoma History Center is a testament to the indomitable spirit that built Oklahoma. With four permanent galleries and a special exhibits hall, guests will explore the more than 200 hands-on interactives and 50 subjects that tell the stories of Oklahoma and its people. We truly have something for everyone, with special events that appeal to all ages. From Civil War Day to Rockabilly concerts, there is always something going on!After visiting our galleries, enjoy lunch at the Winnie Mae Café located on the third floor. Be sure to visit our gift shop, stocked with items from local artists, educational games, souvenirs and much more, it is the perfect place to shop for your Oklahoma fix.Conveniently located in the Capital Complex, the Oklahoma History Center is adjacent to the State Capital and the Governor’s Mansion, both within easy driving or walking distance. The History Center is conveniently located off of I-35 and I-40, with easy passenger pick, drop-off and free motor coach parking.
Wing, Bucks
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Far too interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a museum that tells a story, from the life of the native peoples, through settlement to modern times. We spent much more time in the 4 gallleries of the centre than we anticipated because it was so interesting. Good café food as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    26
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
375 reviews 375 reviews
147 attraction reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
865 helpful votes 865 helpful votes
“Oklahoma @ the Movies is Excellent Exhibit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had heard great things about the Oklahoma History Center Museum & we finally had the chance to go!

If you have been to as many history museums around the country as we have, you pretty much see the same things over & over....Indian artifacts, beadwork, pottery, etc. And this museum was no different. It was displayed very nicely. The staff was friendly. The exhibit halls were nicely arranged.

They also have a restaurant called the Winnie Mae Cafe named after the airplane that Oklahoman Wiley Post flew around the world in less than 8 days back in 1933! The airplane is hanging from the ceiling & in one hallway there is an aviation display.

What we truly loved about this museum was something we hadn't seen before....their special exhibit called Oklahoma @ the Movies! It highlights people from Oklahoma who went on to have a career in the movie industry from actors to filmmakers to artists to behind the scenes people! Fabulous!!!

The exhibit was creatively done. They had a movie reel hanging from the ceiling, paparazzi taking your picture, a real car you could sit in & watch a movie as if you were really at a drive in movie, a stage that put you on the TV screen.

There were lots of interactive, get involved areas for the kids too! A real hands on experience!!

I have 8 photos to share:

(1) Oklahoma @ the Movies sign

(2) movie reel hanging from ceiling

(3) Oklahoma stars like the Hollywood Stars in California

(4) Paparazzi taking your photo after you enter -with real lights flashing & camera shutter sounds!

(5) car you could sit in to watch drive-in movie that was playing

(6) cow hanging from ceiling for the movie Twister which was filmed in Wakita, OK

(7) Concept art drawn for Disney's Alice in Wonderland by Mary Blair from McAlester, OK

(8) Donald Duck was created to match the famous voice developed by Oklahoman Clarence Nash

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I went during the Governor's open house, which is a good thing they do for us,the public.. The museum was so interesting that I didn't have enough time to see it all. So I'll have to go back.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Huge, Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Had to drag family out of here they had so much fun.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLoud, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

A trip back in time to a safer and more innocent days. Very interesting to see all the historic items that are on display. Well worth the cost and time.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oklahoma History Center also viewed

 

Been to Oklahoma History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oklahoma History Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.