We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in OKC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City to your Saves list
The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Park Avenue, Oklahoma City, OK 73102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 143 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lathrop, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Best place in OKC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I haven't been everywhere in Oklahoma, but enough times to know this is one of the better places to stay! I was at a Comfort Inn for the business part of my stay and wanted a little luxury before going home.
Check-in was slow but they made up for it by giving us a complimentary breakfast voucher. The hotel was beautiful and filled with history as well as rumored ghosts of by-gone days.
It's been updated well and has a very nice indoor pool and hot tub.
Will stay again on my next trip to OKC.
:)

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinvdL, General Manager at The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Our Team highly appreciates your fantastic review. Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to provide your comments. We look forward to your next visit to wonderful OKC and the Skirvin. Best wishes for continued safe travels.
Martin van der Laan I General Manager I martinvanderlaan@skirvinhilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    179
    54
    23
    21
See reviews for
118
279
40
338
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We just finished our third trip to Oklahoma City and each time we have stayed at the Hilton Skirvin in downtown Oklahoma City. This is a beautiful hotel with great service. The people are friendly, nice and helpful. The rooms are clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. This hotel is very close to Bricktown so you can walk to several nice restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinvdL, General Manager at The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Ann B.
We thank you for your return visits, loyalty and taking the time to review the Hotel.We appreciate the recognition of our Team, the Hotel and the great location "in the center of it all". We look forward to many more visits.
Martin van der Laan I General Manager I martinvanderlaan@skirvinhilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Skirvin Hilton made our honeymoon an amazing and great experience! They sent us complimentary strawberries and champagne to our room and even bumped us up to a suite. They also provided us with two free breakfasts. They provided excellent customer service and helped us with whatever we needed. It was overall a perfect atmosphere for a romantic honeymoon. It was a very clean atmosphere and the rooms were very comfortable to stay in. Also, the room service was amazing!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinvdL, General Manager at The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Aaron M.
Congratulations on your recent nuptials. I am thrilled you chose to stay with us at the historic Hilton. I can't thank you enough for both your reviews, the restaurant review on the Park Avenue Grill Trip Advisor site and this one. We are glad we played a small part during your special time. We are priveledged to have done so. I really appreciate your recognition and have shared your comments with our Team. Thank you again for taking the time to review us and our sincere Best Wishes!
Martin van der Laan I General Manmager I martinvanderlaan@skirvinhilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was excited to stay at the Skirvin based on some comments from local family, however it was just average and in fact I like the Colcord better.

I can't believe that hotels - especially a chain the size of Hilton still charges for Internet. They tell you that as a Hilton honors members don't have to pay for your Internet but they don't tell you that you have to be at the highest level to get it free. $9.95 a day come in I would rather pay for TV vs Internet. As a business traveler I expect good reliable high speed internet for no additional charge.

The valet is $26 overnight. That also seems excessive but at least I can go park someplace else if I don't want to pay for valet.

The bar closes at midnight which seems early to me.

Oh yeh - one more thing - the breakfast Buffett was $18 and it was not much more than a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinvdL, General Manager at The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Henry V,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review the Hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I am sorry that we did not totally deliver on your expectation. I trust that all services were exceptional as you did not reference them. Our breakfast buffet is in actuality $17 and does include at least 4 hot items and omelets to order combined with all continental items you mentioned. Our award winning Red Piano bar is open at least until midnight and most nights until 2am with LIVE entertainment during Happy Hour and Late Night weekend nights. We would love to see you on a return visit to OKC and we sincerely hope we will have another opportunity to serve you. Thank you again for your feedback.
Martin van der Laan I General Manager I martinvanderlaan@skirvinhilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Got a great deal on this property from Priceline. Was extremely pleased with this hotel. Rooms were clean, nicely decorated, and very comfortable. Hotel is located very close to Bricktown, which has a nice array of restaurants and bars. It is also within walking distance of the Murrah Building Memorial, which is a very moving tribute to those lost in the bombing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinvdL, General Manager at The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Tim N.
Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that you were extremely pleased with the Hotel and the location "in the center of it all" in OKC. We hope to see you soon for a return visit.
Martin van der Laan I General Manager I martinvanderlaan@skirvinhilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had a long travel day and we just wanted a nice meal in our room. The gentleman at the front desk recommended a great delivery service because we wanted Mexican food, and a great restaurant. The food arrived hot and tasted great. Everything in the room was in perfect order and we couldn't have been more comfortable. The bed was so comfortable I slept longer than I do at home. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinvdL, General Manager at The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear kevnlittle,
We appreciate your comments and thank you for the recognition. I am glad our Front Office Team was able to assist with your special request and that you enjoyed your stay overall. We hope to see you soon.
Martin van der Laan I General Manager I martinvanderlaan@skirvinhilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Pros: Beautiful lobby and restaurant; generously sized room; tastefully decorated room; better than average in-room coffee fixings; great sound barrier (the bathroom wall effectively muffled a bunch of rowdy guests).

Cons: Service. I don't think they have enough employees, so they are scatterbrained and constantly apologizing for not providing prompt, efficient service. The employees were all friendly, but that's not enough for a hotel that's trying to achieve the international hotel reputation that the Skirvin seems to solicit. Our receptionist kept talking to people on the phone, to the manager, to the housekeeper, to anyone but US as we were checking in. It was a disappointing introduction to the hotel. I just felt that the conversations the receptionist was having were highly unprofessional. Why should a guest have to be a party to a conversation between the receptionist and a housekeeper? Come on.

Similarly, our waitress at the hotel kept telling us things that I don't think we should have known--about how the knives weren't all cleaned. She was so friendly, but she just wasn't trained as to how to address problems without sounding completely unprofessional. Many of the employees were busy with a wedding party, so that explains why she seemed to have been jockeying too many tables.

As for our room, I enjoyed the coffee, the toiletries, and the high-quality hair dryer. The bed was very comfortable. We found the bathroom taps confusing; it took a long time to figure out the shower.

I'm just rating our personal experience with the service during THIS particular visit. I would probably book a hotel room there again, if I were passing through, because I believe that the lapses in the service may have been flukes...but I would not go again to the restaurant, as the food was NOT worth the price at all (my fish and my husband's steak were overcooked).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinvdL, General Manager at The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Shawna_Ross,

Thank you very much for taking the time for both your reviews. Your feedback on the restaurant site as well as this one are highly appreciated, as your comments are extremely helpful and have been shared with our Team. I am sorry if we did not live completely up to your expectations. I am grateful that you would consider a return visit as indicated and am positive that your experience will be a more positive one then as this visit fell unusually flat. We look forward serving you again in the future.
Martin van der Laan I General Manager I martinvanderlaan@skirvinhilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City

Address: 1 Park Avenue, Oklahoma City, OK 73102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oklahoma City
#1 Business Hotel in Oklahoma City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oklahoma City
#5 Family Hotel in Oklahoma City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Oklahoma City
Hilton Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.