We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City to your Saves list
The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Park Avenue, Oklahoma City, OK 73102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points Package
Ranked #4 of 144 Hotels in Oklahoma City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“5 Stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great building – good service – clean room. Just a great hotel in downtown OKC. The building is quite stunning inside and the rooms are well appointed and all clean and fresh. This is definitely the “coolest” of the downtown hotels. Just make sure you watch out for “the ghost!”

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinvdL, General Manager at The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thanks for "the coolest" designation. For a 101 year old hotel it is amazing that we receive this recognition. We appreciate the endorsement and your review. Safe travels and we hope to see you soon.
Martin van der Laan I General Manager I martinvanderlaan@skirvinhilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    172
    53
    22
    21
See reviews for
111
265
40
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
489 reviews 489 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
704 helpful votes 704 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had a one night reservation, but needed two nights. Hotel was sold out due to large conference. My spouse contacted hotel and the events manager said he would get back to us regarding availibilty. True to his word, a few days before our arrival, we received an email he had secured us a room for our second night needed. THANK YOU! We were traveling with our small dog on a croos-country move. Hotel is pet friendly.

Coming up on OK City is like seeing Dallas from a far. Check-in was effiecient and friendly. Our room was a very large corner room...so much nice size to it. The bathroom was GREAT with a large window with blinds. Super clean, good bedding, good a/c, good...good...good. Hotel is a large conference hotel...many people around. A class act.

Extra nice location and an easy walk to many sights and restaurants/bars. We felt safe all the time. Easy green area to get to to walk your pet.

We sat in the large lobby with our dog(on a leash) and enjoyed drinks. We could not go into any bar/restaurant because of state code. We did secure a table in the hotel restaurant...just outside the main rest. entrance and we enjoyed a wonderful meal with our little dog...no one even knew she was there as she is so quite. They were very accomodating to their limit. We thought everyone was very nice and could very easily recommend this great hotel to anyone. 5 STARS.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinvanderLaan, General Manager at The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear OahuHawaii,
Thank you so very much for your in depth review. We really appreciate you highlighting our great service, terrific location and amazing accommodations. The Skirvin Hilton, in the center of it all in OKC, thanks you for your patronage & recognition and wish you continued safe travels cross country.We hope to see you again in the future. We appreciate it.
Martin van der Laan I General Manager I martinvanderlaan@skirvinhilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Wow, what a pleasant surprise! Drove cross-country from San Diego and found this entire hotel experience to be well above average. Valet and Bell service members were personable and prompt. Desk service was good. The hotel is really beautiful and we enjoyed exploring it and getting great pictures. Rooms are nice and quiet. Overall I'd say that my wife and I would come back to OKC just to stay at the Skirvin!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinvanderLaan, General Manager at The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
I am glad we were able to surprise you and that you enjoyed your stay in OKC and at the terrific Skirvin. Thank you for recognizing several of our Team members and taking the time to review us. Continued best wishes for safe travels cross-country and we hope to see you soon for a return visit.
Martin van der Laan I General Manager I martinvanderlaan@skirvinhilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

First impressions are always important. Upon arrival the valet parking was very slow and seemed uncaring. No effort was made to facilitate our check in. As we left later for dinner, I presented my valet ticket to the bell man. He couldn't find my keys, walked away and in a couple of minutes another bell man handed me my keys. I still don't understand what occured. Breakfast service the next morning was equally disapointing. No one met us at the door, we seated ourselves, finally a wait person approached us for our drink order. We opted for the buffet. The omlet was marginal (dry) and still no coffee or juice. Finally, we hailed our waiter and he was suprised our drinks hadn't arrived. H e did get them at that time, but the meal was virtualy over then. Nice property, redone in a wondeful restoration but it seems the valets and wait staff are left over from the "old day". A new training program effort in customer service is sorely needed ASAP.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinvanderLaan, General Manager at The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Themanstan,

We are so very sorry for any disappointment you experienced, but truly appreciate your feedback. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments and will be addressed accordingly. I am sorry you had this out of the ordinary experience. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to review.
Much appreciated.
Martin van der Laan I General Manager I martinvanderlaan@skirvinhilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, TX
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Wow, what a great place.... very posh. We loved it. Wish it weren't so expensive. Can't afford to go often.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinvanderLaan, General Manager at The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We sincerely appreciate "excellent". We are happy that you were happy and hope to see you soon. Keep an eye out for specials and packages on our website.
Thank you. Safe travels.
Martin van der Laan I General Manager I martinvanderlaan@skirvinhilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed in March at the Skirvin Hilton with high expectations from waht I'd heard about the renovations. You have to like older hotels and the "oddities" that go with them. There are not "cookie cutter" rooms, the bathrooms tend to be small and there are are few "creaks and cracks" here and there. BUT, the rewards are windows that open in the bathroom, large bedrooms, beautiful molded ceilings, and large grande lobbies and lounges. If you are that kind of person then select this hotel in Oklahoma City. Right downtown next to great restaurants, bricktown, the convention center, etc.

Room Tip: I'd upgrade to one of the better rooms and to one of the upper floors and, remember, this is an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for recognizing our Grande Dame "in the center of it all" in OKC. We are so very glad you enjoyed your stay and agree with the extraordinary renovations. We highly appreciate it.
Martin van der Laan I General Manager I martinvanderlaan@skirvinhilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed here on 3 separate occasions for business in June, and each time was great. Lovely old historic style hotel, but updated with a certain level of modern to it. Checking has always been easy. Regular king size bedrooms are relatively large with very nice bathrooms. The bar is pretty nice and serves a decent selection of food from the restaurant. Prices are reasonable and they do have specials each day. Workout room was extremely large and nicely setup. They even have a pool in the basement. Valet parking is $26, but after 6pm and on Sundays. Parking is free on the street, which there was always plenty of spots then. A few restaurants around, but bricktown is less than a 10 minute walk. Probably easier to walk than drive and park. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Street parking free after 6pm and on Sunday's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear trupunbike,
We appreciate the review and description of the hotel & services. We are so very happy you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. We hope to see you soon for a return visit.
Much appreciated. Martin van der Laan I General Manager I martinvanderlaan@skirvinhilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City

Address: 1 Park Avenue, Oklahoma City, OK 73102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oklahoma City
#2 Business Hotel in Oklahoma City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oklahoma City
#8 Family Hotel in Oklahoma City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Oklahoma City
Hilton Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.