We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colcord Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Colcord Hotel to your Saves list
Colcord Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 N Robinson Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 143 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“In the middle of it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Usually stay at The Waterford in midtown. Booked The Colcord for a change and to be downtown. The area is hopping and lots is centered here. Met the mother of a new Thunder draftee in the elevator. National Headliners from the Country music festival across the street are staying here. The Myriad Is 20 steps away and Devon is attached to the property.
The hotel is young and hip and fun. All the staff is helpful and accommodating. Well trained. And did I say young?? Flint is their restaurant and has a great outdoor area. Food is good.
Rooms are predictably grey and black, very comfortable . Good beds. White duvets and nice linens. Robes. Occitane toiletries. The only inconvenience is the shower situation. It is designed with a single glass panel that does not slide. You have to step into the tub to turn the shower on and trying to nit get your hair wet is interesting. There are no shower caps so it's a little tricky.

Room Tip: South side rooms will have a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColcordHotel, General Manager at Colcord Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Colcord Hotel on your recent trip to Oklahoma City. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and we hope you will choose to stay at our property in the future.

Kind Regards,
Blane Thompson
General Manager
bthompson@colcordhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    78
    24
    20
    9
See reviews for
54
163
19
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Last weekend we had our sons rehearsal dinner in the Terrace Room at the Colcord Hotel.
From the very beginning of planning it, it was awesome. Kristan Gaddis the sales service lady,
was awesome. She stood by me to the very end. Helpful, kind never a negative of anything.
TJ who was our banquet leader, did everything I needed. Helped cleanup, was constantly
asking if we needed anything. On the spot every minute. From bell boys to food. Excellent.
I would do it again in a minute. The historic hotel is so neat, right downtown with everything.

Room Tip: I don't know . Ours was on 6th floor. east side No problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColcordHotel, General Manager at Colcord Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing to host your son's rehearsal dinner at the Colcord Hotel. We enjoy hosting events and are so pleased you had an enjoyable experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Blane Thompson
General Manager
bthompson@colcordhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

From the second we checked in, Shaneca helped with every aspect of our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. The rooms are large and structured nicely. When I return to OKC I will stay at the Colcord again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColcordHotel, General Manager at Colcord Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Colcord Hotel. We appreciate your positive review and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Blane Thompson
General Manager
bthompson@colcordhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I come to Oklahoma City regularly for work and I'm always made to feel so welcome at the Colcord. It's a beautiful property with sizable, comfortable rooms and great complimentary coffee service delivered daily. I recently needed to make arrangements for a visiting VIP colleague. Shaneca in guest services was incredibly helpful and gracious.

Thanks to everyone at the Colcord for making my long-term stays so pleasurable!

Room Tip: I prefer the plaza view rooms with a view of the Devon Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColcordHotel, General Manager at Colcord Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
It's always a pleasure to hear from business customers and we appreciate your loyalty during your business trips. Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Blane Thompson
General Manager
bthompson@colcordhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

When choosing a hotel for ourselves, guests, and bridal party to stay at for our wedding weekend, the Colcord was an easy choice! We loved the historic building, convenient location, friendly staff, and huge rooms. We also had a bridal brunch in the Sullivan room the morning of the wedding. It was wonderful! Throughout the process, I worked with the event coordinators, Kristen and Lindsay, to plan the brunch and organize the bridal party's rooms. They were always quick to answer emails, phone calls, and questions. I loved working with them! My new husband and I loved our suite, and every guest raved about their accommodations. We highly recommend the Colcord! They helped make our wedding weekend perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColcordHotel, General Manager at Colcord Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We thank you for choosing the Colcord Hotel for your wedding weekend and we greatly appreciate the positive review. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable experience and we hope to see you and your husband again soon.

Congratulations to you both!

Kind Regards,
Blane Thompson
General Manager
bthompson@colcordhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Always look forward to staying in this historic hotel whenever I go on business trips around downtown Oklahoma. Shaneca and Patrice make me feel at home, courteous guys welcome you warmly at the door, I'll always come back!!!

Ola

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColcordHotel, General Manager at Colcord Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We are extremely grateful you chose to stay at the Colcord Hotel during your recent business trip. Thank you for your loyalty. We truly appreciate your positive review and we look forward to seeing you again when you return to Oklahoma City.

Kind Regards,
Blane Thompson
General Manager
bthompson@colcordhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I had high hopes for this historic hotel, but, sadly, the Colcord just doesn't live up to its potential. So much to get excited about, given the excellent central Oklahoma City location, and the building's historically significant architectural style. Yet the space, and the management appear to suffer from an overall lack of imagination and personality.

Despite the fact that the Colcord is an excellent example of neoclassical architectural, the interiors are drab. While the rooms are tastefully appointed, you get no sense that you are in Oklahoma's first skyscraper. There is zero literature in the room that tells you about the Colcord's history, or the history of Oklahoma City, despite the fact that you are just a short walk from city's revitalized arts and culture center. The staff is friendly, but drab too. Most I struck up a conversation with were not knowledgable about the hotel's history, or familiar with what was going on in the vibrant neighborhood.

The attention to detail was somewhat lacking too. I must admit that the coffee at the door in morning was a nice touch. Too bad they brought it a half hour earlier than I scheduled it, and the breakfast, a half hour later than promised. There was no channel guide for the TV, and the guide on the TV didn't match the accessible channels. The fancy half-glass shower door allowed water from the shower head to flood the bathroom floor. And, housekeeping, while friendly, collected my used towels and glasses without replacing them with clean ones. The rooms themselves are overly cavernous, but seemingly with no purpose as spaces remain unfilled and uninteresting. In my room, shelves were falling off the walls, and the furnishings were cold and dull.

The Colcord is not a bad place to stay, not by a long shot. It's clean, the food was good, and the location very convenient to downtown Oklahoma City. But, if you're looking for a taste of Oklahoma City history and culture, try the historic Skriviner Hotel just across the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColcordHotel, General Manager at Colcord Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We greatly appreciate your recent stay and the feedback you provided about your experience. I would like to personally apologize for the less-than-satisfactory stay you experienced. Each item you mentioned will be discussed in great detail. We will use your review to correct any known issues and, hopefully, improve the Colcord Hotel moving forward.

I welcome the opportunity for further discussion. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Blane Thompson
General Manager
bthompson@colcordhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colcord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colcord Hotel

Address: 15 N Robinson Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oklahoma City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oklahoma City
#6 Family Hotel in Oklahoma City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colcord Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, this majestic 12-story office building was Oklahoma City’s first skyscraper. The hotel is excitingly different, radiating with a modernized, Art Deco feel in the lobby, and hip, oversized guest rooms. Sheathed in terra-cotta and accented by ornamentation typical of the early 20th century, it is on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Colcord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colcord Hotel Oklahoma City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colcord Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.