We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colcord Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Colcord Hotel to your Saves list
Colcord Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 N Robinson Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Couples Escape Package
Ranked #3 of 148 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and I visited Oklahoma City July 18th-July 20th for the American Idol Tour show. We decided to stay at the Colcord because we could walk everywhere we wanted to visit, please we had read that the parking situation downtown is terrible as you have to valet or park in the large parking structure.

The hotel is beautiful, inside and out. Built in 1910, the Colcord was the first "skyscraper" in Oklahoma City. The detail on the outside of the building and inside the lobby area is gorgeous. The room we got, just a standard suite was beautiful. The bed, the chaise lounge, and the seating area was all comfortable. The shower was very nice and all the amenities within the room were appropriate. We were surprised to find out that there was no refrigerated, because we typically bring our own drinks, but it wasn't too much of a bother. Our toilet had some type of problem during our stay in which it wouldn't flush on command. You would pull the handle and it would do nothing, for about 20 minutes, then it would randomly flush. We called it in and it was fixed immediately

During our stay, the heat was in the triple digits ever day. The lack of a pool at the hotel was very much noticed. To ease some of the walking in the heat, we did opt to use the free hotel shuttle to go to dinner one night. A gentleman in a nice private Cadillac took us to, then picked us up, from the Melting Pot.

Unfortunately, the beauty of the hotel is almost marred by the ridiculous amount of construction taking place all around it. Next to the Colcord there is a monster skyscraper being built which has prevented easily driving through to the Colcord. Also, the street running on the other side of the Colcord was getting word done so there was traffic cones everywhere and people directing traffic. Thank goodness we chose to walk everywhere. Let me just state that the construction did not present a problem with noise inside the rooms. It was peaceful and quiet!

For those not aware, parking is not free, I believe it is 7 dollars a day at the structure next door and 10 dollars for valet at the hotel (this is what we chose).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    135
    37
    25
    12
See reviews for
103
281
27
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband and I just spent a weekend at the Colcord. (We were picking up our daughter from a camp at OCU, which is approximately 10 minutes away.) After reading all of the rave reviews, I must say I was...disappointed. The hotel itself is fine. Front desk was excellent, and the complimentary breakfast was also excellent. Free wifi. However, there is a massive construction project going on across the street, which affected access to the hotel (i.e., streets were blocked. It would have been nice to get an email from the hotel about this), you must use the valet, the bar is closed, and the construction started at 6:30 on a Saturday morning. I was looking forward to my first opportunity to sleep in in ages, and was woken up to the sound of a sledgehammer. SO... We did go to Bricktown, which is very hopping at night, and we had some excellent BBQ at Earl's which is fairly close by. Also went to the Cowboy museum, which is approximately 15 minutes away, and very well done.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel is fantastic. From the minute I pulled up to the valet to the second I drove away, it was absolutely wonderful. The staff at this hotel is all about service and making it a pleasant stay. The rooms are beautifully appointed, wonderful bed, chaise lounge. Room service is excellent and fast. Fresh gerber daisies were on each floor by the elevators and in vases on the walls. I wish I could have stayed longer and I will defiintely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colcordhotel, Director of Revenue Management at Colcord Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you LindaDFW, we appreciate your feedback and are so glad to hear you enjoyed every bit of your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Oklahoma City was our first waypoint on a massive road trip through the Southwest. We did not consider it a "destination"...just a place to hang our hats for the night on our way to somewhere interesting. I found the Colcord based on other reviews here on T.A. We were not just pleasantly surprised, we were shocked at the quality of the accomodations. The room was beyond comfortable and beautifully appointed with quality linens, etc. Service was expedient and unobtrusive. Most of all, due I think in particular to the room being equipped with a free standing hepa air purifier that provided clean air AND white noise, it was quiet and condusive to an excellent night's sleep. We will definitely book the Colcord again the next time we're passing through Oklahoma.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon and the hotel is absolutely beautiful. Service was friendly and the room was immaculate -- we stayed in a corner King. The only reason why I took away a star was because the parking situation is pretty ugly due to construction in the area. You have to park across the street in the garage behind the Sheraton on the 4th floor. This wouldn't be so bad but you have to either go through a sketchy corridor between the Sheraton or go through the Sheraton itself so it's not a short distance, especially if you are not using Valet and are dragging luggage. Other than that we will definitely stay here again when we visit OKC.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed at the Colcord for 2 nights. The room was nicely updated but the bathroom lights did not work well and were never fixed during our stay. We were assigned to a room right next to the elevator so noise was a problem. Our view was of the office building right across the alley. Felt we were given the worst room in the hotel since we had booked on expedia.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altus, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Okay service. But disappointed after that. We checked in to find room service trays in the hall ( that stayed there over night and into the next day ). Our bathroom had what appeared to be blood spatter on the wall, as well as other filth. The shower was dirty. When we left the next morning we turned the light on for housekeeping only to return hours later to an untouched room. We then turned the "do not disturb" light on so that our 2 year old could get her noon time nap, and 20 minutes later housekeeping knocked on our door! We finally decided to talk with someone about all of this and they DID move us to another room and take 1 night off of our bill, which we appreciated. But the second we rounded to corner going to the new room, we were greeted by TRAYS in the hall, that stayed there all afternoon. And a room that had walls just as dirty as the first room. Got charged for parking even though there was construction going on next door that prevented anyone from parking and you HAD to valet your vehicle! No spa and I didn't see a pool. The restaurant was good but, they said its closing for a remodel and won't be open for 1 year!

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from construction AND ask for a CLEAN room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oklahoma City hotels
0.2 mi away
The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City
The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City
#5 of 148 in Oklahoma City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Oklahoma City, Autograph Collection
Ambassador Hotel Oklahoma City, ...
#6 of 148 in Oklahoma City
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oklahoma City Downtown - Bricktown
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Okl...
#1 of 148 in Oklahoma City
5.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oklahoma City-Bricktown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oklahoma City / Bricktown
Hampton Inn & Suites Oklahoma Ci...
#13 of 148 in Oklahoma City
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloft Oklahoma City Downtown Bricktown
Aloft Oklahoma City Downtown Bri...
#42 of 148 in Oklahoma City
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colcord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colcord Hotel

Address: 15 N Robinson Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oklahoma City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oklahoma City
#3 Family Hotel in Oklahoma City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colcord Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Colcord Hotel, luxury means the gold standard of service and comfort. Luxury is the promise we keep to our guests, every day. Whether you're a business traveller or right-in towner, you will be greeted by our helpful staff and treated with abundant amenities. Stay for a night or for a while - we aim to exceed expectations and provide anything you may need, without even being asked. Refresh in one of our spacious guest rooms with L'Occitane bath and shower products, unwind with a relaxing playlist using the iPod docking station, and catch up with your favorite show on the 47-inch flat screen TV. All of our rooms have Euro-top mattresses with luxurious linens, complimentary bottled waters, soft robes, custom artwork, programmable safes, wireless desk phones, and desks with leather blotters. Bring your pups, too. We are as dog friendly as we are guest friendly. We gladly accept up to two dogs per room, with a weight restriction of 50 pounds each. There will be a $50 fee per dog per day, not to exceed $300. When the Colcord Building was completed in 1910, at 12 stories, it was the first skyscraper in Oklahoma City. Every luxury of the time was incorporated in the construction, many of which remain today: The original marble still adorns the columns and walls of the main lobby; the original nickel and bronze letterbox and elevator doors still shine; and the original ornamental plaster ceiling still crowns the space. Though the building's trademark elegance and historic architectural elements have been preserved, the revamped Colcord now has an updated style and is equipped with state-of-the-art technologies that suit the needs of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Colcord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colcord Hotel Oklahoma City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colcord Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.